Opinion AFLX

Pet is a terrible field kick but his kicking in front of goal is pretty impressive.

To think this is only his second preseason playing footy. Bodes well.

Brayshaw looks like a blob who struggles to move. He makes Priddis looks fast and agile.
Brayshaw and Ainsworth are our midfield saviours

There was a bit of the Chris Judds about Petruccelle when he burst through and kicked one on the run. Something about the kicking action - it looked awkward as he was going so fast when he kicked it but it just sailed through.

I'm very excited about what we have there.

He's a unique mix of speed, core strength and long limbs - so might be a good mark as well. Also goal sense, which helps.

Goal kicking and field kicking are very different skills. Look at Dangerfield and Fyfe, two of the best over the past 5 years, neither is a good field kick but both are quite good kicking for goal.

For Petrucelle though he'd be better off being the other way around as a winger, unless he is to turn into a defensive small forward, where his pace would frighten people into making mistakes.

I didn't see the games, because I completely forgot about them despite being reminded at lunch time.

Watched some highlights thing on the AFL website today and had to laugh, it looks like absolute garbage that is missing so many key components of what makes Football great.

Alot of nelson hate on here .

It was a tough game to be a defender with quick ball movement , being outsized most of the time and with little support .

That rushed behind was just ridiculous. Had not way to stop .

Sure he scrubed a few kicks but not as many as watson who is supposedly our new backline General from the way people carry on .
He is still only 21 people seem to be throwing the baby out with the bathwater after 2 gimmick trash games

Just put Vaso at half forward and tell him to get the ball, sprint like a mother****** and put it straight through the goals. Game plan sorted. :D

Pfft. Tell him to get it at full back and do it. Or he can just run until around 50m out and kick it in the general direction of rissoles rioli and that mufuker will do the rest.

For shit games where we lost, for the first time watching our young players in a fair while i'm really excited about some of our players.

This is going to be a huge call but don't rule out Waterman as a future captain.

Alot of nelson hate on here .

It was a tough game to be a defender with quick ball movement , being outsized most of the time and with little support .

That rushed behind was just ridiculous. Had not way to stop .

Sure he scrubed a few kicks but not as many as watson who is supposedly our new backline General from the way people carry on .
He is still only 21 people seem to be throwing the baby out with the bathwater after 2 gimmick trash games
Watson is slowly creeping into danger territory. His disposal and decision making was poor in WAFL last year. Has plenty of tricks but needs to improve that if he is ever going to make it.

A bit of an over reaction in a "Mickey Mouse" game! Wouldn't judge any player having to play in a game like that.

In a game where at least some AFL competence should be shown he showed zero. Have never rated him as a best 22 players, he isn't a good or adequate player at all.

So I thought I would give my summary of the AFLX

And from my experience Gee Venables has some skills. He mainly jogged laps before spending the last half hour or so on set shots - curled a few beauties from behind the boundary line at the end for a bit of fun. Hardly saw him miss a kick.
- What interested me the most was that McGovern split his time between the defenders and the forwards, could be seeing a swingman role in 2018. He was his usual dominant self down back in some match simulation drills before going head-to-head with Mackenzie in a forward role.
- Bayok is very fast - Cripps was in most of the drills with him and couldn't keep up.
- Nelson is pale as buggery and still doesn't really have the body shape you'd expect of an AFL player.
- There was a big bloke who pulled up next to me and I could have sworn it was Suma, but I'm sure I was wrong...
- Masto was the player picked to kick the goal at the end today and nailed it. Celebrations were huge.
- No sign of Cole, Parto or Hill. Couldn't tell you why.
- Sheed kicked on his right foot for 80% of the session, I reckon. Nice to see players working on their non-preferred so readily.
- Mitchell looked a class above the other midfielders bar Priddis. Just knew how to find the footy and wouldn't miss a target all session. Shuey was very quiet and seemed to be taking direction from Mitchell. Doesn't bode well for his captaincy credentials, maybe he doesn't want the gig?
- Duggan looked on and was hitting targets left and right. Set for a huge 2018.
- Giles went up against Vardy in the ruck contests and I'd say that Giles has the inside running at the moment.
- Won't say too much about it in case I was just reading too much into it, but Rioli looked as though he'd enjoyed the Christmas break a bit too much. A few of the coaches pulled him aside and they were having quite an animated conversation before Rioli was sent to do laps for the rest of the session. Good news for Le Cras, I suppose.
- A lot of running work again, clearly a focus even in the heat.
- Petrie looked like he was doing a great job 'coaching' the younger forwards in between the drills. Darling in particular seemed to be following him around.

So I thought I would give my summary of the AFLX

And from my experience Gee Venables has some skills. He mainly jogged laps before spending the last half hour or so on set shots - curled a few beauties from behind the boundary line at the end for a bit of fun. Hardly saw him miss a kick.
- What interested me the most was that McGovern split his time between the defenders and the forwards, could be seeing a swingman role in 2018. He was his usual dominant self down back in some match simulation drills before going head-to-head with Mackenzie in a forward role.
- Bayok is very fast - Cripps was in most of the drills with him and couldn't keep up.
- Nelson is pale as buggery and still doesn't really have the body shape you'd expect of an AFL player.
- There was a big bloke who pulled up next to me and I could have sworn it was Suma, but I'm sure I was wrong...
- Masto was the player picked to kick the goal at the end today and nailed it. Celebrations were huge.
- No sign of Cole, Parto or Hill. Couldn't tell you why.
- Sheed kicked on his right foot for 80% of the session, I reckon. Nice to see players working on their non-preferred so readily.
- Mitchell looked a class above the other midfielders bar Priddis. Just knew how to find the footy and wouldn't miss a target all session. Shuey was very quiet and seemed to be taking direction from Mitchell. Doesn't bode well for his captaincy credentials, maybe he doesn't want the gig?
- Duggan looked on and was hitting targets left and right. Set for a huge 2018.
- Giles went up against Vardy in the ruck contests and I'd say that Giles has the inside running at the moment.
- Won't say too much about it in case I was just reading too much into it, but Rioli looked as though he'd enjoyed the Christmas break a bit too much. A few of the coaches pulled him aside and they were having quite an animated conversation before Rioli was sent to do laps for the rest of the session. Good news for Le Cras, I suppose.
- A lot of running work again, clearly a focus even in the heat.
- Petrie looked like he was doing a great job 'coaching' the younger forwards in between the drills. Darling in particular seemed to be following him around.

So overused.

No longer potent unlike Subway and 45's.

How many snags did Peter Petruccelle kick?

3 in the first and 2 in the second.

So 5 goals in half a game of footy, not bad.

From reports his skills at training have been poor but he sure knows where the goals are and uses his n pace.

Can see a defensive forward role would suit him really well. Chases and tackles,pick up 12-15 possessions a game and kick two goals is all tou would ask. Then he would nail a good game here and there.

Endurance?

Watson is slowly creeping into danger territory. His disposal and decision making was poor in WAFL last year. Has plenty of tricks but needs to improve that if he is ever going to make it.

I remember a lot of praise for his disposal 12 months ago. Now it's his weakness.
What gives?

Plenty of space in the game , Petruccelli plays JLT series then that will be the test but he does have that extreme pace and fitness .

Ainsworth looks okay also.

Brander worth every bit of our first selection also .

I only watched one half of one half of one game and wasn't that impressed.

It's so different to the real thing that I can't take anything out of it, either. In that context, I find the hate for Nelson pretty weird.

Nelson struggled last year after injury, but he was on a pretty good trajectory in the early rounds, particularly against the Hawks.

The coverage was absolutely awful I thought.

It's a brand new game for everyone and they pushed the actual game aside to do interviews and crosses for chit chat. How is anyone supposed to get into the game like that? The commentary was also woeful - a huge opportunity to have some mature commentary to introduce people to the concept, explain the rule differences and at least have a crack at describing the different tactics teams could try to implement to score or defend. Instead we get JB and Co just trying to generate faux atmosphere with oohing, aahhing and a sprinkle of hyperbole.

The game isn't great but the coverage didn't give it much of a chance, I thought, to even try to get you engaged with the action. Really poor by Ch7

It's a brand new game for everyone and they pushed the actual game aside to do interviews and crosses for chit chat. How is anyone supposed to get into the game like that? The commentary was also woeful - a huge opportunity to have some mature commentary to introduce people to the concept, explain the rule differences and at least have a crack at describing the different tactics teams could try to implement to score or defend. Instead we get JB and Co just trying to generate faux atmosphere with oohing, aahhing and a sprinkle of hyperbole.

The game isn't great but the coverage didn't give it much of a chance, I thought, to even try to get you engaged with the action. Really poor by Ch7

It seems they tried to just copy Channel 10 and the way they broadcast the Big Bash, which is very relaxed.

I think the thing they don't realise is that guys like Ponting actually have some insight into the game, and the banter is pretty light-hearted and works in the context of cricket where there is still downtime.

AFLX there is no stopping and is actually very different to AFL, so there is need for a bit more education from the commentators, but I don't think they ever had a formal education themselves, so wouldn't count on them being good teachers.

I HATED that megawall , If they are going to do it then it has be a small box in the corner and not half the screen. It was a fast game so we need to see what is going on and not miss half the goals because of the interview.