Autopsy Pies win one for the ages!!

• Thread starter Thread starter Stoods

Ground report on Perth Stadium....which for some reason is named Optus Stadium even though the people of WA paid for it.... and Optus pays a couple of million bucks to get the naming rights....Note to multinational corporations who want to get into my good books, stealing the name of the people's stadium isnt one of them. Maybe paying some tax might help. Anyway, I digress.....

it was my first visit to the 1.5 billion dollar stadium last night. i wouldnt like gov't people writing up the contract to do my weekly shopping. They would probably say that they got a great deal paying $500 for a couple of bags of stuff. Getting there by train reminded me of one of those ninja warrior shows. We climbed up stairs. We climbed down stairs. We were held in cramped conditions that the RSPCA wouldnt allow for the sheep ships. The big screens are fine. The seating is reminiscent of economy class on tiger airlines. There are plenty of dunnies and the food pricing seemed to be based on a system of think of a number and multiply by 10.

As I said to my fellow pie supporter, obviously the minister of health had a hand in the design of the stadium because there were stairs to get up the 5 levels. This is a vast improvement on Subiaco and the MCG where they use ramps, which give nowhere near the cardiovascular workout. It was so wonderful to see those little old ladies putting their shoulder to the wheel to get themselves up into the clouds. Did I mention the dunnies? Superb. You could eat your pies off the china if you could afford to buy a pie.

The minister of transport obviously had a hand in the transport plan. He must have told his staff that should go to the footy whenever they can. This, of course, leaves a skeleton staff for trains and buses for the big games like last night.....and reduces the cost of the "free" transport.

But here's the rub. Any problems with the venue or the transport or the food has no effect on the "people who matter" in this town who are finally catered for in circumstances that match their high status. They dont have to worry about the cost of food at games but they dont pay....They dont have to worry about the cost of the tickets because they dont pay.... They dont have to worry about the over crowded public transport because - you guessed it - they dont have to use it. The siting and design of the stadium forces the plebs to use public transport so that the more worthy can drive - or be driven - to the game. This is a vast improvement on Subiaco where people could drive to but have to pay fines for breaching unwritten parking violations.

And the magic of the whole experience is that the cost of stadium has been equally shared by Western Australians.

Ground report on Perth Stadium....which for some reason is named Optus Stadium even though the people of WA paid for it.... and Optus pays a couple of million bucks to get the naming rights....Note to multinational corporations who want to get into my good books, stealing the name of the people's stadium isnt one of them. Maybe paying some tax might help. Anyway, I digress.....

it was my first visit to the 1.5 billion dollar stadium last night. i wouldnt like gov't people writing up the contract to do my weekly shopping. They would probably say that they got a great deal paying $500 for a couple of bags of stuff. Getting there by train reminded me of one of those ninja warrior shows. We climbed up stairs. We climbed down stairs. We were held in cramped conditions that the RSPCA wouldnt allow for the sheep ships. The big screens are fine. The seating is reminiscent of economy class on tiger airlines. There are plenty of dunnies and the food pricing seemed to be based on a system of think of a number and multiply by 10.

As I said to my fellow pie supporter, obviously the minister of health had a hand in the design of the stadium because there were stairs to get up the 5 levels. This is a vast improvement on Subiaco and the MCG where they use ramps, which give nowhere near the cardiovascular workout. It was so wonderful to see those little old ladies putting their shoulder to the wheel to get themselves up into the clouds. Did I mention the dunnies? Superb. You could eat your pies off the china if you could afford to buy a pie.

The minister of transport obviously had a hand in the transport plan. He must have told his staff that should go to the footy whenever they can. This, of course, leaves a skeleton staff for trains and buses for the big games like last night.....and reduces the cost of the "free" transport.

But here's the rub. Any problems with the venue or the transport or the food has no effect on the "people who matter" in this town who are finally catered for in circumstances that match their high status. They dont have to worry about the cost of food at games but they dont pay....They dont have to worry about the cost of the tickets because they dont pay.... They dont have to worry about the over crowded public transport because - you guessed it - they dont have to use it. The siting and design of the stadium forces the plebs to use public transport so that the more worthy can drive - or be driven - to the game. This is a vast improvement on Subiaco where people could drive to but have to pay fines for breaching unwritten parking violations.

And the magic of the whole experience is that the cost of stadium has been equally shared by Western Australians.
Can't possibly imagine what you would have written if we had lost.:D

##BUSINESS OPPORTUNITY##

Sorry to put a plug here but this is going to be big. A small consortium of Pies supporters are importing bulk quantities of the Weagles "Anti-Dew" , packing it in spray cans and releasing it in Bunnings stores everywhere as a new , improved version of Selleys RP7.

If you would like to get on board with this PM me .

#slidebyslide

Just flicked over to the Man United practice match at Perth Stadium. The wonderful thing about soccer is that the commentators can discuss the weather in Liverpool and the shopping in Leeds during the play. Perth fans need to learn more about singing so that there's some entertainment in the package. 5 mins and I've had enough I might have another re-run of the game....

Watched the game 3 times now......I'm starved of Collingwood 'watchable wins' this year.
It was a great team effort with 8-10 players who could have appeared in the voting.
I couldn't fit Pendles, Roughead or Maynard in, but they were deserving.
It's sad to consider Ben Crocker though. He is by all accounts, a great clubman and he really tried his guts out, but just lacks the talent to be a regular at AFL level. He did provide pressure though and was aggressive enough at the ball, which gives him an edge over say, Daicos. I'd really like to see him succeed.
Will Hoskin Elliott may have found a new home down back!

But why I am watching ess v nth and I have no feeling to visit there forum on this site?
Its weird mate why they do this.
Paranoia strikes me!
Richmond's Eagles/Pies (NO OPPOSITION SUPPORTERS) thread was longer than ours, apparently Richmond aren't losing another game this year and everyone is crapping themselves because they've got Jack back, pretty sure Jack played in our last 2 encounters though, but he's improved out of sight as most 46 year olds do!

Haha fine work

Watched the game 3 times now......I'm starved of Collingwood 'watchable wins' this year.
It was a great team effort with 8-10 players who could have appeared in the voting.
I couldn't fit Pendles, Roughead or Maynard in, but they were deserving.
It's sad to consider Ben Crocker though. He is by all accounts, a great clubman and he really tried his guts out, but just lacks the talent to be a regular at AFL level. He did provide pressure though and was aggressive enough at the ball, which gives him an edge over say, Daicos. I'd really like to see him succeed.
Will Hoskin Elliott may have found a new home down back!

One day we will have most of the team down back as so many seem to be moved there, start there, get a gig there at some stage.

They range from out of formers like WHE, failed forwards like Moore, or newbies like Noble and IQ.

I’m still enjoying that win 24hrs later. Such a massive turnaround in attitude and effort. And with a few non contributors.

Sier wasn’t as bad as people were saying. Watching the replay he had some important handballs. He’s one you’re not going to notice all the time and he’s still so raw but I thought he did his job last night.
Having given up on the team and conceded the loss at half time, I was too inebriated to comprehend the last quarter. I thought Sier was terrible in the first three quarters - only a great final quarter would have redeemed his performance. Was his last quarter that good?

The longer the game went on without them blowing us away or even looking like they were going to have a dominant win, the more hopeful I became. By the end, they didn't look like scoring. Mids so much better, forward pressure good, and our defence was excellent. Maybe we should stick to this smaller defence formula rather than too many talls slowing us down.

Just wanted to say that was a ****ing great game of footy. Congrats on the win. Annoyed we lost it, but if it were a neutral game (or as a Pies fan) I’m sure it would have been one of the games of the year.

Really respect the way the Pies fans on here conduct themselves. We had some tense and crucial games last season, obviously emotions are high during finals, but I reckon the Pies fans on bigfooty conducted themselves on our board better than any visiting group. I know Collingwood have a rep as a ‘hated’ team, but I don’t see it.

Five games against each other in a year, all have been extremely interesting for one reason or another. Nice little rivalry building but it seems to be based more on respect than animosity. I don’t know about you guys, but I’m not sitting around thinking “****, hope we absolutely smash the Pies”, rather I just see Eagles vs Collingwood and think this will be a ripper, can’t wait.

Congrats on the win, cheers for the way your fans conduct yourselves on the Eagles board, hope we meet on Grand Final day again [emoji106]

Having given up on the team and conceded the loss at half time, I was too inebriated to comprehend the last quarter. I thought Sier was terrible in the first three quarters - only a great final quarter would have redeemed his performance. Was his last quarter that good?
I would suggest watching the whole game again because in my eyes he has hardly terrible at all. Was cleaner than last week and had some good ground balls won imo.

Just wanted to say that was a ******* great game of footy. Congrats on the win. Annoyed we lost it, but if it were a neutral game (or as a Pies fan) I’m sure it would have been one of the games of the year.

Really respect the way the Pies fans on here conduct themselves. We had some tense and crucial games last season, obviously emotions are high during finals, but I reckon the Pies fans on bigfooty conducted themselves on our board better than any visiting group. I know Collingwood have a rep as a ‘hated’ team, but I don’t see it.

Five games against each other in a year, all have been extremely interesting for one reason or another. Nice little rivalry building but it seems to be based more on respect than animosity. I don’t know about you guys, but I’m not sitting around thinking “fu**, hope we absolutely smash the Pies”, rather I just see Eagles vs Collingwood and think this will be a ripper, can’t wait.

Congrats on the win, cheers for the way your fans conduct yourselves on the Eagles board, hope we meet on Grand Final day again [emoji106]
West coast fans are generally pretty good too, every team has their dickheads and Muppet's, always been great respect between our supporter groups.

Richmond fans are the worst ATM, but people don't realise that them having a team capable of winning a final is a once in a lifetime event.

I did lol at our banner last night though.

Just wanted to say that was a ******* great game of footy. Congrats on the win. Annoyed we lost it, but if it were a neutral game (or as a Pies fan) I’m sure it would have been one of the games of the year.

Five games against each other in a year, all have been extremely interesting for one reason or another. Nice little rivalry building but it seems to be based more on respect than animosity. I don’t know about you guys, but I’m not sitting around thinking “fu**, hope we absolutely smash the Pies”, rather I just see Eagles vs Collingwood and think this will be a ripper, can’t wait.

Yeah have to say there is no hatred for the Eagles from me. Just a great rivalry. Unlike my hatred for Lions back in the day or the hatred for the saints during that rivalry. Even the cats have some players that made me want to see them fail in 2010-2012 rivalry.

Eagles I don't hate them, not angry when they win. Just love the rivalry and respect them. I think the fact that I know no Eagles in person helps!

I would suggest watching the whole game again because in my eyes he has hardly terrible at all. Was cleaner than last week and had some good ground balls won imo.

I’ll take your advice and watch again. I’ve been a bit concerned about Sier, and it may have clouded my assessment of his game. Same with Elliott. I often misread - or just miss - key elements of games in the first viewing.

Maynard was great. He just has to cut out those occasional silly brain farts. Comms reckon Cameron was opposed to Noble later in the game but it's hard to pick some of the match-ups from the tv, especially when our defensive area is sometimes crowded.

I really think we got a bit lucky with McGovern being a bit hampered and maybe Kennedy will not be the same force which means we can get away with playing one tall against them which would be Roughie. We could then use Howe on someone like Darling or Allen. Not sure if Langers will return. Not sure if we can risk Moore in a final.
Just as they were lucky we had so many out whilst they were at virtually full strength and lost Moore very early?

Trying to be balanced in expectations can be taken too far.

Adam Simpson was interviewed on Sportstalk here in Perth on ABC radio this morning.
He said (I'm paraphrasing) that "Eagles had a heard a whiff that Pies would play *Crisp in the mids and that Mayne would play defensive role on Hurn".
It struck me as an odd thing to say. Was there a leak of our tactics or did the opposition analysis they conducted simply suggest this was a likely outcome?
It’s a good question you asked and sorry people focused on your typo.
The Crisp one may have been detectable from training, Mayne no idea.
There’s also the possibility he was talking crap. :)

Good to see the closet Carlton supporters back where they belong and everyone back on the bandwagon.

I thought it was a step in the right direction, but still not our best footy. Too many passengers and particularly in the first half. Soft efforts from pendles and Phillips were not good signs early. The most impressive part is we got back to our brand when it counted most in the second half. Mihocek was outstanding. Cox is just dropping too many marks for my liking. I’d like to see him in the 2’s.

Crocker is a good vfl player. I thought Greenwood was exceptional tonight. Aish was great aside from some skill errors of which there were plenty across the board, so I won’t judge too harshly. WHE and Mayne played their role. We need to get a lift from Sier and Elliot, they were down for quality players.

Degoey was a match winner again. Brown was handy and loves to break a game open.

I though noble and iq were poor, and largely because their small forwards tore us to shreds.

Just some random unstructured thoughts from me.
Certainly unstructured on Noble - was sent to cameron after his 4 goal burst and stopped him cold plus gain 18 possessions for a first game player. . . . Poor - not hardly!

So glad Mayne didn’t get called for the block that resulted in a Cox mark/goal in the first.
The Eagles get away with every week and they stage for blocks.
Barrass, (or Cole) tried to con the umpire in the last qtr when Checkers marked and goaled too.