Game Day Rnd 2 - Carlton v Port Gameday Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

Mids go missing and defence falls apart, sound familiar? Turn the pressure off and give their mids free reign and our defenders are left like headless chooks.
McGovern behind the ball was a good move to stem the bleeding but we can’t win like me that with Charlie off the ground.
Fasolo....I’ve seen enough thanks

We are getting very frustrated with the clear difference in interpretations of what does and does not constitute:
1. Incorrect disposal
2. Holding the ball
3. Contact in a marking contest
4. What is a mark and what isn't
5. What is a fair tackle and what isn't

Sort that shit out and PA are not as good as they think they are. They went to water when the pressure was on in the first quarter, only came out of their shells with some very soft free kicks to release the scoreboard pressure.

Not out of this, just need to put the pressure back on.

Huge props to Murph for getting back out there. Been a warrior for over a decade
Mids very poor across the board in that qtr, far too much left to Crippa
Ball use ordinary as well
Any chance of us putting someone in the same postcode as Rockliff in the second half?

It was 14 free kicks to 8. Port get a scoreboard buffer on us and it's suddenly 16-16.

Game is rigged.

There is absolutely no other way that you can explain it.

It's not rigged, but the biggest lie in the game is that they don't know the count. It gets out of hand in favor of one team, so they try to even it out without impacting the scoreboard.

Thought Phillips was good. Liked Gibbons and SPS. Cripps is Cripps. Still think we are a tall short and lack of big bodies lacking in the middle. Fasolo is non existent. Setterfield still finding his feet

Some really good sign though.

Like to see Thomas up forward, maybe Newman on the ball or Plowman.

I held back on posting on game day thread because don’t want my frustrations to influence my posts but couldn’t hold back any longer.

That quarter was the result of the whole team, but there was one play that was the catatlyst of it al I reckon, that was polson taking the advantage from Walsh free kick in front of goal.

You could even see the frustration from Walsh and he was running past polson and pleading with him as to why.

Thought Phillips was good. Liked Gibbons and SPS. Cripps is Cripps. Still think we are a tall short and lack of big bodies lacking in the middle. Fasolo is non existent. Setterfield still finding his feet

Some really good sign though.

Like to see Thomas up forward, maybe Newman on the ball or Plowman.
Phillips can't even halve the contest in the ruck. The fast clearances are so simple for them at the moment. Lycett is murdering him.

As was the case last season, the gulf in quality between our best and worst footy is enormous, and sways toward the latter far too easily, often in just minutes. When things don't go our way, we don't seem to be able to arrest the slide back into the mire of panicked, rushed football, and the running effort falls away, too.

It’s almost like we stop. We get so worried about getting scored against we just setup a zone and forget about attacking.

They're a decent big bodied mob and our blokes went into their shells. We need someone to deal with one of them and say thats enough. We arent taking it no more. Thats an onfield thing beyond the coaches influence in my opinion.