Discussion 2015 AFL Finals: Footy Jumper Discussion

Not sure if posted b4, sorry if so...

On instruction from the AFL, Hawthorn Football Club will wear its clash guernsey against West Coast Eagles in this Friday night’s second qualifying final in Perth.

The club had requested that the team play the match in their traditional home jumper and white shorts, however the AFL has been unable to facilitate this due to the distinct clash between the Hawks and Eagles strips.

Hawthorn CEO Stuart Fox said the club acknowledges that West Coast, as the higher finishing side at the end of the home-and-away season, has the right to play in its home jumper.

“Ideally we would love to play every final in our traditional guernsey but this is not possible this week,” Fox said.

“We acknowledge the two clubs have one of the strongest clash scenarios in the competition and we accept the AFL’s decision.

Hawthorn donned its clash strip when the two sides met at Domain Stadium in Round 19, and has worn it three times during the 2015 home-and-away season (Round 6 against GWS, and Round 12 against Adelaide Crows).

The Hawks have a winning record of 2-1 in the clash strip in 2015.

I'm pretty sure the "home" team on grand final day is the team who finished higher on the ladder at the end of the season.

Every year since 2007 the higher placed team has been the "home" team but those teams were also the winners of the 1st Preliminary Final. So you can't draw any conclusions based on those years.

2006 - West Coast finished higher, but Sydney won PF1 - Sydney were home team.
2005 - West Coast finished higher, but Sydney won PF1 - Sydney were home team.
2003 - Collingwood finished higher, but Brisbane won PF1 - Brisbane were home team.
2002 - Brisbane finished higher, but Collingwood won PF1 - Collingwood were home team.
1998 - North Melbourne finished higher, but Adelaide won PF1 - Adelaide were home team.
1997 - St. Kilda finished higher, but Adelaide won PF1 - Adelaide were home team.
1996 - Sydney finished higher, but North Melbourne won PF1 - North Melbourne were home team.

1994 is the only instance I can find (since the introduction of the top 8 and 2xPFs) where it was the other way around.
1994 - West Coast finished higher, but Geelong won PF1. West Coast were the home team.

Then there was 1995 where it was neither.
1995 - Carlton finished higher, Carlton won PF1, Geelong were home team.

So perhaps it was standardised from 1996 onwards? I'm not sure. But the AFL in their own literature set it out as the Grand Final being "Winner PF1" v "Winner PF2". My research was using "official" publications and media such as the AFL Record and TV graphics to confirm. Keep in mind this does not necessarily dictate who wears white shorts or alternate uniforms. 94 Eagles, 97/98 Crows, 99 Roos, 04 Power, 07/08 Cats... all were home teams who wore white shorts.

Also I have no idea how it worked prior to 1994 when there was only one Preliminary Final. I could probably go back and work out it, but I can't really be bothered right now.

Oh and pre-1994.... I reckon the designated "home" GF team would have been the team that won the Semi Final (and progressed straight through to the GF) and the "away" team being the winner of the PF (the PF pre-1994 was the winner of SF vs loser of other SF)

That was along the lines of what I was thinking. Just haven't gone back to confirm.

You know what's even funnier.

If the Hawk lose the QF, win SF and end up back at Perth vs Freo in a PF.... They'll probably have to wear the power rangers jumper again.
If they play Freo in the PF they'll wear either gold or brown jumper with white shorts. Gold jumper doesn't clash with Freo and given the matches the brown jumper has been used in I would say the AFL would consider it not to clash with the purple kit either. Given the brown is worn against Port and Carlton who have the same block colour arrangement, just a bit darker.

When was the last time Hawks played Freo in Perth and what did they wear?

Round 21 last year, and they wore their clash.

343973.jpg

They could easily wear home with white shorts though.

Actually, upon further investigation, Hawthorn have played away to Fremantle five times since the white clash was first introduced - 2008, 09, 10, 11, 14. They wore the clash every time, except 2010 which was a final.

I'm pretty sure Hawthorn used to wear the white in all interstate matches didn't they? Whether there was a clash or not? Sounds like they chose to wear it rather than needing to wear it - as there was no clash in the 2010 final (albeit Freo still had the anchor jumper back then).

216983.jpg

I'll agree with that sadly, really should be hawthorn home and white shorts against freo though.

The answer has been done but I'll add that given today they specifically came out saying they would like to wear their traditional jumper in all Finals, and given they will already have worn the clash this Finals Series, I think the gold or brown will make an appearance.

Actually, upon further investigation, Hawthorn have played away to Fremantle five times since the white clash was first introduced - 2008, 09, 10, 11, 14. They wore the clash every time, except 2010 which was a final.

I'm pretty sure Hawthorn used to wear the white in all interstate matches didn't they? Whether there was a clash or not? Sounds like they chose to wear it rather than needing to wear it - as there was no clash in the 2010 final (albeit Freo still had the anchor jumper back then).

216983.jpg
Yeah, Hawthorn's original white guernsey was used as much as an away as anything - they wore it away to Port for example (the back being brown, this created a clash somewhat), for example, even though the gold jumper provides perfect contrast anyway.

Hawks have lost the white panel on the back, and some brown. Eagles have lost some gold from their jumper back. The clash is more to do with both jumpers being complex

Back in 1991, strips were so different that both teams wore dark shorts, with the proviso that hawthorn had all gold socks.

Now we have all white socks which are a bit confronting in footy. Id prefer gold socks and the old method, which dont clash in any way whatsoever

Maybe if both teams are lucky enough to make the grand final, both teams can bring those strips back, their first AFL premiership uniforms

The consistency of Adelaide wearing clash vs Bulldogs in a final matches in the minor round, so there's not much to go on there. However Adelaide should be questioning why there's a clash between navy and royal in a game against the Dogs but not the Eagles.

Perhaps it's to do with the sort of rivalry we had with them in the good old days of '05 and '06. Most games then were with us in our home guernsey and them in their royal. Or perhaps West Coast have to wear their royal a certain amount of times, and realised they were one short before our match. Hardly the correct answer I know, but the only one I can think of that makes a little sense.

Lol.

West Coast were the away team in both GFs against Sydney, therefore the full royal was used.

How were they were away team? They finished higher on the ladder both years.

Perhaps it's to do with the sort of rivalry we had with them in the good old days of '05 and '06. Most games then were with us in our home guernsey and them in their royal. Or perhaps West Coast have to wear their royal a certain amount of times, and realised they were one short before our match. Hardly the correct answer I know, but the only one I can think of that makes a little sense.

How were they were away team? They finished higher on the ladder both years.

Go back a page or so.

It's to do with who wins PF1, and Sydney won both PF1s in 2005 and 2006.

That was along the lines of what I was thinking. Just haven't gone back to confirm.

Although given Adelaide wore white shorts despite being the home team, as well as West Coast in 1994 (and 1992) I reckon it was just a Victorian vs Interstate team thing.

Although in 1993 Adelaide wore Navy shorts in the PF vs Essendon, despite being the away team. And, despite being the home team by winning the SF, Carlton wore white shorts in the GF (Essendon finished top so maybe they figured it out that way).

Also of interest in 2004, regarding Port in white shorts, from memory during the coin toss the umpire says Brisbane are the home team due to being the reigning premiers.

Although given Adelaide wore white shorts despite being the home team, as well as West Coast in 1994 (and 1992) I reckon it was just a Victorian vs Interstate team thing.

Although in 1993 Adelaide wore Navy shorts in the PF vs Essendon, despite being the away team. And, despite being the home team by winning the SF, Carlton wore white shorts in the GF (Essendon finished top so maybe they figured it out that way).

Also of interest in 2004, regarding Port in white shorts, from memory during the coin toss the umpire says Brisbane are the home team due to being the reigning premiers.

Probably saw Port listed first, but wearing white shorts and got all confused and just made some shit up :drunk:

I dont get how hawthorn is said to clash with wce tri panel jumper but not Richmond's normal one, but dont complain, wed be wearing white then too
Something to do with WCE having one whole side of the front and a pretty big part of the back being gold, whereas Richmond has just a sash. Probably half as much gold in the sash, and spread across the guernsey so you always see a little but also waaaaay more black. There's not a whole whopping side of the jumper that is gold like the WCE.

I think thres been change, less gold on the back and minimal white. In any case less gold than richmond

i42sed.jpg

469160838-chris-yarran-of-the-blues-wrestles-with-gettyimages.jpg

318295.jpg

Yeah nah, tonnes more gold on WCE.

On the back ? The one with the number on ?

Note hawks standard jumper less of a mish mash with eagles than the carlton clash jumper

Considering hawks only clash with eagles and GWS, better to make simpler jumpers in traditional colors, than have a mish mash like the eagles jumper

Discussion 2015 AFL Finals: Footy Jumper Discussion