Running Thread - Join our Strava Club!

Just registered for Melbourne to do my 2nd half. Hoping to beat my time from my first down on Great Ocean Road 2 years ago of around 1.28.

I'm assuming the course will be quicker without all the hills and undulations?

My main obstacle will be staying healthy! Haven't been able to string together a decent block of running for ages.

Can anyone recommend a 12 or 14 week training schedule that may be suitable? I need something to try to stick to.

Thanks heaps.

Had a mate do it as well. Did it in 3:00:12 :eek: so close to sub 3 hours.

Geez thats awesome

Ive done one marathon, dunno if id go again soon just because of training time

Ran the half up here today. 66.15 for 7th which was ok ... Fell into the trap of letting the lead pack go and had to do too much work at the end. Made up about 45secs on 3-6th place in the last 5k but too little too late. Will take that as experience into the Sydney and Melbourne half mara's

:eek: great work mate.

I wonder how many regos they get on other races race days. Everytime theres a race and i see results on strava or photos on fb i just want to go online and sign up for the next race haha

Just registered for sydney too

Cheap flights help

just got done listening to the Scott Westcott interview on this weeks Marathontalk.

its really worth a listen for any older codgers like me...it provides some good perspective and he seems like a decent sort of a guy to boot.
i dont know what the story was with the Jeff Hunt appeal but i hope he has a good race in Rio, even if 2:15+ wont get him anywhere near the pointy end unless the entire field implodes trying to chase down some East African

Bloody hell. Look at me sitting at the bottom of the weekly leaderboard again. Couple of crap weeks now including this one with a bit of gastro. Will get these legs moving again tomorrow morning.
Only 7 weeks until Surf Coast 50km with a few other tough trail races as lead ups. Got to get to the Grampians for some training too. Better weather weekend for a lot of us coming up!

New Strava mobile update looks good. Leaderboard & chat etc feature been added.

Shocking run today. Been feeling great on all my long runs till now but today just couldn't get it going, Was aiming for 30km and just ticked over 26km so a little disappointed. I was pretty crook last week and skipped my long run because this (thought id be better off not getting sicker and being out longer) but I'm sure I'm over that by now just couldn't keep going today which was a bit of a dent to my confidence :(

Bloody hell. Look at me sitting at the bottom of the weekly leaderboard again. Couple of crap weeks now including this one with a bit of gastro. Will get these legs moving again tomorrow morning.
Only 7 weeks until Surf Coast 50km with a few other tough trail races as lead ups. Got to get to the Grampians for some training too. Better weather weekend for a lot of us coming up!

New Strava mobile update looks good. Leaderboard & chat etc feature been added.
Yeah just checked out the app update looks great. :thumbsu:

still training Phil Maffetone style and i think it might be starting to have benefits.
my MAF pace has dropped from 6:55 k's to 6:35 k's

also ran 22:42 at parkrun this morning. my first time under 23 since coming back from a 2 year injury layoff last December and about 1:30 faster than my previous best at the same course in late Jan.

i dont know if this is down to training method or just natural progression. either way im kind of enjoying the slow, easy running now so i guess i'll just keep doing it.

Joined the sub 20 minute group for 5km this morning, running a new PB of 19.39 down at parkrun.

Pretty happy with that. Not bad for a bloke getting around about 90+kg just shy of his 43rd birthday.

Really enjoying running at the moment and being part of a local group with people to talk to and discuss running with only helps, even if it's only one slow run a week with that group.

Wonderland 20km in August and Melbourne Mara (full) in October. Bring 'em.

Joined the sub 20 minute group for 5km this morning, running a new PB of 19.39 down at parkrun.

Pretty happy with that. Not bad for a bloke getting around about 90+kg just shy of his 43rd birthday.

Really enjoying running at the moment and being part of a local group with people to talk to and discuss running with only helps, even if it's only one slow run a week with that group.

w00t!
you didnt just join the sub 20 group, you smashed your way in. thats some pretty impressive running...for anyone

congrats MinerBoy

Great work mate. One of the major goals for me one day but great to see you do it.

Long time reader, first time poster on this thread. Doing the Run Melbourne half marathon next weekend and currently suffering from a calf strain. Haven't been able to train for two weeks. Thought it was better but set off for a run yesterday and only took about 50 metres before I had to abort.

I'm seeing an osteo tomorrow but anyone have any tips or anything on what I can do on race day to get through? Painkillers/anti inflamatries/ deep heat, I'm up for any ideas.

I'm determined to complete the half even if it means I'm limping/walking. I've been raising money for a good cause so pulling out is not an option.

Running Thread - Join our Strava Club!