News Noble gone

Pretty standard commentry in here. The "North need to do this (North does it), why did North do this?" is strong.

Feel for Nobes. Realistically we weren't going forward with him, he didn't have the players. I wonder if there is a LeBron effect with JHF and he had said " It's Noble or me"?

Anyway Patch gets a third of a season to show what he has, knowing he has zero chance at the gig. I hope Nobes finds something pretty quick. He would be a valuable asset
I think if JHF who is wet behind the ears came out with that, you’d get rid of him sooner rather than later.

Where was the improvement realistically coming from though, given:

• Phillips Powell JHF haven’t come on as expected
  • Trial ruck setup this season with Goldstein in his twilight and a 12 gamer Xerri (now injured)
  • Hall who was your best player last year has been injured
  • Cunnington unfortunate with his cancer scare hasn’t been on the park
  • Anderson had his vax issues
  • Greenwood the number one recruit has been out of form
  • Ditto CCJ who can barely get a game even in this team
  • Polec one of your highest paid hasn’t been on the park
  • Thomas your most talented player has given up

That’s just off the top of my head. Probably double the amount of issues. None of that is on Noble.

tl;dr The board has its head firmly up its own backside expecting any improvement from last year. Results this year have been shocking yes, but them put into perspective with all those issues on top of gutting 17 players over the past two seasons and they have been par for the course.

Ok let’s go through everything you have said and I will point out what I agree on and don’t:
  • Phillips has had glandular fever and hasn’t played this year, Powell has been played out of position (stupid decision by nobel) jfh has still played solid footy when in the team.
  • the ruck set up has been a joke this year (xerri is overrated by the coaches and provides little, goldy/ccj should have been the set up from day 1)
  • agree with the hall and cunners comments.
*agree with Anderson, however has been playing solid recently.
  • agree with greenwood.
  • do NOT like xerri ahead of ccj, ccj has performed better when in the team then xerri.
  • polec has been a huge disappointment the last 3 years and will likely retire this year or get paid out.
  • agree with thomas, really disappointed with his form this year.

Most those things I have disagreed on have to do with decisions such as team selection, players out of position or not getting the best out of them, there is also rumours players are considering their future if he stays so I can see why it’s lead to this.

Also just to let you know I do agree with a fair bit of your opinion

Pretty standard commentry in here. The "North need to do this (North does it), why did North do this?" is strong.

Feel for Nobes. Realistically we weren't going forward with him, he didn't have the players. I wonder if there is a LeBron effect with JHF and he had said " It's Noble or me"?

Anyway Patch gets a third of a season to show what he has, knowing he has zero chance at the gig. I hope Nobes finds something pretty quick. He would be a valuable asset

Lol if North sacked a coach because a first year player said that then its worse than we thought.

So many of these issues started before Noble. Polec on big money, hardly seen the guy for 2 years. A raft of off field management issues, a tumultuous season, issues with their CEO not sorting out the administrative side of the club.

Surely you give Noble another year with a big clean out of the suits. It’s not like he isn’t experienced in that space either. It’s a fair mess.

I think if JHF who is wet behind the ears came out with that, you’d get rid of him sooner rather than later.

Tarryn Thomas was (reportedly) another player who had a problem with Noble, but I do agree with that you in that the tail should never wail the Dog, unless most of the players just didn't like the coach, like St Kilda with Watters or Malthouse at Carlton.

I think the players should be having a significant amount of respect for a guy coming from a successful environment who was part of a big change in direction, I.e Brisbane.

I don’t know why as a player you simply don’t respect your coach unless he is obviously mistreating you? I very much doubt Noble isn’t instructing to work hard. Sometimes the players just have to take ownership.

What? Players "not coming on as expected" or "giving up" is absolutely on the head coach.
I don’t think so. We had four years of Goodwin and definite regression of our group before last year. Goodwin would have had night sweats and heart palpitations every night in 2020 given our repeated failures. North are obviously a long way from Melbourne, but to shelve the guy after a year (not even) when some of the stuff you hear about the players and management is very disappointing.

It genuinely sounds like JHF has a shit attitude and Ben Buckley can’t coordinate the club. Look at Gale and O’Neill turned it around at Richmond after 2016.

Ok let’s go through everything you have said and I will point out what I agree on and don’t:
  • Phillips has had glandular fever and hasn’t played this year, Powell has been played out of position (stupid decision by nobel) jfh has still played solid footy when in the team.
  • the ruck set up has been a joke this year (xerri is overrated by the coaches and provides little, goldy/ccj should have been the set up from day 1)
  • agree with the hall and cunners comments.
*agree with Anderson, however has been playing solid recently.
  • agree with greenwood.
  • do NOT like xerri ahead of ccj, ccj has performed better when in the team then xerri.
  • polec has been a huge disappointment the last 3 years and will likely retire this year or get paid out.
  • agree with thomas, really disappointed with his form this year.

Most those things I have disagreed on have to do with decisions such as team selection, players out of position or not getting the best out of them, there is also rumours players are considering their future if he stays so I can see why it’s lead to this.

Also just to let you know I do agree with a fair bit of your opinion
Agree with what you said has been on the coach, which is Powell being played out of position and Xerri in over CCJ.

Would playing Powell through the guts more and throwing CCJ in the ruck alone have changed the scoreline much in any games? Probably not.

Just go to tassie. Green gold and red become their home colours. Away jumper remains what it is now. Change the logo with a updated version of a kangaroo with tassie colours. Get cracking with a mini super dome oval 25k capacity. Clarko gets appointed.

Tassie dont want them, even if the AFL DO want the taxpayer dollars.

Lol if North sacked a coach because a first year player said that then its worse than we thought.
Idle speculation on my part. Surely the tail isn't wagging the dog though. Its probably more the players as a majority didn't buy into the ethos and felt they weren't being allowed to play thier "Natural" game.

What? Players "not coming on as expected" or "giving up" is absolutely on the head coach.
Not if the rumours of the players not liking Noble are true.

If Noble had to apologise for a spray he gave them last month (as reported) then they're a just a bunch of soft c**** who should toughen up.

Idle speculation on my part. Surely the tail isn't wagging the dog though. Its probably more the players as a majority didn't buy into the ethos and felt they weren't being allowed to play thier "Natural" game.
Yeah but what is their natural game? Majority are kids. They wouldn’t know their arse from their elbow at AFL level.

So Noble is now responsible for recruitment of Phillips, Powell et al and Thomas's mental state. Kindly see yourself out

Phillips will be fine. Just hasn't had a fair crack at it health wise.

And I think Powell will a solid player too.

Most people thought LDU was bit of a disappointment until this season, where he has flourished.

You gotta give some of these kids more to to develop and find their feet at AFL level.

Not everyone can be guns from day one, like Walsh or Daicos.

If Noble had to apologise for a spray he gave them last month (as reported) then they're a just a bunch of soft c**** who should toughen up.
100%.

At the end of the day it’s football. You can over do all the fluffy management stuff and the personality testing etc, sometimes the basics need to be pointed out. Effort, intensity, intent and going back to basics. Man on man, one per cent efforts etc.

Listening to that, they've sacked the wrong guy.
That’s unbelievable. Absolutely unbelievable. He has no idea. Regularly competing in the top 4. How long did it take Hardwick and Clarkson to regularly compete in the top 4? They even had an older list as well. That’s staggering.

Pathetic.

The reason coaches don't give "sprays" anymore is because it's not conducive to a successful environment. If he can't motivate the players or educate them on a workable system without resorting to ripping into the campaigners then he's a shit coach.

Yeah but what is their natural game? Majority are kids. They wouldn’t know their arse from their elbow at AFL level.

Don't disagree. When kids are being told since they are 15-16 that they are destined for AFL and will be a walk up start, they can start to believe that they know it all. The hubris of youth is unparalleled these days.

Pathetic.

The reason coaches don't give "sprays" anymore is because it's not conducive to a successful environment. If he can't motivate the players or educate them on a workable system without resorting to ripping into the campaigners then he's a s**t coach.
You reckon Clarkson didn’t spray players? Roos definitely sprayed Demons players.

Phillips will be fine. Just hasn't had a fair crack at it health wise.

And I think Powell will a solid player too.

Most people thought LDU was bit of a disappointment until this season, where he has flourished.

You gotta give some of these kids more to to develop and find their feet at AFL level.

Not everyone can be guns from day one, like Walsh or Daicos.
Oh come on, Noble's win-loss was wore than Neeld's.

He had to go. It's A results based industry.

His days were numbered once Geoff Walsh was appointed to oversee their review.

So which is it?

The kids need time to develop, or they need to be part of getting immediate win-loss results and if not the coach needs to go?

Amarfio should check BigFooty for our next move. I can't believe all the posters in here who have all the answers to our problems, and are giving them away for free

Don't disagree. When kids are being told since they are 15-16 that they are destined for AFL and will be a walk up start, they can start to believe that they know it all. The hubris of youth is unparalleled these days.
Mate. Totally agree. I’ve worked with kids who want to be on 100k after 18 months in the finance industry. Literally first job post uni. Now I know cost of living is up, but you just don’t get that salary less than two years into your career.

News Noble gone