List Mgmt. 2020 List Management

• Thread starter Thread starter Jeremias

Has probably done us a favour and saved us an additional 1st round pick.. Liam Ryan is the best small forward in the game though..

Wouldn't be surprised if Papley, at least subconsciously, realised that his form after the first 8 or so rounds would make it very difficult for a trade to happen because he was pushing his price up so high...seriously he was on fire, leading the coleman and there was heaps of media talk about how good he is and how much it would cost for Sydney to let him go etc.

The fact that he's in a bit of a slump and has lost a bit of his usual spark is a good sign to me that he's checked out of Sydney and knows he's going to leave at the end of the year so his mind is elsewhere.

Also some of Sydney's other youngsters have developed well over the last few months like Dawson, McInerney, Florent, Rowbottom etc so holding onto Papley isn't quite as vital as it was this time last year for them if he really wants out a second time.

alfo if you love Papley so much, go support Sydney.
I’ve got a couple of theories....

He was flying as the main man in the syd forward line when they had no KPFs

Don’t underestimate the effects of Clarkson’s comments after he won a free kick.

I’d me more than happy to exchange our first this year for him. Nothing more and no pick swaps either

Pick 10-13 or see you later

They're my biggest concerns too.

We're going to have 3 KPF's in our line up so he'll need to adjust his game if he crosses over to us.

I really want to see him prove the doubters wrong about Clarkson's comments. Until he does this, there will always be question marks on his game.

Wouldn't be surprised if Papley, at least subconsciously, realised that his form after the first 8 or so rounds would make it very difficult for a trade to happen because he was pushing his price up so high...seriously he was on fire, leading the coleman and there was heaps of media talk about how good he is and how much it would cost for Sydney to let him go etc.

The fact that he's in a bit of a slump and has lost a bit of his usual spark is a good sign to me that he's checked out of Sydney and knows he's going to leave at the end of the year so his mind is elsewhere.

Agree, he was becoming Sydney's marquee player and a player they just simply would not let go.. His form slump has changed this..

In saying this his form slump, is most likely to be a result of opposition clubs taking his threat seriously and spending time curbing his influence.. This happens to all good footballers and they work there way through it..

We can expect a similar thing to happen to Sam Walsh over the next few weeks, there is no chance a club is going to let him get off the leash again like he has the past 2 games.. So will be interesting how Sammy handles it.

Williams is another guy who is going to come with a very risky contract if we get him.

True, but the acquisition of Williams doesn't prevent us from topping on on elite juniors from the draft.

Worst case scenario with Williams is you have an elite half back. It's a risk worth taking, which is why he's arguably the hottest property on the FA market.

alfo if you love Papley so much, go support Sydney.

They're my biggest concerns too.

We're going to have 3 KPF's in our line up so he'll need to adjust his game if he crosses over to us.

I really want to see him prove the doubters wrong about Clarkson's comments. Until he does this, there will always be question marks on his game.

Papley has shown he can kick goals from crumbing and loose ball gets...not just mark and set shots. There's no need for concern in that regard.

And what does Clarksons comments have to do with question marks on his game? Even if he does flop a bit it doesn't mean he's not a great player. Cripps and Murphy look for free kicks all the time, lying on their stomach with their hands outstretched looking at the umpire.

IMO Dow will be a gun. His first season with us gave us glimpses of what he could develop into. He has explosive speed where he bursts from a pack, gets the contested ball and isn't afraid to have a shot on goal. These attributes are what we lack, so I am realllllllly hoping we stick with him and show some patience for another 12-24 months as this is when some players really start to put it all together and have the body & mindset required for professional footy.

Dow is still a kid at 20. Yes other players from his draft are playing fantastically and coming along at a faster rate than Dow (ie Cerra) but I truly believe Dow is going to be fantastic for us in years to come.

Again, just my opinion.

Papley has shown he can kick goals from crumbing and loose ball gets...not just mark and set shots. There's no need for concern in that regard.

And what does Clarksons comments have to do with question marks on his game? Even if he does flop a bit it doesn't mean he's not a great player. Cripps and Murphy look for free kicks all the time, lying on their stomach with their hands outstretched looking at the umpire.

Floppers aren't September footballers.

Cripps genuinely gets manhandled at times in the contest. He's a warrior and plays through adversity.

As for Murphy, well he's been a part of arguably the most unsuccessful period of the Carlton Football Club. Absolutely love him as a CFC player, but he never approached the contest the same way Luke Hodge or Joel Selwood did.

Gotta say, I'm definitely on the 'first rounder or GTFO' for Papley. That's his currency and his form of late shows that he's a great player but not worth more than a single first. He'll still immediately improve us and wants to play here by all reports. But not worth losing a Dow or TDK by any stretch of the imagination.

Sidenote: If someone wants Dow, they'll have to give us someone pretty f***** great somehow in return.

Even a straight swap of Dow/Papley wouldn't sit well with me/most right now - even if on exposed form Dow no longer garners a first round price tag.

Floppers aren't September footballers.

Cripps genuinely gets manhandled at times in the contest. He's a warrior and plays through adversity.

As for Murphy, well he's been a part of arguably the most unsuccessful period of the Carlton Football Club. Absolutely love him as a CFC player, but he never approached the contest the same way Luke Hodge or Joel Selwood did.

Floppers aren't September footballers? Tell that to Joel Selwood who is well known for looking for high free kicks, yet is also acknowledge as one of the toughest players in the comp which you yourself just mentioned.

Bottom line is you trying to use the fact Papley flops a bit to justify your argument he's not a 'September footballer' and not worth pursuing doesn't really make any sense and is really showing bias...especially when you defend Cripps' flopping. As Sydney's best forward you don't think Papley gets manhandled and plays through adversity? Cmon. Give me some real logical reasons why Papley apparently isn't very good in your eyes.

I'd take Degoey over papley every day of the wk

On ability no question.

However, he's got some serious legal risks attached to him and reputational risk for us if found guilty. Dont want to pay him the big bucks while he's doing time.

Floppers aren't September footballers? Tell that to Joel Selwood who is well known for looking for high free kicks, yet is also acknowledge as one of the toughest players in the comp which you yourself just mentioned.

Bottom line is you trying to use the fact Papley flops a bit to justify your argument he's not a 'September footballer' and not worth pursuing doesn't really make any sense and is really showing bias...especially when you defend Cripps' flopping. As Sydney's best forward you don't think Papley gets manhandled and plays through adversity? Cmon. Give me some real logical reasons why Papley apparently isn't very good in your eyes.

Selwood isn't a flopper.

Just because he developed a technique when being tackled to force a high tackle doesn't make him a flopper. Just shows how much strength, awareness and technique he had in the contest.

Selwood never shirked an issue and didn't go to ground.

Gotta say, I'm definitely on the 'first rounder or GTFO' for Papley. That's his currency and his form of late shows that he's a great player but not worth more than a single first. He'll still immediately improve us and wants to play here by all reports. But not worth losing a Dow or TDK by any stretch of the imagination.

Sidenote: If someone wants Dow, they'll have to give us someone pretty f***** great somehow in return.

Even a straight swap of Dow/Papley wouldn't sit well with me/most right now - even if on exposed form Dow no longer garners a first round price tag.

That is crazy biased Matty. Putting Dow's value equal to Papley is ludicrous and a serious case of blue tinted glasses. That's like Gold Coast saying they wouldn't trade Will Brodie for Papley in a straight swap. We would rightfully laugh at them.

I would trade Dow for Papley in a heartbeat, but realistically we should get it done with just draft picks.

I have to stress, a first rounder this year isn't worth as much as usual years with all the players already tied to clubs and the fact Coronavirus has meant recruiters haven't been able to watch potential draftees play much this year. A proven player like Papley in an area of need iis so much more valuable than another young kid in a draft year like this. Papley is the kind of player we'd hope the draft pick will become...why not just secure the sure thing instead of a potential Dow/Stocker/LOB who haven't broken into the best 22, 3 years later? We're in a position where we need the mature gun right now to push our way up the ladder.

On ability no question.

However, he's got some serious legal risks attached to him and reputational risk for us if found guilty. Dont want to pay him the big bucks while he's doing time.
Yeah definitely you would want him cleared of all that before committing to him

Selwood isn't a flopper.

Just because he developed a technique when being tackled to force a high tackle doesn't make him a flopper. Just shows how much strength, awareness and technique he had in the contest.

Selwood never shirked an issue and didn't go to ground.

I noticed you didn't respond to the rest of my post regarding Papley which is the real topic of this debate, but happy to leave this convo as you clearly don't rate Papley and won't budge on that no matter what argument i present.

Cripps isn't flopping. He's genuinely being manhandled. This has been highlighted in the media throughout the season.

Sydney's best forward? I can't tell if you're being sarcastic or not.

What ever happened to Lance Franklin and Isaac Heeney?

Do I need to bring up Franklin's stats to prove you wrong here? He's going to go down as one of the greatest, if not the greatest forward of the modern game. Literally no one would share your opinion that Papley is a better forward than Franklin.

Has Tom Papley ever kicked 100 goals in a season? I can tell you that Franklin has. Papley's best is probably less than half of that. It's laughable that you think Papley is better than Franklin.

You know what, maybe I completely missed Papley's milestone of kicking 100 goals in a season. If you can prove such a moment, I'll acknowledge what I've written is a mistake. As it stands, nominating Papley as Sydney's best forward is an absolute joke and an indictment on your assessment of the game.

In case you didn't realise, Franklin is approaching 1,000 career goals!!!!!!! How many has Papley kicked?

He doesn't get manhandled, but he tries to make it as though he does, hence the flopping. There's no coincidence that when Clarkson brought it to the attention of the umpires, the goals have dried up for Papley. 3 goals since round 8 speaks volumes about his game. Papley is a flopper and not what we need.

Cripps isn't flopping. He's genuinely being manhandled. This has been highlighted in the media throughout the season.

Sydney's best forward? I can't tell if you're being sarcastic or not.

What ever happened to Lance Franklin and Isaac Heeney?

Do I need to bring up Franklin's stats to prove you wrong here? He's going to go down as one of the greatest, if not the greatest forward of the modern game. Literally no one would share your opinion that Papley is a better forward than Franklin.

Has Tom Papley ever kicked 100 goals in a season? I can tell you that Franklin has. Papley's best is probably less than half of that. It's laughable that you think Papley is better than Franklin.

You know what, maybe I completely missed Papley's milestone of kicking 100 goals in a season. If you can prove such a moment, I'll acknowledge what I've written is a mistake. As it stands, nominating Papley as Sydney's best forward is an absolute joke and an indictment on your assessment of the game.

In case you didn't realise, Franklin is approaching 1,000 career goals!!!!!!! How many has Papley kicked?

He doesn't get manhandled, but he tries to make it as though he does, hence the flopping. There's no coincidence that when Clarkson brought it to the attention of the umpires, the goals have dried up for Papley. 3 goals since round 8 speaks volumes about his game. Papley is a flopper and not what we need.

Please stop.

That is crazy biased Matty. Putting Dow's value equal to Papley is ludicrous and a serious case of blue tinted glasses. That's like Gold Coast saying they wouldn't trade Will Brodie for Papley in a straight swap. We would rightfully laugh at them.

I would trade Dow for Papley in a heartbeat, but realistically we should get it done with just draft picks.

I have to stress, a first rounder this year isn't worth as much as usual years with all the players already tied to clubs and the fact Coronavirus has meant recruiters haven't been able to watch potential draftees play much this year. A proven player like Papley in an area of need iis so much more valuable than another young kid in a draft year like this. Papley is the kind of player we'd hope the draft pick will become...why not just secure the sure thing instead of a potential Dow/Stocker/LOB who haven't broken into the best 22, 3 years later? We're in a position where we need the mature gun right now to push our way up the ladder.
You misunderstand by comment, mate. I noted that Dow's value is far from a first rounder but I probably (and many others) wouldn't want to lose Papley in a deal.

If Swans said "Dow for Papley" on the face of it, we make out like bandits taking into consideration current market value. On that I agree.

My point was more around losing Dow in lieu of Papley. Do I think any straight swap would be remotely on the table? No way. Is it skewed in our favour heavily? Probably. But I'd still feel uneasy about it. That's my personal opinion.