Player Watch Jordan De Goey

• Thread starter Thread starter Anzacday

I might have missed it, but I haven't seen any club statements about the media hounding and the outrageously negative cyber comments and implications towards Jordy, IQ and Ginnivan. The policy seems to pretty clearly be, let it go.

What do you think either the club or the players would gain by coming out with a “that’s not fair” media release/statement?

Why do you presume that their failure to do so means they’re taking no action?

JDG does what he does in Bali, which leads to a shit storm of negative media coverage given his ‘history’ (not all the coverage is justified but some of it is), which leads to the club scrambling to deal with it given the ‘last chance’ he was on after NYC, which leads to the club being accused of coming down too hard/not hard enough, which leads to criticism from all quarters, which leads us to where we are now.

But it started with JDG last weekend, and the thousands of words spent on BF in the last week trying to unpick it from every angle, to disassemble it, to break it down into seconds and millimetres - all to absolve him of absolutely everything.

At some point in his very public and immature life he has to start making better decisions about how he conducts himself. He is a high profile footy player on a very good salary - and the flip side of that is how he is perceived. And hounded. Unfair but true. Can’t he keep his partying private and with trusted friends, like a lot of other footballers manage to do?

The club doesn’t need it. None of us need it. But it started with Jordy.

If we lose DeGoey, it won’t be because of this …

… it’ll be because (just OTTOMH) of getting in a bar fight and breaking his hand, trashing a rental property, riding a motorbike on the road whilst unlicensed and without a helmet, driving whilst using a phone, various speeding offences, getting embroiled in an assault case where the prosecution witness didn’t testify and prosecution paid defense costs, getting in a bar fight in New York …

… and I have no idea whether the reason he has one of the most inexperienced managers in the AFL is because no experienced manager will touch him, or because he has poor judgement, but either way it’s not a good look …

… and then after he was warned that he was on his last chance and if he so much as got busted sneezing the wrong way or J-walking across the Bourke St Mall he’ll be cut …

… he then flies off to Bali, and, whatever your opinion of what he did, you have to admit that it was worse than J-Walking across the Bourke St Mall.

So if he was on his last chance why wasn’t he “cut”? Keep up the creative writing.

JDG does what he does in Bali, which leads to a s**t storm of negative media coverage given his ‘history’ (not all the coverage is justified but some of it is), which leads to the club scrambling to deal with it given the ‘last chance’ he was on after NYC, which leads to the club being accused of coming down too hard/not hard enough, which leads to criticism from all quarters, which leads us to where we are now.

But it started with JDG last weekend, and the thousands of words spent on BF in the last week trying to unpick it from every angle, to disassemble it, to break it down into seconds and millimetres - all to absolve him of absolutely everything.

At some point in his very public and immature life he has to start making better decisions about how he conducts himself. He is a high profile footy player on a very good salary - and the flip side of that is how he is perceived. And hounded. Unfair but true. Can’t he keep his partying private and with trusted friends, like a lot of other footballers manage to do?

The club doesn’t need it. None of us need it. But it started with Jordy.

Agree with all of this; I'm no JDG apologist but the club's response was lame.

Surely they could have managed their timing and words to achieve a better outcome.

How was it made public that his contract offer is off the table? Who in the world could think that was an astute move?

Don't get me started on that cringeworthy apology video. Even if an apology is a great idea it needs to be delivered in a genuine and compelling manner.

Amateur hour.

No part of the above reduces the validity of your point. It all started w' JDG. That's indisputable.

Agree with all of this; I'm no JDG apologist but the club's response was lame.

Surely they could have managed their timing and words to achieve a better outcome.

How was it made public that his contract offer is off the table? Who in the world could think that was an astute move?

Don't get me started on that cringeworthy apology video. Even if an apology is a great idea it needs to be delivered in a genuine and compelling manner.

Amateur hour.

No part of the above reduces the validity of your point. It all started w' JDG. That's indisputable.

The apology video was awful. In fact I stopped watching it. De Goey looked really uncomfortable and strained. That was a misstep by the club.

TBH I think they are in uncharted waters to some extent. JDG’s probably the baddest of the current crop of bad boys in the AFL. Not ‘bad’ because what he’s done is illegal - it’s not - but bad because of his history and his inability to stay out of the public eye for the wrong reasons.

What do you think either the club or the players would gain by coming out with a “that’s not fair” media release/statement?
This isn't an either or scenario. I'm not expecting the club to come out in support of JDGs actions and say he did nothing wrong. But I do think it's negligent for them to have not made a strong statement against appalling media behaviour towards their employees.

It is possible to be against both negative attitudes towards women and media harassment. And it's also possible to make a strong statement along those lines.

And it's also possible to be against summary punishments based on assumed attitudes from people who have made a judgement from an editted clip - a judgement different from the key figures who know the whole context.

One only has to watch the video to see that it was a manufactured apology in interview format.

JDG looked more deflated than contrite.

Understandably. The club was shyte in crafting and timing their response so that he felt supported by them.

I dread that we might lose him. He might have acted like a silly idiot but he's our silly idiot.

Hope we're wrong mate.

I’m just not getting this line of thinking.

This was all JDG’s doing. All of it a consequence of his choices and actions. Yet somehow people think there’s blame to apportion to the club.

I certainly don’t want or expect him to leave but if we lose him because he’s sooking about this then good riddance.

The apology video was awful. In fact I stopped watching it. De Goey looked really uncomfortable and strained. That was a misstep by the club.

TBH I think they are in uncharted waters to some extent. JDG’s probably the baddest of the current crop of bad boys in the AFL. Not ‘bad’ because what he’s done is illegal - it’s not - but bad because of his history and his inability to stay out of the public eye for the wrong reasons.

Has any player fronting the media expressing contrition ever look any better? The level of actual remorse is always questionable. You either take it on face value or you don’t.

I thought that Wayne Carey looked genuinely contrite fronting the media after his tawdry trip to the toilet with Kelly.

Note that I'm not comparing the indiscretions. The optics of JDG's antic in Bali are obviously way worse.

This isn't an either or scenario. I'm not expecting the club to come out in support of JDGs actions and say he did nothing wrong. But I do think it's negligent for them to have not made a strong statement against appalling media behaviour towards their employees.

It is possible to be against both negative attitudes towards women and media harassment. And it's also possible to make a strong statement along those lines.

And it's also possible to be against summary punishments based on assumed attitudes from people who have made a judgement from an editted clip - a judgement different from the key figures who know the whole context.

Appalling media behaviour is your call. Have they broken any laws or breached any broadcast standards? No. It wasn’t pretty, I doubt any Collingwood supporter has enjoyed it, but they’ve just done their job to the expectations of their employers. They’re paid to be vultures and ambulance chasers. If our players had done the same there’d be no story.

I look forward to those with the full context enlightening us all.

I’m just not getting this line of thinking.

This was all JDG’s doing. All of it a consequence of his choices and actions. Yet somehow people think there’s blame to apportion to the club.

I certainly don’t want or expect him to leave but if we lose him because he’s sooking about this then good riddance.

Communication is important. It's a matter of balance.

In my view the club had to achieve 2 things:

1 - Clearly spell out how what took place doesn't reconcile with the values of the organisation. Apologise genuinely and unconditionally as required.
2 - Establish that while JDG is under the care of the club he is being educated and supported.

I think they failed in the 2nd part. Badly. Again, this is just my view but they just came across as half-arsed punitive.

I agree that we're only here because of the player's inability to stay out of the public eye.

The problem with the video like much of public life these days is the lack of sincerity... what's right or wrong isn't that important... people use mental illness to escape responsibility... all of it just seems like a tired old dance that i have seen a hundred times... strategies...call for apologies ...all that crap.
I wouldnt believe any of them.

I thought that Wayne Carey looked genuinely contrite fronting the media after his tawdry trip to the toilet with Kelly.

Note that I'm not comparing the indiscretions. The optics of JDG's antic in Bali are obviously way worse.

Different times mate. A quick trip to the dunny with your best mate's wife was fine back in the 90s.

JDG is no saint but by bringing Carey, one of the world's greatest a*holes into the discussion as a low-water mark I can't help but feel that I've been very harsh about Jordy. :)

Hugs

P.S: I need you to acknowledge that I used "contrite" before you did on this fine Melbourne day. It's my word.

Communication is important. It's a matter of balance.

In my view the club had to achieve 2 things:

1 - Clearly spell out how what took place doesn't reconcile with the values of the organisation. Apologise genuinely and unconditionally as required.
2 - Establish that while JDG is under the care of the club he is being educated and supported.

I think they failed in the 2nd part. Badly. Again, this is just my view but they just came across as half-arsed punitive.

I agree that we're only here because of the player's inability to stay out of the public eye.

I doubt we’ll ever know but from the outside looking in I doubt it was ever going to end well.

I think it was reasonable that they wait till he returned to have face to face discussions before releasing anything more than “we’re aware of the situation and we’ll make a full statement when we’re in a position to do so”. They’ve done what they had to.

Ultimately, it’s what happens within the club and in their face to face interactions that are the important element. We will never be privy to that info but I’m hoping it’s been a massive love-fest.

P.S: I need you to acknowledge that I used "contrite" before you did on this fine Melbourne day. It's my word.

Let me apologise. Sincerely. I know that contrite is a special word and needs to be used sparingly, in case it loses all meaning.

Will package my apology into a video statement ASAP, to make it more meaningful.

Appalling media behaviour is your call. Have they broken any laws or breached any broadcast standards? No. It wasn’t pretty, I doubt any Collingwood supporter has enjoyed it, but they’ve just done their job to the expectations of their employers. They’re paid to be vultures and ambulance chasers.

Thats a bit like saying that Jordy has done nothing illegal and is paid to entertain and provide content to keep the industry pumping. He's done that. What's the issue? Give him a pay rise.

So if he was on his last chance why wasn’t he “cut”? Keep up the creative writing.

Dunno. Maybe he will be? Maybe the club aren’t really crucifying him and hanging out to dry in the way some folks are claiming?

Some reckon the $25K suspended fine is a wet lettuce leaf, others reckon it’s too harsh. Nobody seems to be disputing that his value on the open market has plummeted …

… and if it has, it’s got nothing to do with anything Collingwood has done.

Thats a bit like saying that Jordy has done nothing illegal and is paid to entertain and provide content to keep the industry pumping. He's done that. What's the issue? Give him a pay rise.

I’m not sure of the relevance of the analogy. I’d be pretty confident the offer he had on the table would have included a pay rise of some level so isn’t that what’s happened?

i'd be using the carey apology video as a template for my apologies for being late for work...

Let me apologise. Sincerely. I know that contrite is a special word and needs to be used sparingly, in case it loses all meaning.

Will package my apology into a video statement ASAP, to make it more meaningful.

Thank you for recognising the hurt you've caused.

I've decided not to release an instagram update about your use of "contrite" without my consent.

Dunno. Maybe he will be? Maybe the club aren’t really crucifying him and hanging out to dry in the way some folks are claiming?

Some reckon the $25K suspended fine is a wet lettuce leaf, others reckon it’s too harsh. Nobody seems to be disputing that his value on the open market has plummeted …

if i was running the show, i'd be trying to manipulate public opinion to get the public back onside.... a few tears here...a withdrawn contract offer.... a few days at home away from the phone.... all that sort of stuff that gets the public to change their minds at the drop of a hat.

Appalling media behaviour is your call. Have they broken any laws or breached any broadcast standards? No. It wasn’t pretty, I doubt any Collingwood supporter has enjoyed it, but they’ve just done their job to the expectations of their employers. They’re paid to be vultures and ambulance chasers. If our players had done the same there’d be no story.

I look forward to those with the full context enlightening us all.
You may have different expectations and i understand it create clicks but i would classify the last week as appalling tabloid journalism. No law broken and tabloid standards are gutter anyway but i find it very low behaviour.

The two biggest issues i would have was the creation of the story by the media itself. There was no arrest, fight, assault or event that would have come to them as a newsworthy event to report.

They found the photos, created a narrative of an event that had almost no news value and then ran hard with the worst possible reading of the situation. They didnt try and contact the parties involved pre publushing to verify if anything untoward had taken place.

2nd when Remy came out with an alternate interpretation her view was given no credance, was barely discussed. As the woman involved she was given no credibility when she was the only one with credibility. When this was ostensibly all about respecting woman thats astounding.

So yes the media have behaved terribly here and Collingwood should have challenged that bad behaviour not been scared off and meekly accepting it. The IQ and Ginny issue multiply the above criticism by anything you like.

So now it’s “dunno”? Your cut call was a bit more certain.

JDG has very likely blown his last chance and will not play for CFC in 2023.

It’s in the best interests of all parties now for him to reset/take some time off, make a public video apology and then try to rebuild enough cred between now and end of year to secure a contract offer elsewhere - that pies will not match and take the points from.

The club isn’t going to come out publicly and state he’s blown his last chance. That serves no one.