Autopsy Round 9 = Sydney 72-42 Collingwood

My averages are taking a smashing this year. Up until now I’ve never been to game against the Swans and see us lose. Ditto for the Bombers game early this year.
Only other team I can recall not seeing a loss against is the Crows so I’m going to avoid that one this year.

He’s been pretty good the last couple of weeks, but sure, he’s not a certainty.
To my untrained eye, he has looked OK, but he has dropped a few marks, and to be fair, I don't really know what his opponent was up to during the game. He should certainly remain in the side as he is no worse than a lot of other players who are gifted games week after week. He is a bit like Sier - we need him to become a good, regular player if we are to fill one of the gaping holes in our list.

My averages are taking a smashing this year. Up until now I’ve never been to game against the Swans and see us lose. Ditto for the Bombers game early this year.
Only other team I can recall not seeing a loss against is the Crows so I’m going to avoid that one this year.
Sounds like you need to go to the football much less often.

19 was okay in the main too.

More often than not in 2019 we would be bog ordinary for 2-3 quarters and then win the game in a 10 minute period.

It was the beginning of the downhill slide.

We played so far above ourselves in 2018 and really had to win that flag. We had the ****ing Eagles on toast.

Good old Mihocek looked like he had checked out today. People want rid of Grundy, is it possible he has actually checked out mentally too. Maybe he would gladly be traded provided he can get the same bucks.

Only listened to the first half on the radio. Checkers copped a big whack to the pill bags? Maybe he was cooked after that.

More often than not in 2019 we would be bog ordinary for 2-3 quarters and then win the game in a 10 minute period.

It was the beginning of the downhill slide.

We played so far above ourselves in 2018 and really had to win that flag. We had the ******* Eagles on toast.
Oh FFS, life is bad enough at the moment with out having to be reminded of that cluster F,.

No one is paying 2 firsts for him mate, firstly he is out of form, secondly he's a ruckman who doesn't take contested marks, he's pretty much a Josh Fraser type ATM who wins worthless hitouts, the beast he was a few years ago isn't there now.

If the Crows offered to pick up his contract i'd send him off for free.

Mason Cox would do a better job ATM, at least he can take a few marks.
Imo he will still bet two firsts. Where they sit is a different question

I don’t mind if we have to rebuild but if you rebuild something then it has to change for it to be better otherwise it’s window dressing. Nothing I saw today looks like changing, the same old tired game plan with the mediocre group of players. (We know the ones I mean) The problem obviously is the lack of depth, the VFL game wasn’t much better than the AFL. No exciting forwards pushing to get a game, nothing but a bunch of plodders.

We need a Totally New Footy Department

I'm infatuated with Caleb Poulter. It's difficult to know what to make of my feelings. I really love his hair.

I also love that he's a natural competitor, and today I saw some good bursts of speed from him as well.

There are some other positives, but they aren't worth writing home about. We're in for sustained pain.

The negatives aren't worth dwelling on too much, either. We have a shallow pool of players, not at all studded with stars, and it is inevitable that they will try (which they do) and mostly fail.

These are the hard times.

Poulter is the 1 Few Players you come to watch at Collingwood at the Moment

I was watching the Sunday footy show this morning and they showed some of our shocking skill errors in the last quarter,like Noble kicking the ball straight into the umpire,and Sidebottom missing a simple handball target from only about ten metres away.It’s amazing how Sidebottom seems to escape scrutiny from the media.His skills this year,by hand by by foot,have been atrocious for such an experienced player.

Sidebottom looks about Finished.

I put him up Forward at the Moment

The commentators probably still think he is one of the best disposers of a football by hand and feet in the competition. :rolleyes:

I have never seen a more unwatchable Collingwood team. They make my eyes hurt and bowels erupt.

I can’t bring myself to go to the footy and watch from fear I will hang myself from the top tier of the stand in despair.

There’s just no enjoyment with them at all.

I’m not going to the footy until the current coaching group is replaced.
Yeah it's less about wins and losses, and more the fact we are unwatchable and there is so little to build hope around in the stubborn way the club goes about it

his kicking skills have been a myth for several years.

I reckon effort was all right. It's the lack of talent I'm worried about.

How good are these kids? I honestly can't tell.

The only one who has impressed me is Keane.
Surely you excluding McCreery and Poulter is an oversight? Both have been great.

It’s time the game plan changed.
Our game plan stuff seems to come up every few posts on every thread. A number of teams seems to have a more aggressive plan that us without doubt, we seem to pin our game on a good defence, still.
Do you think the game plan changed at qtr time given that the first quarter was our best for the year?
We shifted into a rubbish game plan after qtr time, of course we didn't.

To my eye, the Swans lifted intensity and pressure after Q1, causing a catastrophic fall away in our skills and execution. Way too many guys make the same errors time and again. No game plan will hold up when wrong options and missed targets occur more often than not.
As the game was slipping ( or maybe was gone ) i thought we tried to get JDG and Pendles more into the mid area but given they looked our most dangerous fwds, bar McCreery, was no surprise scoring didn't improve.

How do we only kick one goal in three quarters?
Good opposition, a poor list, lots of injuries, incompetent coaching, the boys not playing for Bux, and players more interested in each other's bodies than the words of their coach.