Chelsea
Mod Notice:-

Continued from here:-

Continued here:

Just like to thank Aphrodite and the other Carlton mods who started the Bluemours NON Discussion Thread and who have kept it free of chat over the past few years.

It helps so much when you just don't have the time to read through this thread, cheers and great job.

Last edited by a moderator:
Just out of curiosity, what would we be giving for Saad? He is not a FA so we have to trade for him. I wouldn’t be super keen on giving up Pick 7 for him.

Pick 7 could be anything, given the lack of games to base it on. I don't think we quibble if we want to rise up the ladder quickly. Clearly we are missing pace and kicking skills going inside 50. A lot of our kicking issues are based on the fact we don't get up the ground fast enough to give our forwards an advantage.

I'd prefer to offer up 7 and our 2021 first for Josh Kelly but if we have promised Williams a midfield spot, we still need backline pace and a small forward. I'm through trying to convert midfielders into half backs.

Williams all but signed sealed and delivered according to AFL website.

Add Saad and we are cooking

Pick 7 could be anything, given the lack of games to base it on. I don't think we quibble if we want to rise up the ladder quickly. Clearly we are missing pace and kicking skills going inside 50. A lot of our kicking issues are based on the fact we don't get up the ground fast enough to give our forwards an advantage.

I'd prefer to offer up 7 and our 2021 first for Josh Kelly but if we have promised Williams a midfield spot, we still need backline pace and a small forward. I'm through trying to convert midfielders into half backs.

If we somehow lure Kelly across (can't see it happening personally) he'd be perfect on a wing.

Yep, I would, people make mistakes. I think that we have an improving culture so why not see if we can get a wonderfully skillful young man and help him become an even better person.

I also did silly things when I was young, give the kid a chance to redeem himself
The guy has had a really ordinary upbringing and it's probably not his fault but no chance I'd let the guy anywhere near our club if I was the decision maker. That type of person can be like cancer in a club.

This isn't 1 mistake it's a pattern of behaviour.. he's obviously incredibly talented but cant keep his head right.

On CPH1831 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Just out of curiosity, what would we be giving for Saad? He is not a FA so we have to trade for him. I wouldn’t be super keen on giving up Pick 7 for him.

Think we would try to split our first rounder for 2 late first round picks.

Hes probably worth a late first round pick.

Can take the other to the draft... or trade it if something decent presents itself

Tom Morris OTC tonight has just said that Williams has probably known for 12 months that he was going. Says he believes the contract is bwt. 850-900 dollars over 5yrs. WOW!!! if true. Is he worth that kind of money?
No bloody chance that's right.

Probably not, no. We do though, which has been reported all year, have extra $$$$ that need spending this year, from paying under the cap. If we don’t spend this money, then it’s lost.
So if that extra money allowed us to offer an extra $250-$400,000 then I’m happy. If he does get to us and it’s known early, it also helps secure other targets.

lastly, if Williams is the only player we bring in, it allows us to take a top 7 pick to the draft and bring in a quality player.
You're making too much sense mate

I first heard about 3pm on SEN, another journo, Sam Edmund report that Williams nominated us. Paraphrasing Edmund, he went on to say that the club told Williams that if he wanted to go to the club that offered him the best money it wasn't Carlton. Edmund said our bid was not the highest. Williams still chose us. So, I don't reckon the 850 - 900k mentioned by Morris sounds right.
When has Morris ever got something right. He would have to be the worst in the business.

Totally agree. It seems we draft or bring in midfielders only to play them in every other position on the ground except for actually in the midfield.

This is where SOS being steadfast in his beliefs is going to come in handy.

Instead of paying $300k+ to half a dozen blokes to marginally improve the team without much thinking we now have sufficient money to bring in 2-3 really stellar footballers to improve us significantly.

The only things I'm disappointed about is the Stocker discussion. It was nothing but praise in his first year. Now people are posting about him having a poor summer, his first off-season. I'd hope that he gets a chance to redeem himself. Not all kids get it immediately. The Sam Walsh's are few and far between - that's part of what makes those talents special. Heck, we have at least one mid-twenties player on the list who gets games who could learn the same lessons.

I was very interested to listen to Jordan Lewis a few days ago talking of not paying anyone over $800,000, spoke in regards to lots of players at the Hawks playing for less than they were worth in order to get success.

Do you see that with the Giants? Cameron has been over a Mill the last 2 years, we can only speculate what Cogs, Whitfield and Kelly are on but i think its safe to say its close to a Mill.

It does and clearly has a flow on affect, i love Greene and id happily pay him $800,000 but you need to be careful.

Those guys you mentioned are taking less then what they could get otherwise. There really isn’t too much you can do about it when you have half a dozen guys getting offered a million plus. You either lose some or you pay up.
If someone goes crazy next year and offers McKay $1.2mil (in today’s money) then what do we do? Back in a forward line with Curnow being the only decent tall or do we pay up? Not up to $1.2mil but do we do what GWS do and pay up to about that $900k mark? It’s so easy to get caught in their position imo and it’s easy to say you shouldn’t pay over X amount but the reality is you could lose Cripps, Weitering, Curnow, McKay, Walsh etc if sides want to offer them stupid overs like we did for Shiel or Cogs for example.

Williams all but signed sealed and delivered according to AFL website.

Add Saad and we are cooking

Getting a quality footballer in Williams to nominate Carlton as his club of preference this early is so exciting. It’s exciting for a young team that has quality players to surround him with and it’s exciting that it could tip the balance in our favour where players like Saad are concerned.

I don’t give a flying ewe what these journos think we are paying for Zed. He picked us and that’s good enough for me.

The moron saying Stocker is a bust is a putz. He went home. I’m sure he’s working through it, and he’s our Simmo replacement. Love the kid and he’s one of ours, back him FFS.

With the draft there’ll be a few opportunities to move up if we want to, or potentially snag another first for our 2nd and next years first. All these Academy players and father sons will have teams clamouring to get out of the Top 10.

Last edited by a moderator:

Do we truly think Cripps Weitering mckay want to leave now when willians and others are waltzing through the door. Their loyalty is about to be rewarded very handsomely with club accolades, premierships and sone positivity finally. Everyone is going to want to be apart of this.

The media are running out of relevant clubs to harass and bring down. When Carlton inevitably returns to the top 4 in 2021 and beyond they’ll have nothing to talk about but irrelevant clubs like Hawthorn Melbourne and North again. No one is going to buy those papers. Is Carlton suppprters will be soaking up as much of this positive press as we can and if they ignore us, that’s okay, because we have them ‘The Ian Prendercast’, ‘Blues footy podcast’ and ‘blue abroad’. Just watch the others start popping up.

we’re not paying Williams 900k.

5 x 750 for Williams without giving up any draft capital is a great deal.

perfect age bracket, perfect skill set for us. Good start by Austin and co. Probably most players have a good idea what their preferred options are for next year, but one benefit of moving early is that it does send a signal too others of the value proposition we represent.