No worries, just putting in my 2 cents. I agree that a first and a second would have been looked at very closely. McKay has also stated it was a future third that was offered.Mate, I was just relaying the information from ep.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
No worries, just putting in my 2 cents. I agree that a first and a second would have been looked at very closely. McKay has also stated it was a future third that was offered.Mate, I was just relaying the information from ep.
Yes they want to show what a bad deal it was for us that they fail to see it was GWS's pick that was traded. Probably Essendon fans hoping O'Meara would fall through to psd.How come trade tracker on AFL site shows our future 2nd round draft pick for 2017 has been traded by us twice ?
See below:
1:53pm
Trade # 34
CARL
Carlton receives third-round selection (No.48 at time of trade) and two fourth-round selections (No.66 and No.70 at time of trade)
From Hawthorn
HAW
Hawthorn receives 2017 second-round selection
From Carlton
10:35am
Trade # 19
GEEL
Geelong receives Zach Tuohy and a 2017 second-round draft selection
From Carlton
CARL
Carlton receives Billie Smedts, a fourth-round draft selection (No.63 at time of trade) and a 2017 first-round draft selection
From Geelong Cats
I think it was ok aswell. The biggest negative is that it has pretty much pushed out second rounder back another pick because Pick 10 in the ND would've been taken up for Jäger if the trade hadn't gone through. That could mean the difference between finding a dud or a very goodAgree, there was an element of helping the Hawks but we also needed additional picks this year. The difference between a high 30s pick next year and 3 picks in 48, 66, 70 this year is not that great.
Try 30-35 not 20-25 it wasnt our pick we traded it was GWS'sStill catching up with final day trades as had a busy day but saw during the arvo some trade mentioned with Hawks.
Does look weird on the surface so curious the logic of that trade. However, when I browsed it on my phone the first thought was like you, that it was to help Hawks out of a bind to get O'Meara. If that is so it would seem like a small favour done and Hawks would repay it next trade period if we need some minor help. Would not surprise me of list managers and clubs that on good terms together. To me I read it as a pick next year around 20 to 25 traded away for later picks this coming draft so there has to be more to it than meets the eye.
A lot of people don't do football - much of what is said is social engagement stuff in here.Been bleating it for years now - Rowe should be a forward. His job has been made a bit easier by our improved defence, but it's still not his best spot IMHO. The guy can lead, he can mark and he is a very good set shot. Now we have defenders, so Rowe can move forward!
Sorry, not really following your line of thought here. What do you mean?A lot of people don't do football - much of what is said is social engagement stuff in here.
The Touhy trade was made so much better by Gibbs staying.
If Gibbs had of left we would have effecively traded Touhy for Smedts #63 and a 4-10 pick upgrade as we would have finished bottom 4.
But with Gibbs staying we are locks to finish about 12th (and dont tell me otherwise) so it becomes a 6-12 pick upgrade straight away.
But really, as we on traded it, it doesnt matter too much. All that matters will be where we fall.
With Gibbs staying we gave up Touhy and a pick in the 23-28 range for the GWS haul as opposed to a pick in the 19-22 range. I'm happy with that.
Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
Sorry, not really following your line of thought here. What do you mean?
I agree he will be left down back more than likely for the same reasons. Having said that, it does depend a lot on who we are playing and how we are playing. I'm not sold on the need for a huge full back. Rowe spends a lot of time on ground (probably more than any other player) and does well at his size to maintain the defensive zones and act as the biggest defender. I'm not so sure he specifically is needed though - if Marchbank is fit to play, then I can't see why he shouldn't be that defender. But then again, I don't get paid the big bucks to strategise for the team and there may be a reason for that...Rowe is a very versatile player- pretty much played out of his natural forwards positionh - becaause we had no other big body in defence. He gets xcriticised for making skill errors all the time and consigned to teh VFL by posters on here - just lookm at the projected teams posted recently to see where Rowe is rated.
Not a lot of thought really goes into a lot of posts.
I agree with you that teh blinding obvious move for Rowe - woudl be into forward line as a CHF or FF - he knows how to lead/mark/kick a gola much better than current plodders like Levi and Jones.
Unfortunately - he will be reuired to continue being teh big body in defence until younger blokes mature.
Rowe would be one of first five picked every week in MC meetings - but on here is too many see him as a plodder - because it is an easy thing to say.
I agree he will be left down back more than likely for the same reasons. Having said that, it does depend a lot on who we are playing and how we are playing. I'm not sold on the need for a huge full back. Rowe spends a lot of time on ground (probably more than any other player) and does well at his size to maintain the defensive zones and act as the biggest defender. I'm not so sure he specifically is needed though - if Marchbank is fit to play, then I can't see why he shouldn't be that defender. But then again, I don't get paid the big bucks to strategise for the team and there may be a reason for that...
Yep agree - when it comes to wrestling a forward though, I reckon if that's happening, we've already failed in our defensive setup. The aim would be to never have a 1v1 contest in the D50.It isn't complicated really - Rowe has a mature body - Plowman and Weitering and Marchbank don't - yet. They dont have the sinew or muscle strength to wrestle with big forwards - yet. They will have the height, l;eg speed and hopefully smarts to intercept , outposition and help each other when required.
yep - sure.Yep agree - when it comes to wrestling a forward though, I reckon if that's happening, we've already failed in our defensive setup. The aim would be to never have a 1v1 contest in the D50.
Ok it's time for the Gurus thoughts! I'm pretty happy with the overall trade period, stated st the outset that Marchbank was our man and we got him without giving away pick 5 which had been touted. The Touhy trade allowed this to happen, so whilst dad to see him go we can cover that lose. Now we need to select only midfielders in this draft, poor old Cripps needs some support of a classy onballer so fingers crossed!
Guru out!
All these posters that think we traded our future 2nd for Hawks' late picks or we traded our future 2nd rounder twice, c'mon!
Seriously, what part of the 814 trades and 10,748 posts in the last 50 seconds of trade week don't you comprehend?
![]()
Why did the Blues trade their future second-round pick to the Hawks?
Carlton sent its future second-round pick to Hawthorn and received 48, 66 and 70 in return in a head-scratching trade that broke the Jaeger O'Meara deadlock. Even if the Blues pulled off a stunning premiership victory next year that second-round pick would become selection 36 and, under the current draft points system, still be worth more (502 points) than Hawthorn's three picks this year combined (421 points). All sorts of conspiracy theories abound, including the Blues wanting to keep O'Meara out of arch-rivals Essendon's clutches, but the Hawks appear huge winners from that trade.
Ok it's time for the Gurus thoughts! I'm pretty happy with the overall trade period, stated st the outset that Marchbank was our man and we got him without giving away pick 5 which had been touted. The Touhy trade allowed this to happen, so whilst dad to see him go we can cover that lose. Now we need to select only midfielders in this draft, poor old Cripps needs some support of a classy onballer so fingers crossed!
Guru out!
Yep the trading was very good and at minimal cost to us and we desperatly need classy on ballers to add should be able to land one of Anisworth or SPS, either have X factor, speed and talent in spades, at 24 a Dew or Clarke would be great, unless a Battle or Kerr is availabe.Ok it's time for the Gurus thoughts! I'm pretty happy with the overall trade period, stated st the outset that Marchbank was our man and we got him without giving away pick 5 which had been touted. The Touhy trade allowed this to happen, so whilst dad to see him go we can cover that lose. Now we need to select only midfielders in this draft, poor old Cripps needs some support of a classy onballer so fingers crossed!
Guru out!
Hawthorns picks will be pushed down by FAs as well so it is not a great deal points wise.Hard to blame the ordinary folk who trust the professional journos to report things properly.
AFL.com.au
Ten Burning Questions From Trade Week
by Travis King
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-10-21/ten-burning-questions-from-the-trade-period
Seriously. The bloke is a professional, paid journalist for the AFL, and 10% of this article is based on a trade he's gotten completely wrong.
GWS will go into 2017 with short odds to make the Grand Final. If they do that, their second round pick will be 35. Assume that 5+ passable free agents change clubs next year (and next year's FA pool is loaded), that pick drops back to 40.
Pick 40 - 429 points
Picks 48, 66, 70 - 421 points
- Negligible difference in points, maybe even in our favour if there are a heap of FA movements next year.
- Bring in more kids now in the same year to work and develop together.
- This year's draft is supposedly deeper (not sure whether this extends to the later rounds...).
- Bank a favour to cash in with Hawthorn (and maybe GC) down the track.
- Stop Essendon from getting JOM for free.
- Show other clubs that we're willing to discuss terms to help them with trades, as long as they come to us cap in hand.
I don't see any negatives to this deal with the exception of helping strengthen Hawthorn, but if it's them or Essendon I'll go with the Hawks every day.
Hawthorns picks will be pushed down by FAs as well so it is not a great deal points wise.
We also don't have our second next year. Given people will stop picking in the 60s, I would much preferred to keep the pick and had a couple of late picks and given a couple of players (Bucks ,DVR) an extra year.
On point point is on point.
Rowe to the forward line where he belongs in 2017!
Yeah, know this now as I pointed out earlier in thread the trade with Hawks turns out not to be the future pick they made it sound it was. The AFL site confused many of us the way it was written. Should have made it obvious it was tied to GWS finishing position. In reality it will be later than even 30 to 35. . GWS I expect first or second and given how compo picks handed out after round one these days I expect their 2nd round pick will end up nearly pick 40 next year.Try 30-35 not 20-25 it wasnt our pick we traded it was GWS's