Strategy Trade and List management Thread Part 5 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

Let’s assume we lose Dunkley (hope we don’t) - he is uncontracted so a trade unless he goes into the draft (would get a fortune if he went to North with Clarkson - would quickly become a competitive midfield.

So expect to get a first round and maybe a second or pick swaps to move up up to top 30 with the second round. Don’t want next year’s draft - a year on footy is a long time and we need to strike now. Our team is a contender on paper but needs to get it’s act and injuries together to be there at the end.

So let’s say we will have two first rounds say 6 and 11 for arguments sake and two second rounds say 23 and 30 (after someone compo to someone else). That would be a pretty good opportunity.

Will probably go for best player at that point which could be Elijah Tjatsis - fast runner or maybe George Wardlaw burst mid.

But I would use first for Busslinger - Buss is a a top KPD and most have him going 5-10 anyway and goal kicking speed at 11.

This could get us something like:

- Buss /Brayden George

Buss would be a bit early but worth it. If not then take Phillipou and then take George a bit early (did someone say he did his knee again) and take Hayes later.

Would take someone like Sheezel in an instant looks unlikely he will slip past 3/4.

Use Seconds for another KPD (if we don’t get Buss) or a small forward like Konstanty if we don’t get George or Sizzle otherwise either speedy wing or a nugget small defender to replace Duryea (Roarke and Scott could try for that spot?) or young ruck.

Trade for a third defender like Logue (let’s say for JJ and Williams) or a ruck that is ready to go. I reckon with English and Darcy - a good you ruckman might look somewhere else for a chance but a good journeyman may come.

Let’s assume we get Jones as rumoured and some fitness into our better players.

Next years best 22 could be:

Duryea Keath Logue

Red Jones Dale

Trelor Macrae Hunter
English Bont Libba

George Naughton JUH

West Bruce Weightman

Darcy Smith Daniel McLean

KPD’a in dev: Gardner, Busslington, Hayes ( if we don’t get Busslington) , Van Es

KPF’s: Keep Schache a handy back up considering at least one of Bruce, Naughty, JUH and Darcy will be injured often enough and get a young ruck.

Bont, Macrae, Smith, West and Hunter will have a much more consistent years.

Older guys: Keath, Bruce and Duryea will have time to repair.

Cleary, Khamis, Bedendo and García will have come on.

Wouldn’t be a bad outcome?

Surely you can see how ludicrous linking the potential pursuit of Barrass to any sort of captaincy problems is. I assumed you were a West Coast Supporter in disguise.
I do think it’s ludicrous, I don’t think we need a new captain.
We can’t pursue Barrass without offering the captaincy. He’ll probably be named WC captain in a matter of weeks, so why would he leave to not be captain of another club?
It makes no sense.

No..but a deal can’t be done without doing so.
I personally don’t think the story has been very well thought through to be honest.
Different players have different motivations. Our obvious selling point to Barrass would be that we are in a position to be consistently playing finals over the next few years, whereas Eagles are looking at a long rebuild.

For many, that's more of an attraction than a captaincy.

Pannalstaroz (?) used to get the good word, fronk was always good value. Pretty sure RW&B (?) was the source on Bruce. A few other posters who used to get info haven't been active lately.
VitalDread always has the good mail. Who could forget how we just missed Nahas?

If Dunkley wants to request a trade for a season extra deal, I'd walk him to the PSD. I back us to organically grow our list cover him.

When he was drafted he was determined to stay in Victoria. So much so Sydney would have matched any bid for him by an interstate side. So he can either stay in victoria or if he wants to go interstate to maximise his dollar value then he can go to WCE.

And we could just free his money up to use on a free agent so it's not a complete net loss.

Maybe just me but he showed his true colours when he requested a trade to Essendon.
This is all wonderful, but in all honesty, there were rumours of issues within the club between some players, he wasn't happy and Essendumb offered him a way out. It's his job. Would you stay in a job if you were having issues and you felt the culture was toxic? I'd bet no.

I think he stays - unless him giving away his boots and socks yesterday was a sign....

Has Dunkley f**ked off yet? What’s the hold up?

Can’t help but compare Dunkleys situation with Griffens 2014 departure. Griff had a GENUINE toxic relationship with his coach. Moved on after 10+ years service at the club, and was dragged out in to the town square by supporters and hung at midday.

It’s strange that Griff becomes Judas, but Dunks, who’s just leaving for cash and clout, deserves tissue time and all the understanding and empathy in the world.

One had a genuine reason to move and had given far more service. The other is moving for clout and money.

How are the supporter response so contrasting? And what was the response to Griffs move by some of the Dunks empathisers? Would be interesting to track back and see how they felt at the end of 2014.

Hiiii, I was the poster who posted in the Dunkley thread.

Context: I went to the pies and blues game and was surrounded by the Blues players.

Dunkley to Lions was said by 1 player and others agreed. He mentioned that he heard from Dunkley recently.

One of them did reference “doesn’t his Mrs play for the Adelaide team”.

He said “yup, but he’s still going to the Lions. It’s a done deal.”

A couple of years back, it was said in here that one of the Dogs players with a link to the Hawks said Breust to the Dogs was a done deal, too...

I do think it’s ludicrous, I don’t think we need a new captain.
We can’t pursue Barrass without offering the captaincy. He’ll probably be named WC captain in a matter of weeks, so why would he leave to not be captain of another club?
It makes no sense.
How would our players - or any other team - feel about someone coming into their club on a fat salary and made captain? Way to destabilise the group, to put it mildly.

We're not getting Barrass - let alone having people take the joke about him being our captain seriously.

Our next chance of a KPD next year is Dunkley choosing Brisbane and we work Payne into the deal, given we've chased him in the past

If Brissie don't lure Dunks, I'd still chase him with a truckload of picks for Brissie to use on their bids