Training Pre Season 18/19

• Thread starter Thread starter Shazza_

After watching Mav's highlights and seeking opinion of saints supporters, he's in for a ripper year.
Unfortunately at the expense of Brando.

reckon the beard might reinvigorate rance actually

could see him winning the brownlow as a defender now
All jokes aside.Will be an interesting year for Rance.Opposition would have taken notes on how the Pies handled him in the PF.

IMO Garth will come in to play FB or CHB with Astbury and allow Rance to be the 3rd main man.

Why i'd love to see Garth come in.We won't have 3 "loafers" in the backline(Grimes,Astbury & Garth).Current balance is just about right.

I did a simulated match committee with Damian, Neil B, Blake, Leppa, Mini and Kingsley last Wednesday . I had to sell them my Round 1 side, assuming all available.

Backs were;
Grimes, Astbury, Rance, Short, Broad, Vlastuin.

Mids and Ruck were;
Cotchin, Martin, Prestia, Edwards, Lambert, Nankervis

Forwards were;
Lynch, Riewoldt, Rioli, Butler, Higgins, Caddy

Bench was;
McIntosh, Graham, Houli, Ross

If you think Ellis is in, then the only sub I can see possible is with Ross. Garthwaite is still in rehab and I can’t see him taking anyone’s defensive spot in Round 1. If you think Weller will be playing a few games, then I struggle to see it immediately. He’s a depth player.

Was quite a challenge to look our coaches in the eye and discuss. And it’s not easy, which is a good thing!

Haere Ra

I did a simulated match committee with Damian, Neil B, Blake, Leppa, Mini and Kingsley last Wednesday . I had to sell them my Round 1 side, assuming all available.

Backs were;

Mids and Ruck were;

Forwards were;

Bench was;

If you think Ellis is in, then the only sub I can see possible is with Ross. Garthwaite is still in rehab and I can’t see him taking anyone’s defensive spot in Round 1. If you think Weller will be playing a few games, then I struggle to see it immediately. He’s a depth player.

Was quite a challenge to look our coaches in the eye and discuss. And it’s not easy, which is a good thing!

Haere Ra

No Costagna is an interesting call given his defensive pressure numbers. Big call.

Sent from my iPad using righteous Bhodi manpower

No Costagna is an interesting call given his defensive pressure numbers. Big call.

Well he’s in a moon boot currently. If available for round 1, and based on current training performance, who would you drop for him?

Backs were;

Mids and Ruck were;

Forwards were;

Bench was;

Haere Ra
I’d imagine that Dimma would be big Ross fan. Looks the type that you could rely on to get the job done, in particular that shut down role

Backs were;

Mids and Ruck were;

Forwards were;

Bench was;

Haere Ra

Who takes ruck @ centre bounces when Nankervis is taking a rest?

Well he’s in a moon boot currently. If available for round 1, and based on current training performance, who would you drop for him?

If fit, i would have to think Ross. But if he’s crook, then fair enough. I find Ross and interesting inclusion. He’s going that well?

Brando is scared of contact. Unless he fixes that he won’t see midfield time. No more short steps.

You see how a good midfield unit crashes in at stoppages puts blocks on for each other and really have that fearless attitude and you just couldn’t see Brandon doing that.
And that’s not criticism, he was recruited as a hb/ wing and has been developed over the years in that role.

Ok.... That I did not expect to hear and is pretty concerning IMO. I was hoping that we would look to explore another tall who could provide ruck relief (not Lynch).

Despite all of our excitement over Balta, his name is barely mentioned in preseason reports - maybe he is a long way off much to our disappointment.

Ok.... That I did not expect to hear and is pretty concerning IMO. I was hoping that we would look to explore another tall who could provide ruck relief (not Lynch).

Despite all of our excitement over Balta, his name is barely mentioned in preseason reports - maybe he is a long way off much to our disappointment.

Astbury did ruck work in 2018 Qualifying Final.

Haere Ra