List Mgmt. 2023 Trade & List Management Thread III

• Thread starter Thread starter giantroo

It is simple really.

The footy media are completely unaccountable for anything that they say. I mean what you've picked up on here is a next to meaningless thing but if you have no credibility to lose you can't lose credibility.

Kane says as much as he can about as much as he can and does so with clear bias towards Port and with a desire to be as on the edge as possible with basically the rest of it. It does not matter if what he says is right or not. Or whether it contradicts what he's said previously or is even cogent for the premises he sets up.

Last year Kane rode us into the ground about Corn-Francis and yet here we are a year later and he is talking about how Port should be able to trade a player against their will. It is straight up hypocrisy. But no one cares, there is no accountability.

Accountability isn't what Hutchison pays him for. He's paid to be a troll. Just like Caro is.

There is a large stain in the footy media, and Hutchison owns the lions share of it.
100%

and the blame doesnt lie withcorn or caro , it lies with the people who consume the media,

just like the womens rags are the conduit for which the papparazzi feed. If people didnt buy the media there wouldn't be a market to fill the media.

Hi everyone,

I have been an occasional lurker and have just signed up to ask what you guys think of this hypothetical four way trade.

PA: In: Esava Ratugolea Out: 25
GEE: In: 15, 18, 23, 37 Out: 8, Esava Ratugolea
WC: In:3, 8, 25 Out: 1, 23, 37
NM: In: 1 Out: 3, 15, 18

Sticking point for me is whether Geelong want that quantity of picks? I have no idea how many list spots they have open.

Which clubs wouldn't agree?

What do you guys think from a NM perspective?
Welcome JimmyRoo

Whilst I’m not particularly keen on us trading 3 picks for pick 1, if the club goes for it it’s probably going to look something like that. Pretty close to the mark for all parties I reckon. 👍

Gee he’s overrated on here

Hope we go nowhere near him

Get me wiz

Usual caveats apply about how I've only seen limited footage of this year's underage crop, but....

Watson is a totally different type of small forward to Spargo.

One specialises in kicking bags, the other in stopping opposition defenders waltzing the ball out of the forward 50.

I'd like both, but the latter seems especially critical.

I can't believe we're still talking Lowson. He's 28 years old next week.

Our picks 15, 17 & 18 are higher than all the first selections for Brisbane, Carlton, Collingwood, Fremantle, Port Adelaide and Richmond.

We have pick 2 + 3, and still have three first round picks. I'll be furious if we trade these out for small gains. FIVE first round picks is the way we complete this rebuild.
true however our recruiters historically have had a tendency to waste them rather than select candidates with potential, , trading 19 for CCJ for example, or marns with a 2nd rounder or the obsession with all those queenslanders such as williamson and wagner . we are never going to get better as a list if we keep squandering our picks.

the state of or list ensures this, same can be said for kayno still being on the list and potentually next years as well.

At least Kayne was an AFL listed player as an under ager and is a one club player.

Lowson's chance was up three years ago when he was touted to go top in the MSD and he got bypassed completely through injury.

Welcome JimmyRoo

Whilst I’m not particularly keen on us trading 3 picks for pick 1, if the club goes for it it’s probably going to look something like that. Pretty close to the mark for all parties I reckon. 👍
Thanks mate,

I really would be happy with our draft hand either way. But I do like the idea of Reid from a bums on seats point of view, might provide the club with a little bit of much needed marketability

At least Kayne was an AFL listed player as an under ager and is a one club player.

Lowson's chance was up three years ago when he was touted to go top in the MSD and he got bypassed completely through injury.
i think if you read around there are even some more radical suggestions, all bred through desperation of course. fwif i agree on your take with lowson,

It's interesting to go back and compare the Clayton Oliver and Josh Kelly trades in comparison to what a rumoured deal for Reid would look like.

Both ended up as an overwhelming win for the clubs moving up the order.

Ben Amarfio even told us the other week that he had no friends and he was immature as *. He literally said he left the club with 2 friends. TT and Curtis
Whilst it rurned out pretty good for in that case effectively getting wardlaw is could have cost us a lot of draft collateral. Any professional team needs to be inclusive to be competitive. I have played with some bona fide weirdos in my playing days but sheesh some could turn it on. Even had a couple of tea totlers and churchies who everyone generally accepted.

Even dani laidley came out recently and said that they didnt particularly engage in the culture at the time but sheesh was an intrigal part of the team.

It's interesting to go back and compare the Clayton Oliver and Josh Kelly trades in comparison to what a rumoured deal for Reid would look like.

Both ended up as an overwhelming win for the clubs moving up the order.

Josh Kelly:

Dom Tyson
Pick 9 (Christian Salem)
Pick 53 (Passed - Josh walker at 54)
Greater Western SydneyMelbournePick 2 (Kelly)
Pick 20 ( Jarman Impey - Ontraded to Port in Polec 3 way Trade)
Pick 72 (Passed
Next Pick Jeremy McGovern Rookie Upograde
Next Live Pick (Non Rookie) Johnathon Marsh @ pick 77)

Clayton Oliver:

Pick 3 (Oliver)
Pick 10 (Ontraded for Pick 7 and Thomas Bugg - Sam Weideman)
Pick 43 (Cameron Loersch)
Gold CoastMelbournePick 6 (Callum Ah Chee)
Pick 29 (Josh Schoenfeld)
2016 first round pick (Will Brodie)