Bluemour Discussion Thread XVII - Coniglio means Rabbit in Italian!

Yeah, but he does cover 3 positions, so $133k each actually seems pretty damn good value when you compare it to the average salary!

Surely Lobbe retires at the end of this year and he was reportedly on decent coin, funnel some of that to old mate double cobra.
3 vital positions, albeit two of which you could argue we've more than enough cover already...

Realistically, if we keep him around we'd be keeping him as a backup ruck and cover for injuries. It'd depend entirely on Levi, really; if he's financially savvy or ambitious, this could very well be his final contract and he might want to maximise his earnings while he can, take advantage of his form to set up the remainder of his life. If he's enjoying his footy and couldn't countenance leaving, good on him, although I worry; that kind of a mindset can lead to trouble in life.

It's his decision. If he wants to stay, he will find us pretty receptive at the right price. If he wants to leave, I'd imagine he'd have a few takers; Hawthorn could do with him, so could (probably) Melbourne, GC, he'd be useful for Sydney and if he went to Geelong you just ****ing watch them turn him into a 70 goal a year KPF in 2 seasons. World's his oyster at the moment; more versatile than Westoff, and that's saying something.

We can't forget that Cas will be 30 next year. A 3 year deal puts him at 33 by the end. His form could drop off very soon. Everyone knows he's a confidence player, and right now he's sky high. If it drops off again at 30 years old how good are the chances it comes back again?

Good post.

Was surprised to see that 48% of his possessions this year have been contested.

Also his tacked numbers have increased from previous years.

I've not seen a lot admittedly but the bits I've seen suggest a player being asked to perform a role he's not suited to because GC are just so weak through the midfield. Would be very keen to see what he can do on the end of a good one where he can play to his strengths.

How do you assess the overall stats of a player who's been used in about 6 different positions by an absolute mess of a club?

If we're going to assess Martin it should be with an understanding of what role he'd likely play with us (wing/link-up player, limited rotation through back, forward and midfield) and how his skill-set suits that role. I mean, Levi is averaging less than a goal a game this season....but given he's been used down back and in the ruck it's not really an accurate reflection of how he's done when playing forward.

It’s hard to be impartial, I don’t think he’s a good player so therefor I look at his career and stats and see someone who is no better than a lot of players we currently have and someone who has failed to live up to his unjustified hype.

He is in his 6th season and has never averaged more than 18 possessions a season and only once has he managed to kick more goals than games played in a season.

As our most pressing need is small to medium attacking forwards and small to medium attacking defenders, I fail to see why we would go for him.

Don’t think we should relegate Cas to the 2s in 2020 just because McGovern is on 700k. I’d rather have a fit and firing Casboult roaming between the arcs and chopping out in the ruck over Gov’s 6 touches as a deep forward.

If Casboult continues his form I’d hope we reward him. It’s not as if we have a tight cap and most of the kids come out of contract around 2021/22 anyway.

So would I, then we should be getting the pitch forks out and demanding why we spent so much currency on a player who’s unfit and averages 7 possessions a game.

Adelaide got pick 11 for the picks we gave them.

Sure Levi is a free agent and we won't get anything for him if he walks, and that only makes it less, not more, acceptable. No one is begrudging Levi looking after his own interests, but there would be a quite few supporters begrudging the club for not paying him what he's worth, particularly if other clubs see that value and readily agree to pay for it. A 'too good to refuse' offer could easily turn into a bargain deal for a shrewd club. Not recruiting Kane Lambert who was playing right under our noses for Northern was hard enough to swallow, but helping/forcing Levi, who is playing very, very well for us, out the door would be on a whole new level.

We would get FA compensation, probably band 3 or 4

Do we really want Gibbs back I reckon we’ve moved on

Baggage?
I was never a huge fan of Gibbs however acknowledge his talent. If he were to come back and give 100% in our current midfield set up with his skills and durability he'd be an asset for three years.
Can't see it happening though.

We can't forget that Cas will be 30 next year. A 3 year deal puts him at 33 by the end. His form could drop off very soon. Everyone knows he's a confidence player, and right now he's sky high. If it drops off again at 30 years old how good are the chances it comes back again?

32 at the end, not 33

It’s hard to be impartial, I don’t think he’s a good player so therefor I look at his career and stats and see someone who is no better than a lot of players we currently have and someone who has failed to live up to his unjustified hype.

He is in his 6th season and has never averaged more than 18 possessions a season and only once has he managed to kick more goals than games played in a season.

As our most pressing need is small to medium attacking forwards and small to medium attacking defenders, I fail to see why we would go for him.

Kudos for identifying your own bias - we all have it and it can be really difficult to see when it might be influencing our views.

Just because he doesn't fit those two molds specifically, that doesn't mean he doesn't fit a need. Papley = small forward. Baker = small defender? Martin = outside mid/wing who can fill gaps at either end of the ground.

I don't think Martin costs us a first rounder.

I could see it being Martin and change for Kerr/Macreadie and a future second, or something of that nature. That change could well be another player (though there isn't much on the GC list I like the look of), but would more likely be a later pick. I'd also happily pay some of the salary of whichever player went north, if that would help GC to pay/retain some of their other players.

I see Martin as one of those players that just needs a role. That's something Teague is focusing on at the moment, and I think the fit would be a good one. Give Jack a specific role to play (wing) and encourage him to use his strengths (athleticism and disposal) to find space and move the ball to dangerous areas in our forward half.

If it doesn't happen, I won't be too disappointed - but I see a lot of upside in getting Martin onto our list for a reasonable price (ie. not at the expense of a quality small forward).

Baggage?
Nope, I think we have well and truly moved on from Players like Gibbs and even Eddie, we don't need them back playing for us.

Loved them when they were playing for us but that's ancient history now.

On SM-T595 using BigFooty.com mobile app

I doubt Levi would go interstate even if he had a big contract offer. 2 young kids and another on the way.
I hope he gets a good offer from us to make him want to stay. He's best 22 right now and in the form of his life.
Thats exactly why he'd take 3 years elsewhere. Family first. Becoming a dad changes your priorities, it's a wonderful and daunting thing.

An extra year at a salary more than he's likely to get in any other job is a big thing. Not many places will pay him $400k. Definitely worth moving for.

Looking at the Casboult rumour objectively:

As a tall KPP, he is a commodity we have in abundance. However as a KPP/Resting Ruck, he is the most capable on our list.

Club will want TDK in his position next year; he's the direct replacement, and the intended man for this position for the next 10-12 years.

If he nets us Band 2/3 Compo, it's a goer. will assist us in getting our targets. We could feasibly be turning Casboult into Papley, or part thereof. At 29, Levi's got 3 years left in the system and it's just smart list management.

Smart clubs don't let emotion get in the way of professional management, and it's good to see that Carlton is finally on board this train now.

It's his decision. If he wants to stay, he will find us pretty receptive at the right price. If he wants to leave, I'd imagine he'd have a few takers; Hawthorn could do with him, so could (probably) Melbourne, GC, he'd be useful for Sydney and if he went to Geelong you just ******* watch them turn him into a 70 goal a year KPF in 2 seasons. World's his oyster at the moment; more versatile than Westoff, and that's saying something.

I’d say the doggies would be at the top of the list, backup for English and a tall forward would be perfect for them

Cas is our Leigh Brown... now that it's all finally clicked and he's a valuable multi position KPP and Ruck he a certain starter on current form in our 22, meaning we need only bring in 1 pure ruck and he can float forward/back/ruck pending on rotations and rests to the ruck and kpp.

If it's GC after him, uprooting a young family interstate away from family might not be better than us giving him a new contract on close to the coin being offered.

Baggage?

Depends on the price a third rounder or later I’d be happy with. Get him as cover in case doc doesn’t play again, while we develop younger players.

Who says Gibbs wasn’t loyal to the blues, get two first rounders and two years later come back at bargain basement prices. [emoji12]

Gibbs will allegdly ask for a trade from the Crows this season?

Could we use him in the Northern Blues or as a half back flanker?

Why would he do that when he could go to a team like ...St Kilda... and play seniors regularly

Has Zac Tuohy written all over it

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

Different story entirely.

Nudged Tuohy out because we wanted to trade him so we could keep bringing in more youth.

Don't need more youth now, and the compo for Levi would be negligible in comparison with his value to our list.

If Levi goes it's not because we're engineering an offer to push him out, it's because another club is desperate enough to offer him a big/long contract to play senior football while we're offering a more modest contract for him to be first in line to cover for injuries. A team like St Kilda should absolutely be offering him a front-ended contract worth $600k plus per season for the next 3 years. Perfect complement to Marshall in the ruck and their key forward stocks are either coming off injuries or have succumbed to them. Their key defensive stocks aren't much chop either. We shouldn't be getting anywhere near that offer for a depth player.

I’d say the doggies would be at the top of the list, backup for English and a tall forward would be perfect for them
Absolutely they would. Offsider for Naughton, real contested marking option down the line for when they're winning but the opposition are too well set up behind the ball? They'd go from being potentially another so-so, 10-5 team to top 4 contention alone, off the bat of him playing his role under Bolton, second ruck/KPF.

Something weird about WB is they can't seem to develop their own monster KPF; they'll recruit or get in a highly touted big bloke with good mits, only to make him run around more than he should, run under the ball, fly with hard hands, and you can't trade them in, the good ones are too expensive. Cas would be perfect for them, if only we didn't want to lose him.