Discussion 2024 General Discussion / Help

I just don’t reckon it is that easy to pull off and likelier to go awry.
But who knows?

no from me - rd 6&7 you need to be upgrading not sidewaysing

Yeah this is correct.

And round 3 top priority should be rookie corrections not swapping a premo to Sam Walsh.

Injuries are the other factor that no one talks about. There were truckloads early in the season last year. It's unlikely there are none this year so that may prevent bye flipping.

Anybody genuinely thinking about this idea of flicking blokes around the early byes like Angus Brayshaw > Daicos, or whatever the scenario was?

Seems a bit too much wishful thinking, interested to see if anyone is really planning on going down that path.

I fully anticipate I'll be having enough trouble dealing with injuries than having the luxury of doing those sorts of moves.

The positive is you will now know who won't be sub - few times last year when rookies were on emerg list and couldn't use a loop in case they were sub.

Is every round where there's a bye top 18? If a mid pricer / fallen premo from an early bye team starts like a house on fire I feel like getting on them early, even if it means you miss a week's score in a best 18 round, would be worth it though. There's a fair few price rises you'll be behind otherwise.

Seems like there's a few additional layers to consider this yr

• 8 of the first 15 rounds best 18 only
  • 40 trades
  • Rd 2 prices rises for some
  • Extra byes for some
  • A look at 8 teams before setting starting lineup

On face value it seems to be even more of a sprint than previous yrs which lends itself to guns / rookies with more churn and burn, but there's always a place for a few mid pricers early as they could pay there way or at worst give you more flex to fix errors

On face value it seems to be even more of a sprint than previous yrs which lends itself to guns / rookies with more churn and burn
This was my undoing last year .......the AFL's crackdown on concussions, caused an avalanche of injuries .....plus a higher than normal injury rate to previous resilient players

Now, if the AFL introduce a 21 day recovery from concussions .....plus other rule changes the AFL gets heavy handed with early season .......I'm treading carefully, and not sprinting with trades

Seems like there's a few additional layers to consider this yr

• 8 of the first 15 rounds best 18 only
  • 40 trades
  • Rd 2 prices rises for some
  • Extra byes for some
  • A look at 8 teams before setting starting lineup

On face value it seems to be even more of a sprint than previous yrs which lends itself to guns / rookies with more churn and burn, but there's always a place for a few mid pricers early as they could pay there way or at worst give you more flex to fix errors
Think:

More trades lends itself to midprice strategies / value generation.
(Pushes it in the direction of AF,.)
Agree that best 18 pushes it back a little toward GnR, but early on is when you have the lowest number of premos, so it means that you will be fielding more of those rookie scores than in the midyear bye rounds.
Personally reckon the nudge is to more midprice / value, and finding creative ways to use the extra trades to get to your 'final" side faster.
At least for most.
But haven't thought about it a ton.

Think:

Agree that best 18 pushes it back a little toward GnR, but early on is when you have the lowest number of premos, so it means that you will be fielding more of those rookie scores than in the midyear bye rounds.
Personally reckon the nudge is to more midprice / value, and finding creative ways to use the extra trades to get to your 'final" side faster.
At least for most.
Yeah I'm still trying to piece it together as well. The Rd 2 price rise for some rookies is an interesting change. A guy like Gibcus you could argue has limited value at 150K with a low ceiling but when he's rising before others the equation changes a bit, esp if he can be flipped at the bye. Teams will change so much after Rd 0 this yr, a free look at rookie scores and roles for half the comp even if they do have early byes.

The positive is you will now know who won't be sub - few times last year when rookies were on emerg list and couldn't use a loop in case they were sub.
Unless your loophole donut is a late IN :devil:

Yep. Thanks Damien Hardwick you massive sook. Going to need to be super alert on weekends. Cancel your holidays lol.
Ah, was it in response to a comment from Hardwick?
It seems a bit unfriendly to fantasy, which they might not care about, but also not great for betting(?)
Bit of a run of decisions which adversely impact fantasy stuff, and a lot struggle to maintain interest as is
Now you have to check in advance of games more than ever before.

SC Data bloke pulled the pin.
Wouldn't say scorched earth, but he strafed a couple on the way out in the thread. Bit sad, good fella and nifty as.
wedding-crashers.gif

SC Data bloke pulled the pin.
Wouldn't say scorched earth, but he strafed a couple on the way out in the thread. Bit sad, good fella and nifty as.
View attachment 1900094

Sounds like he needs a hug.

Monsters Inc Hug GIF

Then have a cup of cement and harden up...

Sounds like he needs a hug.

Monsters Inc Hug GIF

Then have a cup of cement and harden up...
So where do we go now to find out how many trades campaigners have left at the pointy end ? 🧐
And hope someone keeps the 5 year rolling average going.

Have to buy DFS another coffee, can't lose them, the game has gone past watching footy and gut feel

If Mod’s see this as advertising please remove.

So much content available on YouTube now however
Moreira’s Magic season guide for SuperCoach is due out this week for about $30.
Assuming it has input from Big Footy’s own Barry Roundhouse .

100% of sales pre season goes to children’s starlight foundation.

Ah, was it in response to a comment from Hardwick?
It seems a bit unfriendly to fantasy, which they might not care about, but also not great for betting(?)
Bit of a run of decisions which adversely impact fantasy stuff, and a lot struggle to maintain interest as is
Now you have to check in advance of games more than ever before.

He had a massive cry when he had to drop Cotchin and then name him sub. I'm sure most coaches prefer this format to be fair but it's bad for fantasy.

Think:

At least for most.
What's the thinking behind how more trades helps a mid priced strategy?

The more trades we have, the less we have to depend on GnR, because we don't just have the 24 trades to work with (to my thinking, that meant starting as many players as you could that would be in your final side was more important).
And, at least early on, sides with some more midpriced options might generate more points on field than GnR (2*350k on field going at 90 = 180 pts, one premo at 570k gives you 110 plus a 130k kid gives you 60,.say - 180 vs 170 and cash-wise you're maybe 30-40k ahead, and you have more trades to be able.to jump.from those midpricers to premos who have fallen in value in the meantime).
That was the very basic thinking,and it's hard to avoid choosing numbers which suit one's argument, but in general, the midpricers have a better strike rate than the rookies.as well. Plenty of dead rookies each year who generate zero points on-field and no cash, and the odd midpricer means you don't end up with some of the dead rookies (you still want and absolutely need the higher quality rookies, they give you good points/dollar and generate the best return on your cash.
It is still dependent on picking the 'right' value options, just think more trades opens it up to that a bit more, or swings the pendulum away from purer GnR. That's a better way to put it.
But just my very high-level thinking, could be wrong.
I think the strike rate on successful midpricers (again, if you pick the right ones) was highest in that 350-450k bracket, somebody looked at it at some stage.
Happy to be proven wrong (and probably will be in the next ten minutes).

The more trades we have, the less we have to depend on GnR, because we don't just have the 24 trades to work with (to my thinking, that meant starting as many players as you could that would be in your final side was more important).
And, at least early on, sides with some more midpriced options might generate more points on field than GnR (2*350k on field going at 90 = 180 pts, one premo at 570k gives you 110 plus a 130k kid gives you 60,.say - 180 vs 170 and cash-wise you're maybe 30-40k ahead, and you have more trades to be able.to jump.from those midpricers to premos who have fallen in value in the meantime).
That was the very basic thinking,and it's hard to avoid choosing numbers which suit one's argument, but in general, the midpricers have a better strike rate than the rookies.as well. Plenty of dead rookies each year who generate zero points on-field and no cash, and the odd midpricer means you don't end up with some of the dead rookies (you still want and absolutely need the higher quality rookies, they give you good points/dollar and generate the best return on your cash.
It is still dependent on picking the 'right' value options, just think more trades opens it up to that a bit more, or swings the pendulum away from purer GnR. That's a better way to put it.
I think the strike rate on successful midpricers (again, if you pick the right ones) was highest in that 350-450k bracket, somebody looked at it at some stage.
Cheers for that, got it. I think the bolded bit is key and 100% agree with it, if you hit a few Ziebell types from last yr they can punch out tons weekly and make cash as well. They're also super handy for early season restructures if they head south, pure GnR can make jumping on a ~250K hard if you have no mid pricers and no cash.

As you say the key will be hitting the right ones

IMO the early byes help GnR, assuming you have 12 premo/10 rookies on field you get to drop 4 rookie scores in 4 of the first 6 rounds, and also loop at times. After than we're doing upgrades so you start getting the worst rookies off field.

Having said that there is almost no choice but to punt on a couple of MP's in the forward line.