Strategy Trade and List Management thread 2.(...the waiting for the hammer to fall edition)

Dal-T.Boyd-Stringer

Crameri-Cloke-McLean

McCrae-Libba-Hunter

Wood-Cordy-Murphy

Boyd-Adams-JJ

Roughead Bonti Dunkley

Inter:picken,Daniel,Suckling,Biggs

VFL

Hamilton,Redpath,Long

Honey,Sproule,Dale

Simpkin,Wallis,Clarke

Lynch,Roberts,Williams

Prudden,Collins,R.Smith

Campbell Smith Jong

Have a good look we dont need to change much...
Williams won't be playing VFL for much longer

Either Morris has retired in the last three hours or you have forgotten him. Please tell me its the latter.
So we have to fit Morris and Dickson into that side. I'd replace Cloke with Murphy so Morris can play back and Suckling for Dickson

Dal-T.Boyd-Stringer

Crameri-Cloke-McLean

McCrae-Libba-Hunter

Wood-Morris-Murphy

Boyd-Adams-JJ

Roughead Bonti Dunkley

VFL

Hamilton,Redpath,Long

Honey,Sproule,Dale

Simpkin,Wallis,Webb

Lynch,Roberts,Williams

Prudden,Cordy,Collins,

Campbell Smith Jong

Inter:R.Smith-Rookie-Rookie-Rookie

Dal-T.Boyd-Stringer

Crameri-Cloke-McLean

McCrae-Libba-Hunter

Wood-Morris-Murphy

Boyd-Adams-JJ

Roughead Bonti Dunkley

VFL

Hamilton,Redpath,Long

Honey,Sproule,Dale

Simpkin,Wallis,Webb

Lynch,Roberts,Williams

Prudden,Cordy,Collins,

Campbell Smith Jong

Shit Dickson .........................

Dal-T.Boyd-Stringer

Crameri-Cloke-McLean

McCrae-Libba-Hunter

Wood-Morris-Murphy

Boyd-Adams-JJ

Roughead Bonti Dunkley

VFL

Hamilton,Redpath,Long

Honey,Sproule,Dale

Simpkin,Wallis,Webb

Lynch,Roberts,Williams

Prudden,Cordy,Collins,

Campbell Smith Jong

Apart from Dickson, you omitted Deledio, Motlop, Lewis... And Chris Dawes!!!:D

We not only knocked hawthorn out of the finals, we've pushed them to start eating their own. Delicious.

I wonder if a few of the hawks veterans - if there's any left - test out how Jaeger handles the physical stuff at the first training session. Hodge wouldn't do that though cos he's a 'good bloke'...

Speaking of good blokes - and this is second hand - but someone I know says they heard our former name-changing b&f chatting to his mate after the grand final:

Mate: "so, happy to see your former club win the big one...?"
Ex-player: "nah, don't give a **** about any of 'em"

I wonder if a few of the hawks veterans - if there's any left - test out how Jaeger handles the physical stuff at the first training session. Hodge wouldn't do that though cos he's a 'good bloke'...

Speaking of good blokes - and this is second hand - but someone I know says they heard our former name-changing b&f chatting to his mate after the grand final:

Mate: "so, happy to see your former club win the big one...?"
Ex-player: "nah, don't give a **** about any of 'em"
Must have been after he was a blubbering mess?

How come all of GWS depth get them great trades but whenever the depth of the of anyone else (us as Premiers) depth who can't get a run are automatically only worth 3rd or 4th rounders?
Excellent ****ing question. Because all their depth is first rounders and other clubs pay through the nose for them I guess.

Which means it doesn't matter if they pick a bust, they'll just play him in the NEAFL for a couple seasons then offload him to some chump club for another first rounder.

Was that actually reported? My 'source' says it was after the game outside the G - he might have been joking too, who knows?

He was crying on fox footy, and was in a reporting booth seated outside the G. You never know, both may be true (which suggests either croc tears, or the comment said sarcastically or as a joke).

Did I hear Luke hodge was approached in a deal like Mitchell, but the club was told that's a year away.

The club was unnamed, could that have been us ? We have the connection with bevo, with Boyd maybe retiring it adds a player that can play that role and be a leader around the young guys.

So if hodge is looking at moving next season then into coaching, knowing that he has probably been an assistant coach under Clarkson for years.

Even if Boyd plays on next season, him and murphy most likely retire, hodge adds leadership/coaching for a year to ease in Williams smith and lynch.

Thoughts? Please as a footballing/ coaching move, I know there is a lot of hate for him here.

Did I hear Luke hodge was approached in a deal like Mitchell, but the club was told that's a year away.

The club was unnamed, could that have been us ? We have the connection with bevo, with Boyd maybe retiring it adds a player that can play that role and be a leader around the young guys.

So if hodge is looking at moving next season then into coaching, knowing that he has probably been an assistant coach under Clarkson for years.

Even if Boyd plays on next season, him and murphy most likely retire, hodge adds leadership/coaching for a year to ease in Williams smith and lynch.

Thoughts? Please as a footballing/ coaching move, I know there is a lot of hate for him here.
I don't reckon Hodge would want to be a coach? My completely uninformed view is he'd be one of the blokes to pick up the tools when he quits footy. Who knows.

Obviously a very talented footballer with great experience and smarts.

However, I back in the next rung of guys under Boyd/Murphy/Morris to step up in a leadership sense when those guys move on. Wood speaks for himself, JJ has just won the Norm Smith and would have been AA if not for injury, Biggs had an ultra-consistent season, Suckling's credentials experience-wise are clear for everyone. I reckon our development coaches have a pretty great record in recent times and have full confidence in them developing the younger guys more than adequately.

From the AFL website:

"Carlton is also competing with North Melbourne for the signatures of Western Bulldogs midfielder Nathan Hrovat and contracted Giants Paul Ahern and Jarrod Pickett.

Hrovat is happy to join either club and will let the Dogs broker the best deal they can. A trade is unlikely to be completed until later next week when it becomes clearer what both clubs – especially Carlton given all it has its plate – can offer."

Good on ya Hrovat, gives us the best chance to get some value for him. Still wish he'd let us take the two seconds for him last year though.

I know he's a year or two younger but I'm not convinced that Hodge has more petrol left in the tank than our old blokes.

I don't reckon Hodge would want to be a coach? My completely uninformed view is he'd be one of the blokes to pick up the tools when he quits footy. Who knows.
I don't know either, my boss came back to work the other day saying that hodge's manger was on sen saying that a club mid year put a deal like that to hodge but they said it was a year too early. He didn't name the club, just thinking if that could have been us? With bevo's connection

From the AFL website:

"Carlton is also competing with North Melbourne for the signatures of Western Bulldogs midfielder Nathan Hrovat and contracted Giants Paul Ahern and Jarrod Pickett.

Hrovat is happy to join either club and will let the Dogs broker the best deal they can. A trade is unlikely to be completed until later next week when it becomes clearer what both clubs – especially Carlton given all it has its plate – can offer."

Good on ya Hrovat, gives us the best chance to get some value for him. Still wish he'd let us take the two seconds for him last year though.
Just read that myself. When is the last time a player did that? Pretty extraordinary move by Hrovat, really. Champion bloke. Unfortunate he couldn't get enough opportunities at the club.

Hope he goes really well, wherever he ends up. I expect he will when he gets some opportunity.