Discussion 2015 AFL Finals: Footy Jumper Discussion

Full navy would work against hawks in yellow with brown stripes and white shorts. Yellow and white are both light colours, so it kind of goes along with the silly light vs dark rule. Plus solid brown numbers vs solid yellow from the back is surely a good enough contrast.
WCE don't have a full-navy kit though. The closest they have is the TP and that's got so much gold on it that it's a navy and gold kit, not a navy kit.

I mean full navy, as in tri panel with navy shorts, so our normal home strip. Since the side panels have come in, the amount of yellow on the tri panel has gotten smaller, plus the white strip down the middle has also gotten smaller, due to the width of the new template shrinking. I reckon it's now more navy than anything, and shouldn't cause a massive clash with Hawks home with white shorts.

Question: Would Richmonds new clash jumper work against the tri panel?? Because if so, then there's no reason the Hawks home with white shorts won't work.

So 97% of West Coast supporters are pushing for a return of the wings and when they have the chance to wear the wings to eliminate a clash they say no? Where's the logic?

PS. I still believe the Hawks should wear their shit power rangers but why campaign to wear wings then sook about possibly having to wear it?

I mean full navy, as in tri panel with navy shorts, so our normal home strip. Since the side panels have come in, the amount of yellow on the tri panel has gotten smaller, plus the white strip down the middle has also gotten smaller, due to the width of the new template shrinking. I reckon it's now more navy than anything, and shouldn't cause a massive clash with Hawks home with white shorts.

Question: Would Richmonds new clash jumper work against the tri panel?? Because if so, then there's no reason the Hawks home with white shorts won't work.
206876.jpg

This is pretty much what the WCE TP still looks like, with thin side-panels and a slightly thinner white stripe. It remains that there's a whole third of the front, and quarter of the back, that is gold. Thinner centre white stripe actually means more gold on the front, even if there is a little less on the side due to sidepanels. So the below picture would still be an accurate representation of what it would look like for both teams to have their main jumpers. Richmond's clash jumper also would not work against WCE TP, again due to both teams having very dominant gold in the jumpers.

So 97% of West Coast supporters are pushing for a return of the wings and when they have the chance to wear the wings to eliminate a clash they say no? Where's the logic?

PS. I still believe the Hawks should wear their shit power rangers but why campaign to wear wings then sook about possibly having to wear it?
It's not so much about jumper preference as it is about being the home club and getting told to wear a specific jumper simply for the fact that the away club don't want to wear their perfectly effective clash jumper. There's nothing wrong with the clash jumper from a contrast POV, it just happens that it's a visual eyesore and Hawthorn don't want to wear it in a final, and they're trying to get the AFL to shaft the other team so they can have their own way.

206876.jpg

This is pretty much what the WCE TP still looks like, with thin side-panels and a slightly thinner white stripe. It remains that there's a whole third of the front, and quarter of the back, that is gold. Thinner centre white stripe actually means more gold on the front, even if there is a little less on the side due to sidepanels. So the below picture would still be an accurate representation of what it would look like for both teams to have their main jumpers. Richmond's clash jumper also would not work against WCE TP, again due to both teams having very dominant gold in the jumpers.

Disagree.

I reckon our TP is more navy than ever.
373659.jpg 397297.jpg

I reckon this is enough of a contract. If hawks are in white shorts.

It's not so much about jumper preference as it is about being the home club and getting told to wear a specific jumper simply for the fact that the away club don't want to wear their perfectly effective clash jumper. There's nothing wrong with the clash jumper from a contrast POV, it just happens that it's a visual eyesore and Hawthorn don't want to wear it in a final, and they're trying to get the AFL to shaft the other team so they can have their own way.

Yeh and there is an option to wear their wings jumper the same way port wore their prison bars, and most eagles supporters want a return of the wings, but when the opportunity is there they all say "there's no way we're wearing that"

Has anyone entertained the idea of the brown clash?

ie.

23jhfm8.png

or

oit63s.jpg

Yeh and there is an option to wear their wings jumper the same way port wore their prison bars, and most eagles supporters want a return of the wings, but when the opportunity is there they all say "there's no way we're wearing that"

ie.

23jhfm8.png

or

oit63s.jpg

Both dark based, with gold numbers, wouldn't work I don't think.

So your dark clashes with our light and our dark guernseys?

Where's the logic...

ie.

23jhfm8.png

or

oit63s.jpg
Port wore the PB because the AFL wouldn't let them have their home jumper, as was their right. They WANTED to wear the BiB and reached a compromise, but the reason is totally different - Richmond's clash jumper was ineffective and the AFL finally saw the light. Hawthorn's is just butt-ugly.
As the home team WCE get to wear their home guernsey, which is the TP. They shouldn't have to change just so Hawthorn don't have to wear their clash jumper.
Wanting the Wings as home jumper is a separate issue to being denied their right to wear the home jumper in a home final.

Port wore the PB because the AFL wouldn't let them have their home jumper, as was their right. They WANTED to wear the BiB and reached a compromise, but the reason is totally different - Richmond's clash jumper was ineffective and the AFL finally saw the light. Hawthorn's is just butt-ugly.
As the home team WCE get to wear their home guernsey, which is the TP. They shouldn't have to change just so Hawthorn don't have to wear their clash jumper.
Wanting the Wings as home jumper is a separate issue to being denied their right to wear the home jumper in a home final.
I'm not saying the should have to change, I'm just saying that every west coast supporters wants the wings as a home guernsey but this week they're all vehemently against it. Nothing to do with the club itself, I'm talking about its supporters.

It's more navy, yes, but it's still got a helluva lot of gold, which is the problem. If clash was required during the season it's required during finals.

Do we know if it was ever required though?? We all know clubs have brought out clash jumpers to make money, and then just chosen the best teams to wear them against, as far as any potential clash.

Why do the Hawks wear their brown based away jumper against other dark teams? They wore it against the Bombers, which is dark vs dark, so obviously the AFL's clash policy is a complete joke.

Hawks started this clash rubbish back in 08 with their white jumper, and every other club followed, now we have the current situation. Clash jumpers weren't needed 10 years ago, they aren't needed now.

I don't think our tri panel clashes with your home, yellow based jumper, everyone else seems to think it does, I'm not convinced.
Well then I'm on your side.

I'm not saying the should have to change, I'm just saying that every west coast supporters wants the wings as a home guernsey but this week they're all vehemently against it. Nothing to do with the club itself, I'm talking about its supporters.
As I said they're vehemently against being shafted by the AFL due to Hawthorn's dislike of their own clash guernsey.

Do we know if it was ever required though?? We all know clubs have brought out clash jumpers to make money, and then just chosen the best teams to wear them against, as far as any potential clash.

Why do the Hawks wear their brown based away jumper against other dark teams? They wore it against the Bombers, which is dark vs dark, so obviously the AFL's clash policy is a complete joke.

Hawks started this clash rubbish back in 08 with their white jumper, and every other club followed, now we have the current situation. Clash jumpers weren't needed 10 years ago, they aren't needed now.
In this case, yes, it's required, as both jumpers have large amounts of gold on them.
Hawthorn wearing brown against black/navy teams is not consistent with the clash policy the AFL dictate, but is consistent with what they allow for Victorian clubs. I disagree with this too, as do many. It doesn't mean the whole policy is a joke, just that the application is.

Huh? Everyone is crying out for the wings on Twitter. Bring it !

EDIT: check #returnthewings or @returnthewings

It boggles the mind that some people don't see the clash. It was the worst clash I've ever seen at a game that I've attended.
Try putting them in this years guernseys and see if it makes a difference.

Discussion 2015 AFL Finals: Footy Jumper Discussion