Bluemour Melting Pot XXI - Like seriously, the polar ice caps have got nothing on us

Reassuring words from the manager - assuming this is legit and not media fluff (which I think it is), reflects pretty well on the club

If we'd half-assed an attempt to trade for him after getting him to nominate us, I doubt his manager would be so complimentary. Pretty clear Carlton was open and honest about it, did everything they could, but circumstances conspired to prevent the trade happening.

Thanks champ

I'm fine, just calling things how they are, so fans can move forward with a fairer assessment of what just went down

Not a champ, bloody got knocked out in the 3rd round by Claus, little prick went on to win the chess championship in 83.

Me thinks your getting a bit emotional about it all.

SOS didn't fail.

I reckon Marc McGowan is one of our esteemed posters. I can look at the circumstances and turn it into negative shit. I might apply for a job writing opinion pieces. Then I’ll pick off the clubs I don’t like and I’ll fit in perfectly.

Imagine GCS redrafting Martin on $1M in the PSD.

He's be their highest paid player, for a single year, and doesn't even want to be there.

GCS would face a mass exodus of players wanting the same dollars (which they can't afford) or leaving in principle (because GCS will pay more to spite a player rather than reward players who want to be there).

Some "message" they'll send.

Bring it on.
well said not the message they want to send. How do you build a culture with spite. They have enough picks. Looks like we got Martin for free if we pull it off.

Haha....I have zero doubt in my mind Barras is given information from someone in the club/recruitment area to provide the real news when it’s decided it’s needed.

Have a read of his posts over the trade period, weren’t many of them but they were spot on.

If he says it’s fact we’ll get Martin in the PSD then you can take it to the bank, that’s as unequivocal as it comes.
Sorry I don't see it as fact right now even if we get Martin .
Lot could happen between now and the time of the PSD .
Melbourne could easily decide to delist somebody on good money and the cap space opens up and decide to take Martin .

The real failure here is in the club managing expectations, if they had stated (and maybe they did somewhere) that Papley is not available unless Daniher gets to the Swans most of us wouldn't be so Pi**ed. It probably didn't help that a lot of us get our info from here and the generally feel was the trades were more than less likely.

I am thinking we will be able to structure Martin's contract so that Melbourne can't afford him in the PSD and get him for free so that might be a win anyway.

My only real criticism would come if Wines was gettable. As we didn't pursue in favor of targeting Papley who in reality, Essendon were in control of him being available. I'd really like to know what it would have taken to satisfy Port for Wines.

Wines is contracted.

Say PA wanted 2x R1 picks plus 1 x R3 pick.

We end up with Papley situation all over again.

Or we could just pay massive overs (like STK did for Hill) just so we can look good and keep BF posters happy??

It’s always very easy after the event and from the sidelines.

If we'd half-assed an attempt to trade for him after getting him to nominate us, I doubt his manager would be so complimentary. Pretty clear Carlton was open and honest about it, did everything they could, but circumstances conspired to prevent the trade happening.

Yeah I get the impression people think players &/or their managers didn't know what was going on. They would be kept in the loop minute by minute. Everyone knows we tried our best to get both players and neither would be pissed off at the club.

Would be an excellent result and there'd be a fair few BF goobers with egg on their faces after last night's tantrums
Free..Martin for free !

Yep, good to have this out there and on the record. We were still left standing at the altar with nothing but our dicks in our hand, but doesn't sound like we were being overly difficult or demanding in a manner that caused the deal not to occur.

Oh, Papley. I'm going to cry myself to sleep tonight that you're not a Blue. You'd have been marvellous.

Promising sounds on Jack Martin in the PSD. That'll go a long way towards easing the pain. Methinks it's still far from certain - it's even rarer than an uncontracted player not getting to their nominated destination - but would be good if it played out that way. Everyone can save face and we still get our guy.

This. Suns May have been trying to send a strong message that they are not going to be pushovers (but in my opinion came across as dicks), but SOS sent his own message as well I reckon about being nobody’s fool. We have a great new coach and an awesome young list, which will grow in confidence next year. We have Murph, Ed and Cripps in the middle to enable the kids to develop and now have Eddie to help organise the forward line. I see no reason why we won’t get even better next year.
And Doc back.to marshall the defensive end to a new level of success.

Sorry I don't see it as fact right now even if we get Martin .
Lot could happen between now and the time of the PSD .
Melbourne could easily decide to delist somebody on good money and the cap space opens up and decide to take Martin .

Unlikely anyone on that sort of money is going to get delisted just so Melbourne can sign Martin on $1mil for one year and hope he stays after that. Can you imagine, delisting Petracca so they could draft Martin in the PSD, then we take Petracca as a DFA and grab Martin 12 months later when he's out of contract again. Yeah nah, not a chance.

On reflection, although GC's attitude to Martin appeared silly last night, I can now see where they were coming from, even assuming they knew they were going to lose him for nothing in the PSD if no deal was struck...

Assuming we finish higher than them next year, our future second round pick would effectively be a 10 or so pick upgrade on their fourth pick in next years' draft, after their first round pick, mid-first round pick and second round pick

When combined with the fact that they will essentially draft at least 4 first round picks this year, they weren't risking much by passing on our offer, and at the same time make the 'statement' they were after...

Objectively, don't see this as a particularly bad move from them, and if the roles were reversed I wouldn't mind if Carlton had done the same...

Not a champ, bloody got knocked out in the 3rd round by Claus, little prick went on to win the chess championship in 83.

Me thinks your getting a bit emotional about it all.

SOS didn't fail.
Ha, nothing wrong with getting a bit emotional

Have you seen the SOS interview, the Angresta interview? They're over the moon... And the media reports? Albeit with limitations, they're not wearing rose-coloured glasses - champ - and they're all reporting a shithouse trade period for the once mighty CFC

Haha media reports........ :rolleyes:

Unlikely anyone on that sort of money is going to get delisted just so Melbourne can sign Martin on $1mil for one year and hope he stays after that. Can you imagine, delisting Petracca so they could draft Martin in the PSD, then we take Petracca as a DFA and grab Martin 12 months later when he's out of contract again. Yeah nah, not a chance.
Point is stranger things have happened as as we know things change we are also dealing with an administration AFL that just loves shifting the goal posts .

Imo there is no way anybody can be confident enough given the landscape of AFL footy to state anything as fact within player movement even if it does eventuate .

No it's completely within the realms of possibility that before the PSD rolls around the AFL clarifies the rules and "no player may nominate their contract terms" or "all contracts must be for minimum 2 years" or some other reasonable-sounding rule that totally ruins our plan.

I'll celebrate when Martin is a Carlton player, not before.

Another champ.

Used to race me green machine against my neighbour, I was crowned champ in 79.
Sally didn't race me anymore after that year.

Nah haven't seen any interviews, haven't read anything online, getting my news from BF.

What will the once mighty CFC do??

Its OK to be emotional, just try and be reasonable.

Of course they're disappointed, you idjit :p They were hoping to walk away last night with Papley and Martin on the list. Instead we'll take 9 to the draft in some capacity and aim to get Martin through the PSD. That's not ideal, as it's 5 weeks before those players join the club, but it's not the end of the world.

And using media reports to judge our trade period? Haha! I've read reports that gave us a B+, and others saying we had the worst trade period of any club (even Adelaide who lost more than 10% of their best 22 and replaced them with late picks over two drafts). The media can't be trusted to do any kind of in-depth analysis - it's shallow sensationalism to generate clicks.

Relax, we improved our list a little. We may improve it a little more via the PSD. And we'll grab a few shiny new kids who will hopefully show more than Polson, Macreadie and Co in the next 12 months. On top of that, our talented young list will continue to improve under the watchful eye of Andrew Russell and Luke Power, and our gameplan will become much more attacking and daring under Teague, lead predominantly by (still) one of the league's best small forwards. Our forward line chemistry is going to go through the roof.

So we probably won't do a Brisbane and surge to top 2 next year. Oh well. Finals will, and should, still be the expectation, and is a realistic aim.

This is a good place to end the discussion then because I don’t think we’ll ever agree about the ins and outs of trading and not trading during the latest trade period. I prefer yes and no answers. I‘m not that nuanced in the ways of the world.

:think: I didn't know there was any room for disagreement...