Rumour GFC 2021 Player Trading, Drafting FA, Rumours and Wish lists

If Cooper Stephens (i'm a little bit doubtful) turns into a gun, and we know Holmes' upside, add that to Parfitt and it could be a good midfield setup. Its a big if.
But if we can add a gun midfielder this draft, and perhaps a really good key position, I'd be pretty happy.
Don’t forget Simpson and MOC

View attachment 1249346

Conclusions you could draw from this:

1. GWS had ridiculous access to draft value (DVI) due to concessions upon entering the comp but has lost over half of it over the decade (and players leaving which “tops up” their DVI)

2. Gold Coast has also had ridiculous access to draft value (DVI) but just by virtue of being sh*t (and players leaving which “tops up” their DVI)

3. Geelong has had access to the worst draft value (DVI) of all 18 clubs 2011-2020. The system is setup for Geelong to be no good by the year 2021, not a top 4 side.

4. Geelong has used just under the median amount of DVI it was entitled to over the period (83% vs 87%). So it was slightly more inclined to trade value than other clubs. Port was aligned with Geelong on this measure while Hawthorn, Richmond, St Kilda and West Coast were “worse”.

5. Geelong has taken more national draft selections than average. This is probably a deliberate strategy to get more looks at more lower value draftees.

6. Geelong fares close to worse in terms of (1) proportion of draftees still on list, only Sydney fares worse (2) proportion of DVI still on list, only GWS fares worse

7. Geelong doesn’t get as many games out of each draftee but gets nearly the best value (games) per DVI point. This may suggest it is better at spotting talent or is forced to play more lower quality draftees than average. Being more inclined to trade in players would work against this measure.

8. Hawthorn’s list is in a world of pain.

9. I have too much time on my hands in lockdown

cc. Lana
It also shows that, in contrast to GWS, Melbourne has made insanely good use of their draft picks.

I know there is a lot of focus on line coaches atm but for me the most important post at the Cats for the next five years will be in Development. Good development equals optimal use of draft capital equals retention equals team stability. And it's as much about culture as it is about skills.

But is also a bit about numbers. Have thought for a while we need a draft class of eight to ten this year ... fingers still crossed that we get it.

My only reservation with Talia would be his body, hes a miles better player than Henderson and has 3 years on his side, really a no brainer on face value.

Gaping hole this year was against the Max King/Harry McKay type of forwards and Talia is perfect for those matchups.
Waste of time getting talia. What is the point? He’s not going to be in our next premiership contending team, and they might only get a couple of years out of him if he can even get on the park. Complete waste of a list spot. We have plenty of coverage in defence, we don’t need him at all.

Thankfully it looks like he is staying in sa, so it’s not even worth worrying about. No more old, injured duds.

No offence but that is garbage. Higgins was fumbly, unbelievably slow, didn’t want to make body contact (that did improve a bit right at the end) and his skills dropped off a cliff.

Game plan had absolutely nothing to do with that.
I agree with some of your points but we all would see the games and players different.
His lack of body contact was obvious but I didn’t think he lost any pace and only fumbled in a few games from memory.
I was terribly disappointed with his foot skills

De Koning only works in a Melbourne sort of setup where youve got May and Lever to chop him out (like they did with Petty virtually all season) Expecting him to be the main man essentially just isn't going to work and is setting a kid up to fail.
But he wouldn’t be the main defender, he’d be there with Blicavs, Henry, Stewart and probably Kolo that’s plenty of height, experience, players that can chop out his opponent and Kolo.

Kolo will be the back up to Henry Blitz Stewart Tuohy dekoning Bews but if we lose two defenders we could have our depth seriously tested

Thoughts…
If Dal goes and clark and Krueger and brownless do as well I wouldn’t mind him on the list as an inside mid

Despite being contracted until 2023, it’s hard to see Rhys Mathieson fitting into Brisbane Lions' best 22 next year.

Mathieson has played just nine, one and eleven games in the past three seasons and a fresh start could do him the world of good if a club is looking to trade in some midfield depth.

Mathieson has struggled to crack into the Lions midfield with the likes of Lachie Neale, Dayne Zorko, Jarryd Lyons, Hugh McCluggage and Mitch Robinson keeping him out.

There’s no doubt the 24-year-old has potential, but he might have more luck finding an inside midfield role at somewhere like Fremantle or Essendon.

Hugh Fitzpatrick

Thoughts…
If Dal goes and clark and Krueger and brownless do as well I wouldn’t mind him on the list as an inside mid

Despite being contracted until 2023, it’s hard to see Rhys Mathieson fitting into Brisbane Lions' best 22 next year.

Mathieson has played just nine, one and eleven games in the past three seasons and a fresh start could do him the world of good if a club is looking to trade in some midfield depth.

Mathieson has struggled to crack into the Lions midfield with the likes of Lachie Neale, Dayne Zorko, Jarryd Lyons, Hugh McCluggage and Mitch Robinson keeping him out.

There’s no doubt the 24-year-old has potential, but he might have more luck finding an inside midfield role at somewhere like Fremantle or Essendon.

Hugh Fitzpatrick

Pass for me. Mathieson’s ordinary I reckon. And a bit of a flog.

Thoughts…

Hugh Fitzpatrick

Do we really need another mid who can't kick? Would be a pass from me.

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2021/09...ould-do-with-a-fresh-start-elsewhere-in-2022/

Many flogs with medals around their neck but you may be right - the article is interesting though… if Ben Long didn’t cost much I would be keen on him as well

Thoughts…

Hugh Fitzpatrick

oh hell no Mathieson is just a lucky fringe player rather keep chook if that was the option

If our key back are blitz and SDK - I actually think Geelong has great support for a young key back in terms of Stewart and Henry being third man spoilers? - that’s as good as support for a young key back surely….

If Blicavs gets injured then we're absolutely cooked.

Wed be one tall going down early off being a bottom 4 candidate, I just dont see Hendo and Kreuger going out without reinforcements coming in, not in a side that added 2 30+ year olds and sold the farm for Jeremy Cameron 12 months ago.

I understand we have holes in the backline and need another tall key back I see most if not all want SDK back there, I liked his one game as a ruck forward and would be happy to see him develop in that role but what would you do with Sav he doesn't appear versatile enough to move about at this stage and 11 goals from 15 games is not setting the world on fire as the 2nd or 3rd tall and when he brings the ball to ground we haven't had the smalls to take advantage.Bad timing to be losing Freddy his train may have just pulled into the station.

Thoughts…

Hugh Fitzpatrick

His disposal is horrendous

I understand we have holes in the backline and need another tall key back I see most if not all want SDK back there, I liked his one game as a ruck forward and would be happy to see him develop in that role but what would you do with Sav he doesn't appear versatile enough to move about at this stage and 11 goals from 15 games is not setting the world on fire as the 2nd or 3rd tall and when he brings the ball to ground we haven't had the smalls to take advantage.Bad timing to be losing Freddy his train may have just pulled into the station.
Sav would be a slower, worse version of Blicavs in defence IMO

As things stand, Kreuger has an enormous opportunity to play stacks of games at Geelong in the coming years if he is prepared to hang around. If he instead decides that he is so committed to playing forward that he walks to the Pies, that is entirely on his head.