Family & Relationships Breakups suck

• Thread starter Thread starter BACCS

Is it really that bad? Australian unemployment is around 5% and I heard this morning about how average wage in Australia is up there with the highest in the world.

If we're talking about someone with no skills or qualifications, getting an entry-level gig with view to 'working their way up' is damn near impossible. It's all temp roles, unpaid interns, high schoolers earning 3/5 of **** all. And because the market is saturated with these types of jobseekers, employers put up stupid prereqs to weed people out. You need 5 years experience to carry a plate from the kitchen to a table, you need a bachelors degree to answer phones at reception etc etc. Only gets worse as you get older.

Stay in school, kids.

Silent Alarm, you are early 20s and out of Uni, right? How is it for a recent graduate?

As competitive as ever. For graduate positions right out of university, the entire graduation application process is long for most companies, and you'll do the usual online application, then online testing via psychometric tests, then phone interview, then an assessment centre, then perhaps another face-to-face interview.

You're expected to have some combination of internship experience, volunteer experience, involvement with university societies and good marks, or you won't even pass the initial stage of the application process.

I'd say most people either get disenchanted by the whole system and give up on following their "dream" after university and work in a coffee shop, or they have to settle for an entry-level gig.

If you're in your 30s you should at least have some experience to your name if not some kind of formal qualification. I don't hire and fire receptionists but have worked with a few. In my experience companies hold on to 'unskilled' people in reception, general admin etc. that have demonstrated usefulness. Having a temp receptionist is a pain in the arse, much better to have someone who knows the ins and outs of the place.

Would hate to be applying for one of these roles or doing the advertising and hiring. Recruitment/HR types over complicate things and create work for themselves to stay relevant but when there isn't much work on you are going to get hundreds of CVs across your desk at a time.

Shit like this is chased hard these days. Honestly even entry level gigs like this are a dream for most young women. In fact some would actually view it as some sort of serious career. I'm not shitting on anyone's gig, whatever, but the idea something like that is as easy as apply, apply, interview, apply, 'oh yeah! Got one!' is moot now.

Even if you got one, probably a good chance it's chronically underpaid with a heap of expected uncompensated overtime, farmed out to 'interns,' or some shitty part-time gig where they give you juuuuust enough to survive on but not enough to really feel valued or to value yourself.

Ignorant boomers don't understand how cactus the market is.
A. I'm a nurse mate, totally over saturated market. I understand plenty.

B. I'm not a boomer.

C. Don't think I'm the ignorant one here.

She can't get a receptionist job? Or similar?
She struggles a fair bit getting around. She's tried but has a bit of anxiety which dont help.

She has started a home cake cooking business which makes her very happy

She is currently applying for a lot of work from home telemarketing typejobs

All good bro.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Strange creatures, women. I knew one once... striking-looking girl... tall, you know... father was a banker. Don't remember the name of the bank. I must have been rather keen on her because I took her to see... India! At the Oval... fine match, marvellous finish... now, Surrey had to get thirty-three in about half an hour... she went off to powder her... powder her hands or something... women... er... never came back. I do wish I could remember her name. She's still got my wallet.

Pixelated avatars, ten year old join dates, less than 100 posts. ****ing hell I'm turgid.

Pixelated avatars, ten year old join dates, less than 100 posts. ******* hell I'm turgid.

Not to mention the multiple ellipses... every one of them a perfect set of three... who could blame you?

Not so much a breakup but...

Found out my first love has a girlfriend. I am happy for him and wish him all the best but it still surprising hurt.

I loved this guy from the first moment I met him. Being around him was like fireworks. I've never felt chemistry like it before or since. But I was too young, dumb and naive. Right person, wrong time kinda deal.

I haven't seen him for almost a year and have moved on. But i still felt my heart drop when i found out. I want him to be happy though so I hope she treats him well. If she hurts him, I'll still kill her lol

Not so much a breakup but...

Found out my first love has a girlfriend. I am happy for him and wish him all the best but it still surprising hurt.

I loved this guy from the first moment I met him. Being around him was like fireworks. I've never felt chemistry like it before or since. But I was too young, dumb and naive. Right person, wrong time kinda deal.

I haven't seen him for almost a year and have moved on. But i still felt my heart drop when i found out. I want him to be happy though so I hope she treats him well. If she hurts him, I'll still kill her lol
You never, ever truly get over your first love.
Not a crush. Love.
And that's because that person has a part of your heart that nobody else will ever be able to reach. Nobody else will be the first person you truly loved. There will be people that will be deeper and stronger loves, but they'll never be your first.

Not a crush. Love.
And that's because that person has a part of your heart that nobody else will ever be able to reach. Nobody else will be the first person you truly loved. There will be people that will be deeper and stronger loves, but they'll never be your first.

Thanks for that. It actually helped because it made perfect sense.
That's what life gives you in the end. Wisdom to pass on to the next person.

Not a crush. Love.

Sounds very flowery but not really my experience on first loves

Time and experience moves you on from your first love.
If you hang on to past relationships , it puts a wedge into future relationships.

you never forget your first anal experience either
giphy.gif

you never forget your first anal experience either

I can't remember my first time. Maybe I've just done it too much...

I mean what lol

Gees. Not even allowed to have a laugh at my own expense without someone getting upset.

Or maybe you're a disgusting sexist pig who has a problem with women enjoying sex. I mean using the word whore is really derogatory and yes I find your post offensive. I hate the word whore.

I come on big footy to have a laugh. I don't need to be judged by some person who knows nothing about me. Especially when I struggle so much everyday with the will to live.

So maybe think about what you post.