Richmond vs Collingwood Preliminary Final Rematch - Thursday 28th MCG

Battle of the Heavyweights. Who wins the Thursday Night battle at the G

• Maggies. Statement game for them. They'll be going for the Jugular straight off the bat

Votes: 57 55.3%
  • Tigers - They want their own redemption, and a slice of revenge best served cold

Votes: 46 44.7%

The ironic thing is that Collingwood's injury list is still twice as long as Richmond's (10 to 5), yet all the commentary has us going in with a full strength line-up, whilst Richmond have an injury crisis...
Rance Houli Grigg Caddy are all Premiership players not injured list cloggers....

On the flip side of your argument - if the Tigers lose tonight just because Rance wasn't there, then you'd have to argue that they aren't a great side.

Every successful side manages to cover injuries to Best 22 players. West Coast last year variously lost Kennedy, Darling, NicNat, Sheppard, Gaff, Shuey, Barrass and Ryan from their starting lineup, yet still managed to finish 2nd on the ladder and win the flag.

Your mob is missing 1 guy in defence. If Cox or DeGoey get a hold of you tonight then that isn't on Rance - that's on your team and your structures as a whole.
We’re actually missing rance, houli, caddy and grigg. That’s a lot of experience. I also think it may take a few games to adjust to playing without rance. A loss or win tonight doesn’t answer the question one way or another.

On the flip side of your argument - if the Tigers lose tonight just because Rance wasn't there, then you'd have to argue that they aren't a great side.

Every successful side manages to cover injuries to Best 22 players. West Coast last year variously lost Kennedy, Darling, NicNat, Sheppard, Gaff, Shuey, Barrass and Ryan from their starting lineup, yet still managed to finish 2nd on the ladder and win the flag.

Your mob is missing 1 guy in defence. If Cox or DeGoey get a hold of you tonight then that isn't on Rance - that's on your team and your structures as a whole.
Am waiting for overreactions if we lose 1 game and go 1-1.
We will sort ourselves out but it might not be within 7 days of his injury. We have to overcome Houli too. That's a lot of defense experience lost in a week.

We’re actually missing rance, houli, caddy and grigg. That’s a lot of experience. I also think it may take a few games to adjust to playing without rance. A loss or win tonight doesn’t answer the question one way or another.

My bad, forgot Houli.

Still though, I think Richmond will win because they will be fuming at their exit in 2018. However, if you get pumped questions are gonna get asked.

I sense a fair degree of trolling of the loser of tonight’s game

Yeah either way the neutrals are going to win tonight going to be some epic melts

It's a 50/50 game in round 2 between two top sides. No cause to melt whatsoever.

Footy banter causes the best of us to disregard all logic and common sense

Fair enough Gaben, I get exactly what you're implying.

I just recall that when he has a good run at it, he can be very valuable. But as you said, hasn't been able to do that for years.
Not years really. He was good and a certain starter in 2017 and 2016 with 15 and 17 games and career high disposals, marks.

2016-7 were not his best years but made in clear best 22. He missed most of 2018 but its not too long since he played good footy

I got a feeling Cox is going to have a big one again and be a thorn in the Tigers side once more. Pendy to gather 30+ along with the majestic brilliance of Jordan De Goey. I see the Pies reopening old woulds for Richmond. Of course I could be completely wrong.

There's a first time for everything:greenalien:

Yeah but I mean its always competitive to a degree, they never get destroyed, even when they were an average side
We beat them by 43 points and 28 points last season. We also beat them by 91 points in 2015.

We were down 2 players at HT in both of those loses last year, you were told what would happen if we got though a game injury free but you wouldn't listen.

Will be a ripper game. Tigers will be out to seek some redemption, Buckley knows it and will tell his troops to respond and stand up. Expect to see one report tonight!

50/50 game for mine even if Rance was in. Can't believe the Tiges started $1.60 favourites. I said a few weeks ago that I thought Richmond learnt a lesson from last year where they were red hot from the first JLT match then couldnt quite maintain it throughout the season, so wouldnt be surprised if we are a little off the mark for the first 4-6 games of the season. Think Pies may be a little the same looking to build into the year.

I think the motivation of not going 0-2 might be just enough to sneak the Pies over the line, also for me quite baffling why Balta was dropped, think this gives Collingwood an edge in the ruck which has become more important with the new rules.

Should be a cracking game, can't wait. Hopefully no nobjockeys there tonight throwing punches.

We were down 2 players at HT in both of those loses last year, you were told what would happen if we got though a game injury free but you wouldn't listen.
What would you guys talk about on your board if it wasn't for injuries? It's been the same EVERY year since Buckley took over. ONE pf and your top of the world, no flags - easily pleased! By the way no welching on any bets Frank. One thing I can assure you we will not use injuries as an excuse IF we lose witout four premiership players.

I had hair and no grandchildren in 2015, now I have 3 grandkids and look like a potato.
Four years is a long time in football mate and looses more relevance each year.
Unless of course you are desperate to find any stat to back up your argument. (Kind of like how many behinds Cotchin kicks on average:p)