Strategy Trade and List Management thread 2.(...the waiting for the hammer to fall edition)

Stevens is a decent AFL footballer, and should do fine at the saints, so in some ways is getting a bad wrap here, but neither is he worth much via trade unfortunately. Fwiw I'd like to keep him, but he's also the kind of player that top teams can't overpay.

Motlop has been hurt by the same goldfish memory syndrome. Played a bad final and now he's shite. Forget the B&F runner up and the consistent 20 touches and 1.5 goals a game stuff.
Agree on Koby - but c'mon Fronk, I know you're a fan of Motlop, but surely you can see why some are hesitant on him. In my case at the very least it has nothing at all to do with the final.

I don't reckon Hodge would want to be a coach? My completely uninformed view is he'd be one of the blokes to pick up the tools when he quits footy. Who knows.

Hodge has media written all over him. He's good bloke

From the AFL website:

"Carlton is also competing with North Melbourne for the signatures of Western Bulldogs midfielder Nathan Hrovat and contracted Giants Paul Ahern and Jarrod Pickett.

Hrovat is happy to join either club and will let the Dogs broker the best deal they can. A trade is unlikely to be completed until later next week when it becomes clearer what both clubs – especially Carlton given all it has its plate – can offer."

Good on ya Hrovat, gives us the best chance to get some value for him. Still wish he'd let us take the two seconds for him last year though.
Hrovat is a great bloke, big shame it hasn't worked out for him at the Dogs. Hope he has a great career

I wonder if a few of the hawks veterans - if there's any left - test out how Jaeger the physical stuff at the first training session. Hodge wouldn't do that though cos he's a 'good bloke'...

Speaking of good blokes - and this is second hand - but someone I know says they heard our former name-changing b&f chatting to his mate after the grand final:

Mate: "so, happy to see your former club win the big one...?"
Ex-player: "nah, don't give a **** about any of 'em"

Yep and I would say our boys don't give a f*** about him.

That player was our Kyrgios. A spoilt, entitled, ungrateful egomaniac who p***es in the face of those who gave him his career. Hope our club has nothing to do with said player again.

Their was an article on said player who said it was a deeply moving moment "or something to that effect".

Also likes Beverdige a lot. Not sure about this rumour.

Agree on Koby - but c'mon Fronk, I know you're a fan of Motlop, but surely you can see why some are hesitant on him. In my case at the very least it has nothing at all to do with the final.

If we get Motlop and he has a similar off season to last, at least we'll know if anyone at the club has practiced goal kicking in the offseason. You'll be able to use Motlop as the proverbial side of a barn and if you can't hit him - you haven't done enough goal kicking practice....

Any chance of trading Stevens and maybe a 2017 2nd rounder for an upgrade from pick 18 to 10?
Don't think so. Saints know they can get Koby for a third round pick I reckon. They'd be much happier just doing that and keeping their pick 10. If we had a pick in the 20's to go with pick 18 and Koby, we might have a chance, but I would probably rather keep those picks seeing as the draft seems strong and Dal is a wizard

Not even sure we'll get a third at this rate.

I hope people will eventually stop talking about Griffen this way. Yeah I booed him at the prelim (part of the fun), but he absolutely bled for the club for 10 years - just about more than anyone else on the list. He obviously handled his departure very poorly, but I think that was more due to him being timid and non-confrontational, poorly advised and probably pretty dumb, rather than any malicious intent. I get the feeling (from the limited insights we've had) that he regrets his decision.

Anyone got a link to the article about his reaction to the premiership?

I hope people will eventually stop talking about Griffen this way. Yeah I booed him at the prelim (part of the fun), but he absolutely bled for the club for 10 years - just about more than anyone else on the list. He obviously handled his departure very poorly, but I think that was more due to him being timid and non-confrontational, poorly advised and probably pretty dumb, rather than any malicious intent. I get the feeling (from the limited insights we've had) that he regrets his decision.

Anyone got a link to the article about his reaction to the premiership?
I think they're talking about lake

If we get pick 50 from the saints, that plus 63 and 40 equate to about pick 23 in points. We might be able to trade that to GC for their pick 26 or to GC or to Collingwood for pick 28 and Cloke. All depends on how many live picks each club takes to the draft.

LOL at Collingwood only offering Greenwood for Rockliff and then asking the lions to pay a considerable chunk of Rockliffs salary.

That's absolute ****ing gold. Never change Collingwood. Reminds me of the Scott west offer ten years ago.

Not that it's dogs related but Lewis could be keen on the lions (due to big offer). Fagan link also.

Has the Webb/hawthorn link been reported anywhere??

Nah.

You'll like this though fronk.

Hawks board reckon that their loss to us forced a huge rethink of their list. Particularly in the midfield and due to age. Clarko spoke to several older hawthorn players and said your more than welcome to pursue other offers as all of you wont be on the list in 2018.

Hence the Lewis situation. Puopolo could also go.

What does it have to do with then?

Our forward half ball use was disgraceful. He's elite in that area.

His body of work is consistent over a 5 year period. He's in his prime. He doesn't get hurt. He kicks goals. He plays the toughest position on the ground. And all while he's playing for a coach that he faaaaaarken hates.

His prelim was terrible and arguably he's slight overpaid, but now he's worth sweet FA?

I get he's a risk, and I couldn't care less where he ends up to be honest, but he's a superb footballing talent with runs on the board and the narrative around him the last month is typical "sheep" footy thinking in my opinion.

Nah.

You'll like this though fronk.

Hawks board reckon that their loss to us forced a huge rethink of their list. Particularly in the midfield and due to age. Clarko spoke to several older hawthorn players and said your more than welcome to pursue other offers as all of you wont be on the list in 2018.

Hence the Lewis situation. Puopolo could also go.

Now their fans know how every other club has felt when their club has poached veterans at will for the past 4-5 years.

Suck it up princesses. Its your turn for the downslope.

Ok so looks like we have
Picks
18 -Simpkin 182cm -outside running gun
32(Hrovat)-Clarke 187cm inside Mid
35(Hamling)-Sproule 196cm HF or HB
40-Long smart fast
50-(Stevens)-Cloke

Off list
Minson
Hrovat
Hamling
Stevens

Prudden rookie

Good balance inclusions
Hi mccraebf :)

You need to learn how to disguise your sentence structure when on an alt account :$

How do you feel that Roberts is a premiership player also? :p