Geelong vs pies final should not be at the mcg.

Really don’t get the deal here. It’s cats home game, you will get the microphone and have an mc pump you up and tell the crowd some great stories. You get the flashy screens to put your photoshops on. Will truly feel like a home game for you, just with a few more seats. Who occupies those seats is not worth discussing.

The last time there was a final in Geelong the cats lost to freo, who made a mockery of their claim for home finals. I would think Geelong fans would want to avoid further humiliation.
I remember this well! It was actually Freo complaining that time because they wanted the game at Marvel (maybe Telstra Dome at the time but don’t quote me) Anyway, I digress. Freo ****in pantsed them in arguably one of the best boil overs in the past decade. **** it was grouse!

Yes it does. Can take 2 hours from geelong to Melbourne and especially for those living a bit further out in geelong. Geelong is a massive rural region mate we don’t all sit there living on the edge next to the highway. Then throw in peak hour traffic on a Friday night and it’s a disaster.

Big middle finger to the geelong fans
Hey. I’m a pie supporter and even I have to travel up the highway. Filthy as.

W
Oh you're right sorry, lucky us getting more games at MCG. I feel pretty bad about it, how about we give those MCG games to you?

It's all good, I get it now.

So we finished 1st and earned the right to play at the MCG again (pretty lucky right, I know) and Collingwood finished 4th and earned that right to play at the MCG. Soooo not much point finishing 1st.....so rather than play a home and away season and winning games to earn the right to play at the MCG, let's just get rid of the ladder, skip straight to finals, everyone plays at the G and if you lose you're out.
This works for me.

4 points:
  1. I don't care where we play, and I seriously doubt the players / coaches care either.
  2. Objectively it's a bit whack, but this is just a result of a larger issue of the league prioritising revenue over fairness (see also fixture etc.)
  3. These threads annoy me because all they do is give yet another platform to anyone who wants a whinge about our club, ground, fixture, father sons, fishing/surfing opportunities, house and land packages etc. Your whinges are so predictable and so boring.
  4. Again, I don't care where we play. It's a thrill to have another opportunity. Go Cats!
Well said. 👌

How dare the AFL offer fans the chance to attend finals football. All finals should be held in suburban grounds to ensure the smallest attendance possible because fairness.

Cats fans - it’s time to take a stand!

The AFL MUST understand this is NOT ACCEPTABLE.

The time has come to boycott ALL “Home” games at the MCG effective immediately, and as such, forego all of the money that comes with it.

It’s just a good thing that all of your upgrades have been at the expense of the Victorian Government, and the humble rate payers of Geelong.

#flagpies22 🏆

Really don’t get the deal here. It’s cats home game, you will get the microphone and have an mc pump you up and tell the crowd some great stories. You get the flashy screens to put your photoshops on. Will truly feel like a home game for you, just with a few more seats. Who occupies those seats is not worth discussing.
I don't really care where we play but this isn't accurate, no Geelong game at the G feels like a home game.
Happy enough to play there but I don't think it can be argued (particularly by pies and tigs supporters) that it doesn't feel like a home game for them. What changes from your home games? The flashy screens? I'd imagine for many supporters you turn up to games thinking it's your home game only to see the flashy screen and go "oh this is actually Geelongs home game".

Which is exactly my point. Its an away game For geelong. Gws dont play home games at the mcg.
But Geelong do.
Your little club won’t get the unsporting advantages you want no matter how hard you whinge.
Look at west Coast, a club much bigger than yours. They’ve demanded for years now that the city of Melbourne be relocated to WA every 2 weeks because it’s all tho unfair. They’ve whinged and whinged and whinged until no one can stand them anymore and are now the but of jokes for their collective pea hearted spinelessness. Yet the AFL have refused to destroy the Comp to give one club massive advantages over everyone else despite the overwhelming feelings of entitlement.
Your tireless melty whinging will yield similar results.

My preference is the MCG, so long as cats fans from Geelong are considered in the ticketing and scheduling, as has been done this year. The AFL reserve and MCC are more complex to attempt to manipulate, but I can live with some inequity in these areas for the time being.

In 2017 and other years, you've had a situation where many Geelong fans couldn't get to the game due to the scheduling and Richmond was able to utilise Geelongs ticket allocation resulting in a particularly hostile environment for the home team. This is why many Geelong supporters are so adamantly opposed to playing home finals at the MCG. So long as this is not repeated, I'm good with the MCG.

Cats fans - it’s time to take a stand!

The AFL MUST understand this is NOT ACCEPTABLE.

The time has come to boycott ALL “Home” games at the MCG effective immediately, and as such, forego all of the money that comes with it.

It’s just a good thing that all of your upgrades have been at the expense of the Victorian Government, and the humble rate payers of Geelong.

#flagpies22 🏆
You know the AFL makes all the money from finals right?

And that we lose money when H+A games are moved from KP to the MCG?

Oh you didn't? That's funny but unsurprising, like every other oppo fan (read Pies, Tigers, Melbourne and Hawthorn supporters) who tries to tell me that my club is somehow advantaged..........

My preference is the MCG, so long as cats fans from Geelong are considered in the ticketing and scheduling, as has been done this year. The AFL reserve and MCC are more complex to attempt to manipulate, but I can live with some inequity in these areas for the time being.

In 2017 and other years, you've had a situation where many Geelong fans couldn't get to the game due to the scheduling and Richmond was able to utilise Geelongs ticket allocation resulting in a particularly hostile environment for the home team. This is why many Geelong supporters are so adamantly opposed to playing home finals at the MCG. So long as this is not repeated, I'm good with the MCG.
The capacity of the MCG is 55k when you consider that the AFL members and MCC members reserve will be full of neutrals. So a game at KP next year (2023) would "only" be locking out 15k club members. To me, that's an easy trade off for a proper home final.

When the AFL and MCC reserve get opened up to the club members, then we can consider the true cost of locking out 60k true fans. Until then, it's all a moot point.

Yes it does. Can take 2 hours from geelong to Melbourne and especially for those living a bit further out in geelong. Geelong is a massive rural region mate we don’t all sit there living on the edge next to the highway. Then throw in peak hour traffic on a Friday night and it’s a disaster.

Big middle finger to the geelong fans

Of your 71,000 members 30,000 live in metro Melbourne. And if you added up general supporters there are probably more Cats supporters in metro Melbourne than in Geelong. It’s funny how Cats ‘fans’ based in Geelong seem to think ALL Cats fans want finals held in Geelong. It’s simply not true, never has been true, and never will be true.

The ‘majority’ of Geelong fans want finals at the MCG, nearly all players want finals at the MCG, 30,000+ Geelong members want finals at the MCG, your footy boss and board want finals at the MCG ….other than Chris Scott and some Geelong locals who are lucky enough to get a seat, who in the actual f**k actually wants finals at GMHBA??

Glad the boys get a chance to play on the MCG with a Final's atmosphere against the Pies. Of the teams that we could've faced Pies are the best I think we could've hoped for.. their run to the top 4 with their close wins was great but if I had to choose I'm picking to play against the side that just scraped home against the teams holding up the bottom of the ladder. Best opportunity for the Cats to go through to the Prelim, a chance for the Pies to show they're not just making up the numbers.. should be a great game.

How was a 2017 Friday night game at 7:50 more unsuitable for Geelong fans than Richmond fans? Was 2.5 hours not enough to travel the 77km from Kardinia Park to the MCG to watch your team play a final? How was it unsuitable for the 30,000 Geelong members in Melbourne?

Face it, you (collectively) just didn’t care enough, couldn’t be bothered, thought you’d save your money and tip it in to the budget for the prelim (that was a certainty in your minds) and/or the GF.

It will make a mockery of the competition if the clear competition leader is playing its home final in front of 75 thousand screaming pies fans at the ground the pies play 15 games at each season when the pies finished fourth.

we can not have a repeat of the ridiculous 2017 finals series.

surely the competition has moved beyond the amateurish of playing finals where crowds are highest at the expense of fairness. Other professional sports do not do this.

note the grand final is a little different because there are no home sides in a grand final and the crowds arent heavily biased to mcg tenants due to fans travelling and all the neutral fans. So please dont bring grand final arguments into this thread as its not equivalent.

play the game at either kardinia and if thats not possible (it is) then play at least docklands.

for the sake of the competition.

You know it's bad when a Richmond supporter wants the Pies to win just for the Geelong melts.

It will make a mockery of the competition if the clear competition leader is playing its home final in front of 75 thousand screaming pies fans at the ground the pies play 15 games at each season when the pies finished fourth.

we can not have a repeat of the ridiculous 2017 finals series.

surely the competition has moved beyond the amateurish of playing finals where crowds are highest at the expense of fairness. Other professional sports do not do this.

note the grand final is a little different because there are no home sides in a grand final and the crowds arent heavily biased to mcg tenants due to fans travelling and all the neutral fans. So please dont bring grand final arguments into this thread as its not equivalent.

play the game at either kardinia and if thats not possible (it is) then play at least docklands.

for the sake of the competition.

It appears Steve Hocking and the Geelong football club disagree with you 🤣

I hate these threads, and I hate when Geelong supporters whine about this crap

The MCG is the home of football, and where premierships are won. It's also where finals are played between Victorian teams. If you're confident that Geelong really is the best team, then we'll beat Collingwood anywhere - including the MCG
If you need Kardinia Park to feel safe, then you lack confidence in your own team. If the players feel they need Kardinia Park, then they've already lost

If Geelong lose, they will lose because they ultimately aren't good enough - not because of the ground

Time to pull up the big-boy underoos and meet the big boys on their turf
Again, if Geelong is good enough, they'll win
If not, then they won't. The ground is irrelevant.

Their mindset is their biggest hurdle, and threads like this don't help people's perception that Geelong supporters are handbag-wearing sooks

I'm having a sook about the sooks, and my handbag is swinging!

You know the AFL makes all the money from finals right?

And that we lose money when H+A games are moved from KP to the MCG?

Oh you didn't? That's funny but unsurprising, like every other oppo fan (read Pies, Tigers, Melbourne and Hawthorn supporters) who tries to tell me that my club is somehow advantaged..........
Your team is either clearly advantaged during the H&A season resulting in a very flattering end of year ladder position, or, just consistently choke in finals year on year.

Which is it then?

Your team is either clearly advantaged during the H&A season resulting in a very flattering end of year ladder position, or, just consistently choke in finals year on year.

Which is it then?
All teams gain advantage from playing at home, that's kinda the point of them. The Melbourne clubs gave up some of their advantage for money, and now sook that other clubs (namely Geelong) can get both money and advantage. Geelong was not immune, we too signed onto become a Docklands tenant, but we backed out very quickly and thank god we did. What a shit show that place is (financially for the tenant clubs).

As for your Pies, they get to use the same change rooms (ponsford stand) for both home and away games. They also have a contract with the MCG to play at least 14 games there (9 home, the rest away). Geelong do not play away games at KP, so the pies have the advantage here by at least 5 games worth (14 minus 9 for those playing at home).

"Consistently choking in finals" assumes we were a decent chance every year from 2012-2021. Outside of 2013 and 2020 we didn't have a team capable of winning a flag, and if you look at our H+A form you'd know that. Playing at KP didn't flatter us in 2015 when we missed the finals, and if you look at our H+A record outside of KP in that time, we're just as dominant as at KP (there's a post around here somewhere with the stats, trying to find it).

I
All teams gain advantage from playing at home, that's kinda the point of them. The Melbourne clubs gave up some of their advantage for money, and now sook that other clubs (namely Geelong) can get both money and advantage. Geelong was not immune, we too signed onto become a Docklands tenant, but we backed out very quickly and thank god we did. What a s**t show that place is (financially for the tenant clubs).

As for your Pies, they get to use the same change rooms (ponsford stand) for both home and away games. They also have a contract with the MCG to play at least 14 games there (9 home, the rest away). Geelong do not play away games at KP, so the pies have the advantage here by at least 5 games worth (14 minus 9 for those playing at home).

"Consistently choking in finals" assumes we were a decent chance every year from 2012-2021. Outside of 2013 and 2020 we didn't have a team capable of winning a flag, and if you look at our H+A form you'd know that. Playing at KP didn't flatter us in 2015 when we missed the finals, and if you look at our H+A record outside of KP in that time, we're just as dominant as at KP (there's a post around here somewhere with the stats, trying to find it)

All I want to know is this. If the cats win the flag this year, is there any chance you people can stop complaining and banging on about the same thing you complain about every year? It got old about 10 years ago and actually shits others to no end. Do we at least have your commitment to the cause here or can we expect to see you back again next August throwing the toys out of the cot like the rest of them?

Geelong vs pies final should not be at the mcg.