Autopsy Round 1, 2019: St.Kilda v Gold Coast *Parker, Wilkie & Kent Debut*

• Thread starter Thread starter George

You just watch the media this week - they will absolutely hammer the Dons, especially arseholes like Damien Barrett who just want someone, anyone! to please beat the Saints and put them in their place. Essendon to be this round's Blowtorch Team, looking for a big response at home to us.

Hopefully we don't think our rd 1 was fine, either in game plan, selection or execution. Elements worked, plenty didn't and we'll need better than that next week, much better.

Still we are yet to lose a game and I'll celebrate that at least.

That mark pretty much saved the game.
As well as Bruce's mark, I thought the Joyce spoil on Wright in the final 40 seconds was important. I also thought the turning point of the game was the free kick against Long when Steven was having a shot for goal. The lesson to learn for Long is that useless bravado like that achieves nothing and could have cost us the win.

Did anyone catch what the free kick against Newnes was paid for when he juggled a mark out of bounds and turfed the footy?

I thought it was on the full and should have been 50 to the Suns.

Not all doom & gloom.

I love my football club.

8IdGLav.png

Not sure if its been covered, but Jeebus, those pre-recorded chants. Why do we set ourselves up to be mocked with this kind of stupidity??. I know the guys who do them are fun and clever, and more powr to them and those in their bay, but augmenting natural crowd noise with stuff over the PA is embarrassing.

Marketing people need to take less drugs lol

To my thoughts this was the perfect win, despite the anticlimax.
We are definitely still a shit sandwich, but we're a shit sandwich with 4 points.
There'll be no sipping kool aid within the club, and the pressure is still hard on Cho because that was not a pass mark by any stretch of the imagination.

On the plus side, the Scum, the Filth and the Drug cheats all posted losses, and the saints haven't been this high on the ladder since r1 last year.
The Panther and Wilkie recruitments look justified, also Young booting 4 for the Zebs, along with shows from Joyce and Battlecat.
Anyone with eyes could see how deep a hole our list was in, and anyone with a brain would know that it's not a quick fix.
Enjoy the positives, accept the negatives, move on to next week, and stop fighting with our moderators. :peace:

Not sure if its been covered, but Jeebus, those pre-recorded chants. Why do we set ourselves up to be mocked with this kind of stupidity??. I know the guys who do them are fun and clever, and more powr to them and those in their bay, but augmenting natural crowd noise with stuff over the PA is embarrassing.

Marketing people need to take less drugs lol

They need to do it or not. It was all very half arsed.

Do they have one for every player? Maybe just the forwards. But nothing for Long, Gresham or Bruce.

Maybe they couldn’t find the right track on the cassette.

Poor Damian Barrett will be devastated. He tipped the Suns and predicted we will be wooden spooners.

We’ll be better for the run, but by god we better be. Take it and bank it, then win next week and start the year 2-0.

Clark should play next week. So should Brown. Both will help enormously.

I’d be ok with dropping Sinclair, Savage and Dunstan, but that’s really it frankly. You don’t tend to drop more than two per week unless you’re going for the tank...

Kents copping a bit of flak, but i though he looks dangerous at times, and curbed Harbrow’s influence well. Likewise, the parched together defense worked ok.

More importantly, what we DO have is four blokes with genuine calls for Senior spots in Marshall, Acres, Clark and Young, and ultimately, that’s a positive.

Yet they only managed to beat the most likely wooden Spooner by one point at home. Very lucky this game was not at Metricon. I think there are a few players that could come in. Acres needs to build fitness. I think Wilkie would go out for Brown, even though he did some nice things.

Where is Coffield at?
Coff didn't do a lot yesterday by all reports.

Agree Wilkie is most likely to come out for Brown, although he did some nice things. A couple of really good marks in the back half. I think he and Battle play.a similar role role though and I was impressed with him.

Marshall for Pierce is an easy one for me.

Acres isn't under done now. He's played two vfl practice matches, was best on on the weekend and should come in.

I'd describe today as disjointed, we did somethings really well and other things we seemed to struggle with.

Firstly our defence was seriously inexperienced I mean collectively our CHB/FB have probably played 3 afl games in in those positions. I think this was a reason for a lot of the crumbing goals/ too many guys going up in the marking contest. I can live with that tbh, our defence will get better with that.
Joyce was really possitive, I think as he plays more he's going to become really threatening from an attacking sense. He's kicking is really creative and smart.

I was really diassponted at how well the GC moved the ball out of our defence. This as well as silly undisciplined decisions by guys like Long really cost us and more importantly our momentum. Comparatively Mathew parker was fantastic, he has a real presence and also that effort in the pocket was inspiring. He is also going to gain so much confidence from that. He now knows he can really play at the level.

For once I was happy to see Richo rotate different guys through the midfield even if it didn't always work its the only way these supposed 'flankers' are going to become mids. seeing guys like Long, Lonie Parker Sinclair, Gresh etc finally get a fair go makes us less predictable and more versatile. I think this reflected in the clearance stats.

We'll be better for it.

You are hard to read mate LOL
Why is that mate
I love my club like they're one of my Kids
I love what they did for me & more to the point my kids a few weeks ago
I think they have done lots right the last 6 months

I just think 2019 should be the year of no excuses improve and get better or move on

After reading the last 3 or 4 pages of this thread there’s no doubt that you guys down in VFL land think we are total garbage
If we won I’d have ordered in Uber Eats and had a scotch.
Its a fair point you blokes maybe just a bit better then people thought

Happy to win. Winning form is good form and it’s got to be a good feeling for the players. Don’t doubt the power of momentum.

It’s already been mentioned about Marshall not getting picked.. that was the biggest shock for mine. Would’ve liked to see Clark play as well, but not a bad thing to make him (and Coff) really earn it... if they don’t start banging down the door in the next few weeks it could be another recruitment blunder.

As for Dunstan, I can’t deny that he puts his body on the line and that he is good at what he is in the side for - being the contested possession and stuff. The only thing for me is that he doesn’t do much else. Steele, Ross and Stuv are also good at the hard stuff. I just think that we are more balanced without Dunstan. That’s just me though.

I like the forward line. Bruce and Skunk are both good key forwards. However when Bruce goes through the ruck we lose shape. With no Paddy we need him to stay at home, and to be honest. I’d rather him stay at home and kick 40-50 than get bashed around in the ruck.

The final eight is decided in Round 1.
Seriously. You and plugger etc are absolutely kidding yourselves. Appreciate you have a role at the club, but if you are willing to accept that level of performance then enjoy the next 55 years without success to go with the previous 55.
We were absolutely pathetic today. Billed as being the fittest side in the comp and then nearly turned it up against a side that’s largely regarded as the worst since Fitzroy. Not only that they were effectively down two players.
I’d love nothing more than watching us turn it around, but being happy with that absolute trash? Give me a spell. You reckon the successful clubs would be pissanting round, being happy with that tripe? Absolutely not.

To be honest - I was waiting for someone to say you’d changed your name to Wendy to score a free signed footy.. Maybe I was just thinking it and this is a more political way to write it..
Are you gender shaming me right now?