Richmond's 7 Consecutive MCG Games

Is Richmond's 7 consecutive games at the MVG unfair?

• Yes

Votes: 156 45.3%
  • No

Votes: 188 54.7%

Geelong get 9 games for the year at home. Richmond got 7 in a row leading into finals.

And yet Scott is a sook for complaining.

Tiggies fans, just bail. You can't win this argument. Your team got gifted the greatest run into finals in modern football history. If you can't see that assisted your chances of a top 4 spot which set you up in finals, you are deluded.
What about the earlier part of the year when they had to travel more than normal? All games count equally towards a top 4 finish, you don't get 8 points in the run home. And Tigers don't get a hga in a lot of games at the G. These points have been made many times.

Still going.....

West Coast supporters are just mad because they know that their flag will be remembered as a mere footnote, compared to the Richmond sides of the era how sad.
Not mad mate. Pretty happy. 33 years, 7 grand finals, 4 flags, finals most years....
Happy for whoever wins a flag just happier when we do

Wall to wall blind dumb deaf Richmond fans defending the indefensible. AFL ruined this finals series with their VFL nonsense and got the damp squib GF they manufactured.
Lol what? They manufactured a trip to the GABBA against a rampant Brisbane for both the Tigers and Giants in order to get them through to the GF?

Rioli and the Eagles ruined the finals by allowing the Pies into the 4 and Geelong into the prelim. Or did the VFL manufacture that too?

Never let the truth get in the way of a true story( I think that was atibuted to Gerald Whatley ). Tigers 2019 premiers, deal with it !!

If you are top of the tree its fine and you become battle hardened.
Remember when interstate clubs asked that their Derbies and Showdowns not to be played last game of the season because they were too knackered afterwards. Even now how many times do the Adelaide clubs loose the next week after a showdown.

Seasons , draws and home games are chalk and cheese between Melbourne and interstate clubs. But surprisingly it seems to work out pretty even. A Super strong interstate team will get an easy run in the finals ... A super strong Melbourne team will play all finals Melbourne.

At the moment you have an incredible strong Richmond team that if you play them at the MCG you will probably loose. Doesn’t matter if you spread the games out or bunch them together .Play Richmond at the G and you will lose.
This 7 in row whinge is just a whinge about how good Richmond are at the moment.
I think we have lost 3 times at the G in the last 39 or 40.

Richmond have been at the G since 1966. They ain’t going to send us back to Punt Rd.
Showdowns and derbies are as close to finals as you can get for non Victorian clubs. Especially if they’re both up and about. Comparatively the closest thing you’d get in Melbourne is Anzac Day or Easter Monday. No one gives a toss about most of your Melbourne clashes, your fans don’t care and you only sell out a handful of them a year between the lot of you

I agree that after all the ebbs and flows throughout the home and away season, everything usually pretty much evens out in the end, and super strong teams no matter where they’re from will always win almost all of theirs games at home.

But when a contending mcg based team gets gifted a run of 7 consecutive games at home, with constant 7+ day breaks for more than a month leading into finals, its just an embarrassing blight on the integrity of the competition on top of all the other advantages mcg tenants already get over the rest of the competition

Worked out that way. But with our draw at the start we could have been out of contention. That same draw could have had a coach sacked mid season.
It’s just at the moment playing Richmond ..if they haven’t played at the G for a month or if they have played 10 in a row ... you will lose against them at the G.
7 in a row has nothing to do with it.
Our biggest problem was 2 games in 4 weeks sometimes the set up can be too easy... ask Collingwood.
At the start you were out of contention. Playing one game outside of Melbourne after the bye and playing 7 in a row at your home ground at the end got you back into it

You’ve been banging on about this for the good part of two years.

You should get into politics. Reckon you’d be more successful than that do nothing whinging premier you have in WA right now.
when im elected - right hand lane hogs will have their cars crushed

Second offence and they will have their car crushed with them in it

Vote one el presidente for life KRANKY ALMEISTER!!

Also goes for those dozy slags that speed up when they see the overtaking lane

Cmon fellas

Its TIME!!

At the start you were out of contention. Playing one game outside of Melbourne after the bye and playing 7 in a row at your home ground at the end got you back into it
What kind of s**t is this? Haha

So they were only out of contention because of poor fixturing at the start then!

But when a contending mcg based team gets gifted a run of 7 consecutive games at home, with constant 7+ day breaks for more than a month leading into finals, its just an embarrassing blight on the integrity of the competition on top of all the other advantages mcg tenants already get over the rest of the competition
Everyone gets a 2 week break before finals ffs. Who gives a stuff whether you get a 6,7 or 8 day break a few weeks before that. Every team plays the same number of games over the season and they're all worth 4 points. The breaks all even out over the season. Having 7 or more day breaks early in the season helps you into the top 4 just as much as they do late in the season. Home games early in the season help you into the top 4 just as much as late in the season.

So Tigers got a 7 day break going into round 23 against Brisbane, well Brisbane got an 8 day break! Tigers got a 7 day break going into round 22 against Eagles, well so did the Eagles! The Eagles only got a 6 day break going into their round 23 game against the Hawks, and guess what the Hawks only got 6 days too! What a gift, getting the same breaks as your opponent!

Do you actually believe your own bullshitt?
The only embarrassing blight is your salty one eyed blame game.

look at the most successful h&a seasons on record - they’re all Victorian clubs

But winning a flag is not about having the most successful H&A record. It's about being the best team in finals. Which why West Coast have had no troubles winning flags.

I agree that our fixture this year was a bit weird, should have been more balanced at the beginning and at the end.

But the sooking by people here trying to discredit the flag is pretty pathetic. Richmond went to Brisbane, the team that finished second, on their home deck and won by 8 goals.

Everyone gets a 2 week break before finals ffs. Who gives a stuff whether you get a 6,7 or 8 day break a few weeks before that. Every team plays the same number of games over the season and they're all worth 4 points. The breaks all even out over the season. Having 7 or more day breaks early in the season helps you into the top 4 just as much as they do late in the season. Home games early in the season help you into the top 4 just as much as late in the season.

So Tigers got a 7 day break going into round 23 against Brisbane, well Brisbane got an 8 day break! Tigers got a 7 day break going into round 22 against Eagles, well so did the Eagles! The Eagles only got a 6 day break going into their round 23 game against the Hawks, and guess what the Hawks only got 6 days too! What a gift, getting the same breaks as your opponent!

Do you actually believe your own bullshitt?
The only embarrassing blight is your salty one eyed blame game.
Amen brother.

when im elected - right hand lane hogs will have their cars crushed

Second offence and they will have their car crushed with them in it

Vote one el presidente for life KRANKY ALMEISTER!!

Also goes for those dozy slags that speed up when they see the overtaking lane

Cmon fellas

Its TIME!!
What about banning screaming toddlers under 21 years old from public events? That would get the support from the silent majority.

On SM-G955F using BigFooty.com mobile app

How good was our draw mid year when we went
Neutral game
6 day break
Neutral
6 day
Away game
7 day
Home game
6 day
Away game

Our kids were absolutely cooked after that run. That last game was v adelaide at AO in R13. I’d have traded that game for our Carlton game in R21 at the G.

We’d only have a 4 game streak at the G, and we’d have finished 17-5, on top of the ladder, and wouldn’t have had to travel week 1 of finals.

I wonder how Richmond fans would react if their fixture was flipped around?
Getting all of the cream at the start of the year and then dealing with all of the rubbish after the bye in the lead up to September