Autopsy Geelong smashed by Demons in PF and its gonna be a long summer

Had a bit of time to cool down and look at things a bit more objectively..

I've usually been pretty positive after the last few years. Sure finals failure is disappointing, but it happens. That's footy, and it's only footy, nothing more.

However, this year does feel different and I've been on the record saying this. This really did feel like the end, and in all honesty, it probably should be.

The coach? Who knows. I neither love nor despise Scott. I respect what he's been able to do but agknowledge there are damning flaws in his record.

Nevertheless, if we are to rebuild (which I think we all agree is non-negotiable now) I don't think he should be the man to lead it, nor his assistants. The club needs a breath of fresh air. Hocking can come in and so can a new coach, a new era is needed.

Build around Stephens, Stevens, Parfitt, Miers, Sav, SDK, Henry, Close, Holmes, Kreuger and Neale with support from Jezza, Stewart, Duncan and Guthrie while hitting the draft hard for a minimum of 3 years.

I know it's not exactly a list that fills you with excitement, but it's the reality of where we're at right now. We topped up and sacrificed our future and it didn't work, it happens. It's time to forget and move on now.

I don't blame the club. I understand why they took the approach they did, but it's over now, we just simply don't have the petrol anymore.

Is it all the Paddy problem of toppling up to fit around him?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

We have an army of armchair critics that love to come out after the battle is lost to bayonet the wounded.
Angered by a devastating loss, they strike out at those who caused them pain by pointing fingers and blame.
Instead of shedding light their emotional overaction is to burn the entire football club to the ground.
We all know what just happened but conveniently. some forget why.
After a getting close last year and with aging superstars, the club decided to top up, and have one last go.
It was a huge risk, one that most members were prepared to take.
We sure enjoyed the ride... and we needed a lot of luck.... injuries to key players took that dream away.
I thank the players, they tried their best... I will remember that great times... and just forget the rest.

Sorry for the intrusion guys and commiserations. Read through this whole thread and frankly I'm amazed at the lack of angst on one point. Your problems begin in the ruck.

At the start of the year I told a mate of mine, who's a long time Cat's member, that you couldn't win a flag with your current ruck stocks. Stanley isn't the answer.

Given how well and strongly you trade it seems amazing to me that you haven't tried to rectify it while your stars were in their prime. It's the one piece of the jigsaw that's been missing at the Cattery for a long while.

You've badly needed another Brad Ottens.

The lack of angst is only because we have given up being angsty about it, if you look at our history of post-Ottens ruck acquisitions and choices it makes for some really comical reading.

Since 2007, they've finished bottom 4 seven times and only made the finals twice. Would have been swimming in top 10 draft picks over the last decade and a half.

My first grand final, 1988 saw the Dees poleaxed by Hawthorn to the tune of 93 points. Again I was there in 2000, when the Bombers smashed them by 60 points. Both times, and at many Melbourne games since, I've been astounded at the lack of football knowledge shown by so many of their supporters. It's simply infuriating, when they are screaming and spitting against frees the whole football world knows are there. So pig ignorant and entitled.
Dumb fanatics, not fans of football. Given top draft picks for their incompetence and years in the wilderness , a fate many here want for us.
So I must be the only neutral person who will barrack against them.

Is it all the Paddy problem of toppling up to fit around him?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Well yes could be..Since paddy arrived in 2016 we are 1-4 in QF's and 1-4 in PF's . Grand total of 2-8. Obviously don't count semis as we only play them because we lose the QF's.

We have an army of armchair critics that love to come out after the battle is lost to bayonet the wounded.
Angered by a devastating loss, they strike out at those who caused them pain by pointing fingers and blame.
Instead of shedding light their emotional overaction is to burn the entire football club to the ground.
We all know what just happened but conveniently. some forget why.
After a getting close last year and with aging superstars, the club decided to top up, and have one last go.
It was a huge risk, one that most members were prepared to take.
We sure enjoyed the ride... and we needed a lot of luck.... injuries to key players took that dream away.
I thank the players, they tried their best... I will remember that great times... and just forget the rest.

just to be clear… it wasn’t a devastating loss.. it was massacre. That should be unacceptable to you and all supporters/members regardless of the ‘topping up’ strategy. If it isn’t I’d suggest you need to reassess what you deem acceptable.

further, I’m not sure the premise that ‘most members were prepared to take the risk’ is correct. You may be right, but I’d like to see the data that demonstrates how you’ve arrived at that conclusion.

My first grand final, 1988 saw the Dees poleaxed by Hawthorn to the tune of 93 points. Again I was there in 2000, when the Bombers smashed them by 60 points. Both times, and at many Melbourne games since, I've been astounded at the lack of football knowledge shown by so many of their supporters. It's simply infuriating, when they are screaming and spitting against frees the whole football world knows are there. So pig ignorant and entitled.
Dumb fanatics, not fans of football. Given top draft picks for their incompetence and years in the wilderness , a fate many here want for us.
So I must be the only neutral person who will barrack against them.
88 they ran into the machine of Hawthorn and in 2000 they ran into best in a season team dons. This time it's theirs! But i'll be supporting Kenny if he makes it.

Pyke too fragile for the Carlton meat grinder.
Chris Scott should be the one they're targeting.

Why would he take on that cesspit when he's $itting pretty here.
Nice home, wife has business-no questions asked or answered.
Contracted and whoever thought he'd walk into the presser and resign,
lend me one of your loaded K Mart plates.

Sorry for the intrusion guys and commiserations. Read through this whole thread and frankly I'm amazed at the lack of angst on one point. Your problems begin in the ruck.

At the start of the year I told a mate of mine, who's a long time Cat's member, that you couldn't win a flag with your current ruck stocks. Stanley isn't the answer.

Given how well and strongly you trade it seems amazing to me that you haven't tried to rectify it while your stars were in their prime. It's the one piece of the jigsaw that's been missing at the Cattery for a long while.

You've badly needed another Brad Ottens.

We had another guy in the VFL named Darcy Fort.
Beanpole about 6ft'9 in the old.
If you actually look at his performances https://vfl.aflmstats.com/team/gee/players, you can see he did better than Rhys.

Fort is not going to amount to anything. Probably delisted end of the year but while this coach remains at the helm, I see very little change as he believes Rhys Stanley is the number one ruck and it will remain so until he is absolutely cooked beyond a shadow of a doubt.

I felt nothing after last weeks Semi win, because I think I knew deep down this was going to happen tonight, maybe not by 80+ points, but knew that we weren't playing past tonight.

Managed to get up and about today and look forward to the game, but 5 minutes in you could see that we couldn't win it.

This feels different to past years, since we last missed the finals in 2015 we always seem to have "If Only" Syndrome.

2016 If only we didn't play bad in the first quarter against the Swans
2017 If only we didn't have to play our home final against the Tigers at the G
2018 If only we didn't start so bad against Melbourne
2019 If only Richmond didn't have Dusty
2020 If only Richmond really didn't have Dusty
2021 If only Stewart didn't get injured.

Its time to face the facts, this side cant deliver a flag, If Melbourne doesn't stop us next year, will it be we meet Port in a Prelim, will Brisbane win some games in September, will the Bulldogs go on with it, there are too many teams that have to fall over for us to be a genuine shot.

Hard calls need to be made:
Henry, Parfitt, Holmes, Miers, Ratugolea, Close, Narkle, Simpson, Constable, Clark, Evans, Brownless & De Koning and have to be retained and all get regular runs in the 22 next year to see what they can do.

No middle road for Zach Guthrie in 2022, in our best 22 or traded out.

Any player over 30 that is uncontracted needs to be wished well and moved on.

Scott either needs to be signed on for 5 years to complete a rebuild or asked to step aside now for a new direction to be taken.

We need to build our core, players 25 to 28 need to become the heart of the side, Selwood is an all time great, but I think one of the biggest statements tonight was Selwood was expected to play and shut down Oliver while Nathan Jones sat in the stands and can't get a game for Melbourne.

Since Dangerfield arrived
2016 Lost Prelim
2017 Lost Prelim
2018 Lost Elim
2019 Lost Prelim
2020 Lost GF
2021 Lost Prlim

I think there is enough Data now to say this doesn't work, time for a refresh, and maybe a year or two of hurt.

This is not what Dangerfield, Selwood and Hawkins want to hear, but we now need to focus on Cameron's year 4 and 5 at Geelong being our next Premiership Tilt.

The Harshest of realities is-
A) teams with half the best 22 over 30 years of age rarely win premierships.
B) Our number one footballer this year Tom Stewart has only one year left as a footballer playing for Geelong in his 20's

This is harsh I know, but I am excited after tonight's game because what has happened means, the club, board, coaching staff and players can no longer hide from the facts.

ITS TIME TO STOP TRYING TO STEAL ONE MORE FLAG, AND FOCUS ON PREPARING TO WIN OUR NEXT ONE!!!!!

I think Harvard boy Scott is too smart for his own good. He bristles when challenged (rare that he is challenged by journos) and i think it's the same with the coaching group. They're yes men and Scott is smarter, so things remain the same. Hence our finals defeats are of a similar nature. Jordan Lewis said geelong hasn't adapted to the chaotic nature of recent finals and things need to change.
Scott just tries to intellectualize too much... very vain man. It's enough already!

That is an astute observation. I think that you might be right. Though I’m not convinced that he is all that smart, but definitely a bit more academic/intellectual than most footy types.

This was so tough to watch as a fan but I believe such a thrashing was necessary for change.

The coaching staff can't keep ignoring the glaring list issues this team has! Surely this loss triggers the change we need. The next 5 years for this club are going to be very tough, a full rebuild is needed. The core group of young players will definitely struggle by themselves without a lot of these list cloggers as most are not at AFL standard but this needs to happen as nothing can be salvaged.

Starting with Henderson. His reaction after being Harmes' step ladder shows his body definitely can't keep up. Has been on the list for one year too long. Expect his retirement announcement in the coming weeks.

Kolodashnij and Blicavs are in the same boat, can't provide a contest, can't lay a tackle, can't chase and anyone can sidestep them as if they were witches' hats. They have been passengers for a very long time and have never been reliable especially Blicavs who is poor in whatever position he plays. I get a mild stroke every time I witness him try to outmaneuver his opponent in D50. Too bad there isn't a position on the field as a butcher. Despite him being a leader and not having a suitable replacement yet, it's about time they got the boot for Kreuger and SDK to get a run.

According to a close source of mine, Dahlhaus is almost a certainty to be paid out on his contract. I don't expect Gary Rohan to play another game for Geelong either. He is way too much of a liability and having him here is not worth the 2 good games he has per year. Not to mention the negative impact has had on the club's culture and image.

I knew instantly from the moment the Higgins deal was done that it was a very bad move. Giving up pick 30 and a 2-year contract for a 33 year old medi-sub has to be one of the most idiotic trades of all time hopefully they pay him out too.

The ruck situation is probably going to get worse but Stanley seems able to hold his own weight for now. Ratagolea just seems so unco whenever he tries going for a hit-out or even in a marking contest you can definitely tell he doesn't have those pure footy instincts. Not to mention he's probably the worst set shot kick in the competition. I reckon he could play an important part in a trade.

Miers is another player we could definitely afford to let go. I assumed that it would be a battle between Close and him for a spot in the team and that he would be banished to the seconds but the selectors keep giving him games and not holding him accountable for his very poor ball use. I don't think we can have both Miers and Close in the same team and I know who I'd choose.

Maybe Wells can actually do something with the poor draft hand we have and find us another Selwood otherwise we need to try snag an A grader like Walsh or Parish however unlikely that may be. Oliver Henry will probably request a trade to Geelong at the end of next year too. Cooper Stevens should finally get some game time next year and I'm very optimistic that Neale puts on some weight and becomes a viable ruck option.
Overall very few positives in this season apart from Close and Henry, who both had breakout years. Close is very intelligent, composed, and is finally a small forward that can provide a contest in the air! Jack Henry is super promising. He has proven himself as our second-best defender and may even take the mantle as the best defender in the comp in the future

Our older players aren't cooked so much, we simply have too many of them.
Joel worked really hard tonight as did patty.
Smith ran hard all night
Tuohy was played everywhere which unsettled him
Higgins had more ball than half of the team in one quarter
Hawk and Cameron were not delivered to
Henderson, Menegola, Guthrie and Duncan didn't deliver tonight but overall the oldies go less damaged than the younger.
Our second tier players aren't good enough
Kolo doesn't attack the ball so stand there looking like he is having a panic attack
Zach Guthrie although he was one of our better players tonight gave the ball away and ran past it giving goals up on a few occasions
Atkins is a scrapper only. Love his guts but gets beaten often
Holmes will be good for us in time but really not ready yet for tonight's step
Rohan is brilliant against teams who don't pressure but falls apart when the pressure is on
Ratagolea is a gutsy player and has some tricks but cannot read the play which compromises us in hard games
Henry did not have the support of Stewart and O'Connor which makes him take on bigger roles than he should have to
In summary we need more depth players in various positions, we need to have less 30+ players in the team at the same time in order to bring some spark and passion back, we need to give shorter contracts and not finalise them until post finals in some cases
We need to be decisive with who to place on the list and get an age balance so when, Lillie, Marsh and the chappells leave simultaneously we can still pass the baton
For me, I'd be asking Dahlhaus, Rohan and Menegola whether they think their time has come or to look elsewhere. I'd let Higgins play the final year of his contract
We need to go to the draft with our picks and aim to get a real ruckman.
I personally think Stanley should be the forward ruck next year instead of Esava
Try to get a Naismith from Sydney type to actually hit packs hard and tap to our mids
I also think trying to get some talented indigenous kids into our system would be a positive step. We've lost Cocky and it appears narkle, so we need another Ronnie Burns type kid to lift our squad
If this were to happen my side for next year would be
O'Connor Blicavs Bews
Stewart Henderson Henry
Smith Guthrie Clark
Cameron Stanley Duncan
Dangerfield Hawkins Miers
Naismith Selwood Higgins
Parfitt, Close, Evans Tuohy
Em Sdk Holmes, Stephens, Stevens

I hope you guys don't mind the intrusion. I come in peace with my thoughts.

That was a brutal result. It certainly seems from an outsiders perspective as the last hurrah for this group , (although this has been said for years now). Geelong have done well to contest as long as they have, but untimely there have been better, younger teams with a more even spread of talent stopping them. This Melbourne team remind me of the Tigers in 2017 (or the Cats of '07 if that floats your boat). The point is that the have a lot of talent and in the right parts of the ground at the right demographic. Time will tell what they do and can achieve.

It felt like the end of an era for Geelong. The club has been so stubborn the last decade refusing to go down, and to their credit has remained at the top end of the ladder and has competed for finals and Grand Finals. Tonights loss felt different. It was a bad loss anyway you spin it.

I could be completely wrong here, but to me this has a bit of a St Kilda Ross Lyon feel to it. When he departed the Saints for a better contract at Freo after almost getting the spoils with a talented, yet aging Saints team. I say this without any rumour or gossip, merely a gut vibe. Scott comes across as someone who rates his ability as coach very highly and he might just be tempted to take a job elsewhere. Carlton being an obvious choice.

What do Cat fans think of this? It seems like some fans would be fairly happy to see him gone.

That was a brutal result. It certainly seems from an outsiders perspective as the last hurrah for this group , (although this has been said for years now). Geelong have done well to contest as long as they have, but untimely there have been better, younger teams with a more even spread of talent stopping them. This Melbourne team remind me of the Tigers in 2017 (or the Cats of '07 if that floats your boat). The point is that the have a lot of talent and in the right parts of the ground at the right demographic. Time will tell what they do and can achieve.

It felt like the end of an era for Geelong. The club has been so stubborn the last decade refusing to go down, and to their credit has remained at the top end of the ladder and has competed for finals and Grand Finals. Tonights loss felt different. It was a bad loss anyway you spin it.

I could be completely wrong here, but to me this has a bit of a St Kilda Ross Lyon feel to it. When he departed the Saints for a better contract at Freo after almost getting the spoils with a talented, yet aging Saints team. I say this without any rumour or gossip, merely a gut vibe. Scott comes across as someone who rates his ability as coach very highly and he might just be tempted to take a job elsewhere. Carlton being an obvious choice.

What do Cat fans think of this? It seems like some fans would be fairly happy to see him gone.

Hypothetical question here.
What if last year's covid pandemic did not impact the season.
No shortened quarters and no shortened fixture.

Do you think Geelong would have still made it to the grand final?

A lot of fans hate Scotty but me personally, idrgaf. I feel like the list is a bigger issue. You can't coach old players into not being slow or not letting the oppostion make a witches hat out of you.

So many hated on me after I thought Esava and Z Guthrie were liabilities last week after watching the game live- but they were again this week - so much for Esava gives us structure :( Rohan i have been off since his recruitment (can't be bothered finding the post). We needed Simpson or Narkle in this week not that it would have made a difference with the performance we dished up. I hope we don't lose Clark, Constable and Narkle this year as they are part of the way forward not Dal, Higgins, Rohan etc :(

What team would you have picked tonight?

And don't give me wishy-washy "I certainly wouldn't have picked [blank]" without naming an alternative option. Actually post the 22 players you would have picked.

Something along these lines:

B: Bews - Henderson - Tuohy
HB: Henry - Kolodjashnij - Clark
C: Smith - Guthrie - Duncan
HF: Menegola - Hawkins - Narkle
F: Miers - Cameron - Close
R: Stanley - Selwood - Dangerfield
I/C: Simpson - Ratugolea - Holmes - Atkins

Far from perfect, and I doubt they would have matched Melbourne in any case. But that's the legacy of nearly a decade of questionable recruiting decisions. It's not going to be solved overnight now.

So many hated on me after I thought Esava and Z Guthrie were liabilities last week after watching the game live- but they were again this week - so much for Esava gives us structure :( Rohan i have been off since his recruitment (can't be bothered finding the post). We needed Simpson or Narkle in this week not that it would have made a difference with the performance we dished up. I hope we don't lose Clark, Constable and Narkle this year as they are part of the way forward not Dal, Higgins, Rohan etc :(
Clark still has one year left on his contract so hopefully we make him see it through and give him some game time. If we can develop Holmes and Clark they won't be calling us slow anymore.

I have always been in Chris Scott's corner. Maybe it's due to being so far removed from it all, giving up on the compromised joke that are the finals, and just wanting to tune in for a win. 70% of the time I tune in we win so I have been pretty content, but after 10 years I'm ready for a new tune.

Selwood says he’s so proud of our boys and we have a group that fights tooth and nail till the end. I could spew.
He looked ancient out there against Oliver and Petracca... Viney was all over him too. Love Joel, but he is limited against the good midfielders now, and he can't play another position outside the midfield. I guess he is good to mentor the youngsters, but not sure his the mentoring type - he is more lead on the ground stuff I reckon, and like most players he would want to keep their spot on the team no matter what. He will be a player the club will have to force his retirement, because he would keep going out there even if he was on one leg! :)

Its funny, we could've landed Viney in the off-season.

I have always been in Chris Scott's corner. Maybe it's due to being so far removed from it all, giving up on the compromised joke that are the finals, and just wanting to tune in for a win. 70% of the time I tune in we win so I have been pretty content, but after 10 years I'm ready for a new tune.
I've been the same with Chris Scott, up until tonight. He really lacks a Plan B, and he doesn't look like a player development/mentoring type. He is good with a star studded team to keep them going during the year, but sorta lacks a few things come Finals.

I would be happy if they moved him on, and we focus on rebuild and development, even if its a 3-5 year journey/plan.

Dees have nailed there high picks after the Cale Morton's super drafts.

Oliver.
Trac.
Jackson looks to be a player in time.

Brought in.
Lever.
May.
Langdon.

Even more than that. Salem was Pick 3. Brayshaw was Pick 3. Spargo, Pickett, Bowey, all solid first rounders. They've drafted/recruited very well, and will only get stronger from here as players look to join the successful crew - much like Geelong/Hawthorn/Richmond of years gone by.

Could only dream of having a list like that right now