News Hawthorn and Adidas part ways in 2022…what next?

I’m on board the Diamond's train!
You'll be missed, although your taste in guernseys won't be! ;)

train trainwreck GIF

Yes low rent. It has nothing to do with how much money the companies make, it’s about taste.

Sketchers would be better suited to sponsor a lawn bowls team given their target market is boomers with back issues.

And the huge KFC bumper sticker above the numbers makes me want to vomit every time I see it.

This is how the club chooses to represent itself on the field every week? May as well go down the Rugby League path and cover the thing in sponsors if it’s all about the money, it couldn’t get any uglier now.
Piss off and support another sport if you don't like the club taking on lucrative sponsorships that you don't feel are prestigious enough, but I think you'll find that KFC, Coca-Cola, Cadbury or whatever other "distasteful" brands you can imagine sponsor clubs from pretty much every professional sports league in the world.

Yep and the first thing people think when aspiring to buy a pair of Jordans is “Would a nurse wear these?”.

No one’s downplaying the importance of nurses but even they admit the stuff they wear is only about function.

Skechers is a daggy ass brand that no one actually aspires to wear, but we’re stuck with it now. The saving grace is that so far it’s been visually minimised as far as branding goes.

You’re missing my point - I’m saying that calling hard working people like nurses ‘low rent’ is insulting as all hell.

Also - a pair of AF1s goes for the same price as a lot of pairs of Skechers so they mustn’t be that low rent if this is the comparison you want to make.

Piss off and support another sport if you don't like the club taking on lucrative sponsorships that you don't feel are prestigious enough, but I think you'll find that KFC, Coca-Cola, Cadbury or whatever other "distasteful" brands you can imagine sponsor clubs from pretty much every professional sports league in the world.

Not gonna get into a long back and forth here. If you think the below looks good then I can't help you.

Screen Shot 2022-11-02 at 8.38.30 pm.png

Man Utd is sponsored by TeamViewer which is used by dodgy hackers worldwide. Such a low rent move.

Not gonna get into a long back and forth here. If you think the below looks good then I can't help you.

View attachment 1547877
Screw sponsors then, we won't take any. Who needs to pay for future projects, or even remain solvent?

I don't think it looks good, it's obviously not an ideal design choice but it looks infinitely better than having a company logo take up the majority of the midsection like a premier league club shirt. Sponsors are a reality of sport and I genuinely think the AFL is 2nd to the NBA for professional sports leagues in making sponsors as unobtrusive as possible on game day gear.

I reckon ISC looks pretty good. Love that it's a Australian brand too. People whinging that it's not Adidas or Nike probably still think that if they press the pump on the tongue, they'll jump higher.
Don’t know about jumping higher I retired from the game at 45 ( 11 years ago ) and I had a pair of those as long as there were no leaks they gave great ankle support.

Screw sponsors then, we won't take any. Who needs to pay for future projects, or even remain solvent?

I don't think it looks good, it's obviously not an ideal design choice but it looks infinitely better than having a company logo take up the majority of the midsection like a premier league club shirt. Sponsors are a reality of sport and I genuinely think the AFL is 2nd to the NBA for professional sports leagues in making sponsors as unobtrusive as possible on game day gear.

Hey there’s also the MLB and NFL that despite the crass commercialisation of practically everything in the US somehow have cleanskin uniforms.

However, we don’t operate in that reality and it is amusing that some people think we should tell multi-million/billion dollar companies to shove their funding offers up their ass because their logo won’t look exceptional with our fairly outlier colour combination.

Hey there’s also the MLB and NFL that despite the crass commercialisation of practically everything in the US somehow have cleanskin uniforms.

However, we don’t operate in that reality and it is amusing that some people think we should tell multi-million/billion dollar companies to shove their funding offers up their ass because their logo won’t look exceptional with our fairly outlier colour combination.
Well this is true, I don't really like either league so just forgot about em. Plus every team essentially has a home ground in US sports so from an advertising point of view they can just offer them advertising in other ways.

I quite like how the storm change their jersey every year, granted the last few haven't been great but it's a nice way to change things up. Sadly the hawks can't do that but some of the new stuff I like, will be good to see it in person and check out the material. I too would love the predominantly brown Guernsey but we can dream, retro is a good start so should be fun. I hope the warm up tops are a sign of changes to come from the whole club.

View attachment 1547877
I’ve always thought that that space there should be reserved for the clubs heritage like it used to be either the club logo or year of establishment. We need to maintain some sacred ground ( for want of a better word ) on our home jersey I think . Like the EPL .

ISC kit, Skechers appear to be jumper sponsors.

Multiple revenue streams - and if The Kid 23 is correct as he has been consistently, he said it was a substantially better offer than the next best one from memory.

Glad we can agree it doesn't look good, that is my main point. And I would not hold your breath on the premier league midsection score - that is a prime piece of real estate right there just waiting for the highest bidder. The logo above the number crept in during covid, ISC have sold the spot where the manufacturer logo usually goes... it's slowly but surely getting worse.

Nike sponsored North in the late 90s. Had Michael Jorden mix it with Wayne Carey at merch launches......... yeah did them wonders 👍.

Yes low rent. It has nothing to do with how much money the companies make, it’s about taste.

Sketchers would be better suited to sponsor a lawn bowls team given their target market is boomers with back issues.

And the huge KFC bumper sticker above the numbers makes me want to vomit every time I see it.

This is how the club chooses to represent itself on the field every week? May as well go down the Rugby League path and cover the thing in sponsors if it’s all about the money, it couldn’t get any uglier now.
When I first heard we are going from Adidas to Skechers just thought of the irony and total contrast of the 2 brands but I’ve since learnt they do make comfortable shoes for certain people in some professions that those people swear by and they aren’t cheap . Then again as a guy their mens range over the years have produced some absolute shockers which is what most of us first think about when we hear the name . Kel Knight of Kath and Kim fame actually wears the 80s vintage grey Velcro tab models in the show sometimes . It’s only a small branding anyway and the $$ are obviously good , the KFC sign would be better somewhere else I agree .

Well this is true, I don't really like either league so just forgot about em. Plus every team essentially has a home ground in US sports so from an advertising point of view they can just offer them advertising in other ways.
The NBA have started to wear sponsers logos but they’re so small don’t know why you’d bother.

When I first heard we are going from Adidas to Skechers just thought of the irony and total contrast of the 2 brands but I’ve since learnt they do make comfortable shoes for certain people in some professions that those people swear by and they aren’t cheap . Then again as a guy their mens range over the years have produced some absolute shockers which is what most of us first think about when we hear the name . Kel Knight of Kath and Kim fame actually wears the 80s vintage grey Velcro tab models in the show sometimes . It’s only a small branding anyway and the $$ are obviously good , the KFC sign would be better somewhere else I agree .
How do you know the men’s range over the years has produced some absolute shockers ?
If you hate Skechers as much as you did early in the thread then you wouldn’t look at them at all.
They’ve had some ordinary designs over the years but they’ve had some pretty good ones too. No different to Adidas Nike NB even ASICS

Personally couldn’t give a toss about their little logo on on jumper if the $$ are good

How do you know the men’s range over the years has produced some absolute shockers ?
If you hate Skechers as much as you did early in the thread then you wouldn’t look at them at all.
They’ve had some ordinary designs over the years but they’ve had some pretty good ones too. No different to Adidas Nike NB even ASICS

Personally couldn’t give a toss about their little logo on on jumper if the $$ are good
How do I know ??? Just a small matter of paying attention to what’s available when you buy shoes perhaps . I still think their mens range stinks and won’t buy them but hey I don’t eat KFC either but as you said and as I have stated the $$ are obviously good and as a sponsor that’s all that matters .Have to admit the guy who originally posted this rumour has done a great job garnering interest . He basically said “Adidas are out Skechers are in “ which is true to a certain extent but if he hadve said words to the effect “ our new apparel sponser is ISC and the shoe brand Skechers are going to have naming rights on the collar “ I don’t think he would’ve got the same reaction. He would be great working for a newspaper coming up with headlines whoever he is .

So you pay attention to what’s available even though you said

“I wouldn’t wear any of their stuff if it was free or if I was paid money there’s got to be a line you don’t cross it”

Nike sponsored North in the late 90s. Had Michael Jorden mix it with Wayne Carey at merch launches......... yeah did them wonders 👍.
Can you imagine, MJ - his Airness, a sporting god... and Carey, a filthy rock spider.

WC: Hi Michael, do you want some cocaine, and to glass some people later, maybe you could sleep with Pip's wife?
MJ: Uhhh... nah mate, I'm all good here.