Bluemour Melting Pot XXI - Like seriously, the polar ice caps have got nothing on us

IM really disappointed in the trade period and SOS but i don't want to dwell on it, i don't know what we offered for either Martin or Papley, i would hope that we at least offered pick 9 straight up for Paps and a future 2nd and maybe a swap of picks for Martin, but we don't know.

What i want to know is and i haven't seen it discussed. Why didn't SOS request mediation (this has been done in the past), why didn't we see Martins manager in the media pushing hard for his client. Im interested to know what constitutes a restraint of trade? If GC receive what is deemed fair value for Martin and refuse it, is that not, restraint of trade.

If i was Martins manager, i would be threatening legal action against GC and the AFL if GC threatened to pick him up again, this is different to Papley, Martin is ooc and has requested a trade two years in a row.

The PSD is now an option, but im worried the Dees will swoop, as Martin will suit them well. Hopefully Martin puts a 1 year high $$$$ price on his head and lets Melbourne know, he will request a trade at the end of next season.

Feeling pretty flat, but until the draft and the PSD are done, i will hold my judgement.

We offered a future second and third for Martin. Gold Coast said they have heaps of draft picks so wanted something better than the AFL already gave them. I kid you not. Paraphrasing but that's the crux. Drunk on concessions.

Swans said Papley wasn't being traded unless they got Daniher so our offer doesn't matter.

So much entitled angst, mostly from posters who haven't shown their faces in months. Sad fairweathers throwing silly tantrums.

Dodo wouldn't trade Daniher, so Sydney had no motivation to trade a contracted Papley. Sucks, but the only out for us was offerring to overpay spectacularly (second first rounder?) in the hopes Sydney would bite. Reckon the same people complaining about missing Papley would have been up in arms if we overpaid.

We've got a clear out with Martin. He nominates for the PSD with a fat 1 year salary, which neither Gold Coast nor Melbourne have the cap space to match. We get him for free, and then he extends on minimum coin.

So we walk away with Betts, Pittonet, hopefully Martin, and definitely Pick 9. We have a handful of later picks which can still be traded to move up the draft if we want. And the only future pick we've lost is a fourth rounder.

It's not an awe-inspiring trade period, but 9, Martin, Betts, Pittonet is still a step in the right direction.

Wow the melts and sooks on here are unbelievable.

#1 How were we meant to get Paps if he WASNT AVAILABLE? Sydney would only trade him if they got Daniher. Be mad at Dodo not SOS. Are the sooks suggesting SOS should have made * trade Daniher somehow? FFS

#2 Why pay overs for Martin? 9 for Martin and 15 isnt a good deal considering we can still get him for free (Possibly) AND still have pick 9 in the draft.

People need to chill out, all this talk about SOS has to go is laughable. Unless you think SOS somehow was able to make * and Sydney do the Daniher trade so we could get Paps, then you need your head read.
It's not that we should have paid overs. It's that we shouldn't have let ourselves be locked into other teams plans and pursued other options

Less said about tonight’s result the better.
The wash up :
If in the end we offered 9 straight up for Papley and Sydney refused, we live with it and try again next year if Papley is still keen.
If we didn’t offer 9 straight up it’s inexcusable.
Happy we didn’t use a 1st rounder in any form of deal for Martin.
As many have said, use our cap space to walk Martin through the PSD.
Another top 10 pick in the draft ?
Never a bad thing but rightly wasn’t the plan and hard to be enthused for another raw 18yo at this stage of the game ...

Thank you to Marc Shmurf 3 & Ockhams razor for clearing things up.

To many on here having a melt and wanting to overpay. We only technically missed out on Martin and that’s because GC wanted us to overpay. Glad SOS didn’t fold and we now get him in the PSD.

Papley wasn’t a miss because he wasn’t available! Nothing SOS could do if Sydney didn’t want to trade him.

Relax guys

Are you joking? You had a crack at me for ‘comprehension’ when I mentioned the ND as an option.

Read the posts you quoted.

"He won't nominate for the national draft."

That poster is correct.

Silvagni mentioned both national draft and pre season draft.

Here's the comprehension part, based on that information, on what basis would Martin want to enter the national draft over the pre season draft (if activated)? He could end up in SA or NSW.

Blues were done over.

Deals were agreed to, then reneged upon and more, much more was sought for both Papley & Martin.

Last night Dodoro was offered pick 9, next years 1st and 2nd by Swans, who were going to seek AFL approval to enable deal to proceed or obtain a future 2nd as part of other deals.

Dodoro has shafted a family member of Essendon royalty who wanted to leave Melbourne for relative anonymity in Sydney.

AFL complicit in the shafting we received by the Gold Coast Suns, told they needed to flex their muscle and harden up.

SOS didn’t fail, at this point he hasn’t delivered the players but he also didn’t overpay.

Very obvious many in here have never been involved in a commercial negotiation of any significance.
Thanks for the updates OR :thumbsu:

We tend to forget that they are human beings....Daniher would be feeling shattered at the moment being shafted by his club that the Daniher name is legendary. In fact the whole family probably are.

Similarly you could imagine how Martin would be feeling....hopefully he still gets to play alongside Eddie next year.

It was the same scenario with Justin Reid from Adelaide. If you court a contracted player, you have to expect to pay overs for them. If you're not prepared to pay overs, then don't deal with contracted players and move on.

Martin is out of contract. And Sydney didn’t want to entertain trading papley without getting Daniher.

Yeah but SOS should have bent over and over paid because (some of) big footy said so

My problem isn’t with the negotiating. I’m sure SOS did all he could, am happy with 90% of his previous work and I’m sure he’ll use 9 extremely well.

Have an issue with the club getting Papley and Martin too nominate without any confirmation a deal could get done. Relying on Dodoro to do a deal is not confirmation. It’s a bad look for future prospects. Martin is not so bad as it’s a unique situation and he should find his way to us anyway.

So much entitled angst, mostly from posters who haven't shown their faces in months. Sad fairweathers throwing silly tantrums.

Dodo wouldn't trade Daniher, so Sydney had no motivation to trade a contracted Papley. Sucks, but the only out for us was offerring to overpay spectacularly (second first rounder?) in the hopes Sydney would bite. Reckon the same people complaining about missing Papley would have been up in arms if we overpaid.

We've got a clear out with Martin. He nominates for the PSD with a fat 1 year salary, which neither Gold Coast nor Melbourne have the cap space to match. We get him for free, and then he extends on minimum coin.

So we walk away with Betts, Pittonet, hopefully Martin, and definitely Pick 9. We have a handful of later picks which can still be traded to move up the draft if we want. And the only future pick we've lost is a fourth rounder.

It's not an awe-inspiring trade period, but 9, Martin, Betts, Pittonet is still a step in the right direction.

Who is Martin's manager? Typically you hear from them throwing a tantrum in this situation, i.e. when an uncontracted player does not get to their club of choice in what seems as a fair offer. Possibly/probably they are already in and support the plan for the PSD move.

Not really condoning this but we could still ‘trade’ for Martin with GC. Trades for picks are still ok.

They want to move up the draft order. We could give them 9 and next years second for their 15 and 20. I believe our next years second will be in the 30s. They could sell it as equivalent to 22. So the ‘sell’ for them is 2347 points in, including an upgraded pick into the top ten. And for only 2024. In reality it would be more ‘equal’ on points than that. As we will finish higher on the ladder.

If that is what it takes to have them not bother playing games with Martin I’m all for it.

I’d then be happy to trade out these picks and into next year, so we have more available to trade for players next year.

They acted in bad faith. Why should we trade to help them out. **** em.
Take him for free in the PSD.