2016 Non-Crows AFL Discussion - Cont. in Part 2 (link in OP)

• Thread starter Thread starter Rotayjay

Like how they pushed hard against allowing West Coast too many WA players because they'd be "too strong". Or voted to make the Brisbane Bears a C-grade SAFA side built of castoffs and hacks because otherwise they'd be "too strong".

If the WAFL hadn't blinked in 1986, and Christopher Skase had been outed as a snakeoil salesman about 10 years earlier than he was, we could have had a proper national competition, with no "interstate teams" and no ******* commentators going "he'd be a much bigger name if he was here in Victoria".

What could have been ... :(

It was never going to happen anyway, Ross Oakley was an empire builder who apparently wasn't interested in pandering to the SANFL. This is supposedly the reason why the relationship between the VFL and SANFL which used to be rock solid when Allen Aylett was running the VFL turned to complete shit when Ross was in charge.

With Ross Oakley in charge of the VFL, if there was to be a national comp it was only ever going to happen in the VFL's backyard.

I wouldn't have thought many people, especially in a semi-amateur league, would have the requisite skills. Unless there happens to be someone at the club who works with depressed people in their real job. Sometimes it's just not possible to provide appropriately trained and supportive people to deal with every ailment that people are dealing with.

If you are a paid as a coach to coach and you know you don't have those skills, you should definitely endeavour to work with/get information from people who do have the skills to assist you to getting the best out of one of your athletes who is struggling with a mental health issue. There are a lot of resources out there for coaches to have access to. Going oh I know nothing about it so too bad makes you a poor coach. These days in coaching not understanding or even seeking out information regarding mental health issues is doing all your athletes a disservice considering how prevalent it is now.

It was never going to happen anyway, Ross Oakley was an empire builder who apparently wasn't interested in pandering to the SANFL. This is supposedly the reason why the relationship between the VFL and SANFL which used to be rock solid when Allen Aylett was running the VFL turned to complete shit when Ross was in charge.

With Ross Oakley in charge of the VFL, if there was to be a national comp it was only ever going to happen in the VFL's backyard.

I know Ross the Boss was very pro-Victoria, but he was also an economic realist, who tried to merge North-Fitzroy, Footscray-Fitzroy, Melbourne-Hawthorn, Fitzroy-anyone so he knew just how broke they were.

I'm not suggesting it would have happened, but we lost any chance of it when first WCE/Brisbane caved and then Port jumped, not realising they were being used as a patsy.

Siggo was advised by the Crows not to play footy this year. Stopped seeing his shrink, and stopped his medication. This has really taking things backward for him. He blamed the Lauderdale coach for something that didnt happen, and apologised to him. His head space has been erratic. He walked out on Lauderdale, (which is where all his very close mates are) and doesnt know what he is doing. Glenorchy dont want him, Clarence (major rivals) dont have the cap space, and North Hobart and Kingborough will finish last and second last. Lauderdale will finish 3-5.
IMO, the best thing for him would be to take the rest of the year off.

Is a shame that WA, SA and Tassie could not hold firm and force a proper National League. Imagine a system that could incorporate all the state league clubs into a National League. Could have had promotion and relegation.

But no, we are stuck with an expanded VFL.

Love this idea. Would have loved to see SANFL, VFL and WAFL clubs fighting to join the AFL with fewer Vic teams.

I've always wondered, what do supporters do when their team is in the lower comp? Do they support a defacto team in the AFL? Would the market in Aust be big enough to spread supporters truly across 2 leagues should supporters stick to their teams in the 2nd tier and only attend a few games of AFL? Or does this change the whole dynamics with those 2nd tiers still being quite relevant and therefore a stronger league in comparison to what we have now? All superfluous questions given it would never happen but interesting to ponder.

How things panned out most probably gave Port the best possible opportnity for long term survival.

I think you're absolutely correct.

I'd even go so far as to say that our current status would not have been possible without the animosity with the SANFL, the intense rivalry with the Crows, the initial split and subsequent reunification with Port Magpies, etc. It's worked to create a classic "Us against the world" attitude. (whatever derision you may have for that, it is incredibly effective at rallying a community for a common purpose)

The past serves to provide us with the stories that build our future.

I think you're absolutely correct.

I'd even go so far as to say that our current status would not have been possible without the animosity with the SANFL, the intense rivalry with the Crows, the initial split and subsequent reunification with Port Magpies, etc. It's worked to create a classic "Us against the world" attitude. (whatever derision you may have for that, it is incredibly effective at rallying a community for a common purpose)

The past serves to provide us with the stories that build our future.

I believe the proper term is 'victim mentality'

Love this idea. Would have loved to see SANFL, VFL and WAFL clubs fighting to join the AFL with fewer Vic teams.

I've always wondered, what do supporters do when their team is in the lower comp? Do they support a defacto team in the AFL? Would the market in Aust be big enough to spread supporters truly across 2 leagues should supporters stick to their teams in the 2nd tier and only attend a few games of AFL? Or does this change the whole dynamics with those 2nd tiers still being quite relevant and therefore a stronger league in comparison to what we have now? All superfluous questions given it would never happen but interesting to ponder.

I truly hate to say it but a salary cap system would send a majority of clubs trying to compete into a financial black hole and probable kill 90% of the clubs. While i dont think the initial set up was correct by just expanding the vfl the current success of the competition is proving correct. Tiered systems just wont work.

Ladbrokes won't let me win more than $50 and won't let me multi anything. I can't even have multiple bets for a single game. Like Crows to win and say if I picked also Crows to cover the line.

WH have banned me with max of $10 bets.

Sportsbet and bet365 have banned me from promotions. Sportsbet have occasionally change my bets, ie I picked the Crows to beat the saints by -29.5 and place a bet, they change the line to -30.5 only for me. The a-29.5 remains the same for everyone else. Bet365 won't let me Cashout bets as well. I wanted to Cashout my super multi at HT, as I was worried about the Crows not covering the total score but they were ahead at ht so I felt confident I would get a good Cashout. I wasn't well on the day, in a perfect world, I should have hedged the bet somewhere else.

Crown love me as that's my account I use to cover bets if I want to hedge. It almost always loses and hence I get amazing promotions from them often get $500-$1000 bonus bets all the time.

You cannot be a successful long term punter and not be banned or limited. I know guys that bet small amounts ie under $100 and still get limited or banned.

Good mate of mine is an avid punter like me and in July is meeting with an old Uni mate who now works for or is part owner of? A syndicate who run algorithms and find value in lines etc and bet vast amounts of money. Need 250k to buy in apparently. My question that I'll ask through my mate is how the hell do they bet big money and not get shutdown like we do??? Very very curious as to the answer.

I'm not sure if it was mentioned on here before, I'm just watching Backpage on Foxtel and they showed that Betts was trying to show the girl in the women's game how to kick the ball from the boundary line during the game as she had a set shot after a mark.

I think it was the winning goal too. For the record, she went the drop punt and it scored, but she thanked him after she kicked it.

The point I would like to make is that I admire and man love the guy. We didn't recruit a small forward only, we recruited a guy that yes is a small forward, but kicks goals, incredibly impossible for many, goal assists, mentors players before, during and after the game epitomises the strong values of a family man, loved by almost every AFL supporter and gives us national exposure via the AFL advertising campaign.

In addition to think in hindsight we paid massive unders for him today, a lot of credit needs to go the person or persons involved in getting him to the AFC.

Toast to Eddie.:thumbsu:

Is getting underpaid for the value he brings to this club

Yeah I have to agree.

Being brutally honest the ideal structure finanically for the AFL would be

Port
Brisbane
Tasmania

13 teams and everyone plays everyone twice over 24 weeks.

Unfortunately we're stuck with a VFL/pseudo-Australian League.

There are so many basic changes that could be made to the AFL that would make the game so much better and yet the people in charge of the AFL are either incredibly stupid / incompetent or corrupt.

They were screwed anyway. Its quite sad really because I remember as a kid how great the SANFL was (or at least seemed).

I vividly remember squeezing through the crowds at all the suburban grounds trying to get to spot where I could watch the game.

This is purely a Port supporters perspective but at the time when Port sought to join the AFL, we were not only a dominant force in the SANFL with little else to prove but we also had 22 -25 ex Port players playing in other AFL clubs. The same could be said for Claremont at that time. As a younger person, it was devastating when your latest hero up and left for the big league.

I guess the people that ran the club at the time just felt that the natural progression was to join the AFL and they were right.

Anyway, it didn't eventuate, the Crows were invented and we have still ended up where we are today with an SANFL competition struggling to be relevant.

once the idea for the AFL was formed the VFL and the SANFL were always going to become irrelevant.

the initial split and subsequent reunification with Port Magpies, etc.

Prior to 'One Club', if anyone claimed that the Power were 'est 96' they were quite clearly told that the PAFC had moved from the SANFL to the AFL, and the PAMFC was a 100% brand new entity created solely to meet the SANFL's desire to keep a Port team in the league. The story was that the PAMFC was the 'est 1996' club.

'One Club' was not a reunification, it was a merger.

Come on mate, are you serious?

So the SANFL should have been happy for it's most successful club to just pack up and walk into a (then) rival competition? You honestly think that was the better alternative for the SANFL than continuing as they were and creating a representative team the entire state could support?

Yeah, as it turns out, creating the Crows the way they did hurt the SANFL. But the only reason they had to agree to creating the Crows in the rush they did, and with the disgraceful conditions that were imposed on them, was because YOUR team decided to go into bat for itself and utterly betray the competition that made it and every single club it had ever competed against. It was a Judas act of the highest degree. You don't get to turn around after that and thumb your nose at the SANFL for choosing the best of two bad options that YOU were responsible for restricting them to!

Next up, why don't you set a bear trap for someone and then chide them for choosing to cut their leg off to escape?

The fact is that Port, in their arrogance, threw the entire state of South Australia under the bus in a bid that ended up failing anyway. And you guys have the audacity to claim you're a grass roots club.

And are the victims....

Card counting isnt illegal. All it is is paying attention, watching what cards get used and calculating odds and probabilities. Casinos just dont like it when intelligent people are able to calculate the probabilities of their hand in their head because it leads to them having patience, then betting big and winning. they prefer idiots who only think they are card masters and go all in with 2 pair.

If any casino or bookie sees you have an edge they'll shut I'd down. They only want people losing. It's that simple.

Prior to 'One Club', if anyone claimed that the Power were 'est 96' they were quite clearly told that the PAFC had moved from the SANFL to the AFL, and the PAMFC was a 100% brand new entity created solely to meet the SANFL's desire to keep a Port team in the league. The story was that the PAMFC was the 'est 1996' club.

'One Club' was not a reunification, it was a merger.

Culturally, it was a reunification.

Good mate of mine is an avid punter like me and in July is meeting with an old Uni mate who now works for or is part owner of? A syndicate who run algorithms and find value in lines etc and bet vast amounts of money. Need 250k to buy in apparently. My question that I'll ask through my mate is how the hell do they bet big money and not get shutdown like we do??? Very very curious as to the answer.
Are you sick of working from a cramped office?
Do you want the CEO lifestyle but want it from the comfort of your own home?
Do you like holidaying 300 days a year?

I have an opportunity for you! PM me your credit card details.

Is there any version of Port Adelaide's Two Clubs history that removes 2004? but gives them 2007. That's the version they should go with. Don't care how many dusty old SANFL premierships they've got in the cupboard.