Autopsy 2023 Rd 18 Bruising Blues shortcircuit Power

Who played well for the Blues in Round 18 vs Port?

Why the hell should they? :huh: For the record, I would still trade Martin for a bag of chips if that bag of chips helped us strategically get the project player we wanted ahead of a rival club. Cuningham we can keep.
At least that's an acknowledgement that he can play and is trade worthy.

There were some on here (not necessarily you) that just wanted him delisted straight up and paid out for the remainder of his contract).

Clearly he has injury issues but it was ridiculously short sighted for some to forget the point of differencevhe offers when he is up and about.

Four games unbeaten and we aren't just beating teams, we're actually destroying them. We've also torn the narrative, that Carlton only beat the poor teams to total and utter shreds.

We've beaten a Port Adelaide team that's second in the ladder, and a Port Adelaide team that hadn't lost a game since April 1st by fifty points.

I think Vossy and especially the players deserve a lot of credit for this turnaround. It's the players themselves who stood up, took ownership of the situation and saved a season that was going down the dunny.

That was a very satisfying win indeed. Carlton are back in business again, and we're also smack bang right back in contention for finals footy.

I don't think we should go with two pure rucks ever again. If Melbourne couldn't make it work with two of the best in the comp there's no hope for the Pitto/TDK combo.

TDK's last two games have been his best at Carlton. Pitto's a better pure tap ruckman, but TDK's impact around the ground only continues to improve. I've now got TDK ahead of him.
It might be too late for Carlton, but TDK needs to be first ruck and allowed to develop with an attacking game style.
Within 18 months, he's going to be a ripper.
Other clubs can see that

Four games in a row our pressure, creating space, and link-ups have been out of this world.

What has truly impressed me is the fact that our players contribute to the team's success through their skills and abilities, rather than relying solely on what is mentioned on their resumes.

I’m sure he’s actually a great bloke, but he 100% looks like he would reach for an officer’s sidearm. Has the biggest case of crazy eyes since Scotland.

Blue Ratts likes this post.

Is this HEAVEN?.....

It FEELS LIKE HEAVEN. :D

It would definitely be Heaven if Big H has not done his ACL. :praying:

Funnily all week and at the game I was very confident of winning and winning well.

I couldn't say the same for my 16 y/o son , he was super nervous till halfway through the last quarter
but did he enjoy belting out the song !

A great day and what a team performance.

It has all been said but I want to say it again..... I LOVE JSOS. :heart:

If we do not re sign him quick smart there will rioting outside Princes Park.
Get it done please. (also TDK)

A day to remember and the pulse is getting stronger and stronger.

GO BLUES!!!!

Best brand of footy I’ve seen us play against a top side in a long time, the previous three weeks were all great results which until tonight i think still carried a few little doubts with who we have actually played and how it would would stack up against a top end side…

Our pressure from the start tonight was off the charts, there’s a great connection and unity starting to build across all lines, we’re continuing to sacrifice and play for one another better…

Great balance of unconditional hard contested attacking football…

Silvagni & Newman brilliant
DeKoning ffs sign up buddy

Forgot Acres massively underated does a s**t load of good work
Bloke would be a bone fide superstar if he could just kick the thing half good.
You just have to take the good with the bad with him.
Has a real crack and is important to our side. His defensive marking / spoiling was huge yesterday.
Provides all day up & down.

Bloke would be a bone fide superstar if he could just kick the thing half good.
You just have to take the good with the bad with him.
Has a real crack and is important to our side. His defensive marking / spoiling was huge yesterday.
Provides all day up & down.
Only thing that lets him down, does everything else magnificently for a hard running wingman..

Loosing him for a late’tish first round pick would be a massive loss, all those that want a speculative pick are off their rocks…
But surely you must understand that draft picks are better than actual players. Because you can draft a player and in five years time hope that the new player might be as good as the one that you got rid of.

Tdk looks invested to me. Good follow-up efforts. Hopefully he can see what we can become. Definite keep.

But surely you must understand that draft picks are better than actual players. Because you can draft a player and in five years time hope that the new player might be as good as the one that you got rid of.

Tdk looks invested to me. Good follow-up efforts. Hopefully he can see what we can become. Definite keep.
100%
He’s just starting to put it all together, 51 games FFS 👍

It might be too late for Carlton, but TDK needs to be first ruck and allowed to develop with an attacking game style.
Within 18 months, he's going to be a ripper.
Other clubs can see that

I thought TDK did some awesome things yesterday. He always has a great highlights package and yesterday it was his ferocious tackling that is etched in my memory.

However, the numbers say that statiscitcally he broke even with Lycett. TDK had a couple more touches, clearances & tackles, but he's finished with a lower hitout to advantage %, and Port (just) won clearances. Unless you are Max Gawn having 30 touches a game with huge influence around the ground, the primary measure of success for a tap ruckman is to impact clearance. We didn't get that impact from TDK yesterday.

I know TDK's still a work in progress.. but at this point in his career I would expect him to torch Lycett who has struggled to keep his spot at Port. And if that's not happening at clearance then he should be using his athleticism to punish a plodder like Lycett around the ground.

Autopsy 2023 Rd 18 Bruising Blues shortcircuit Power