How the actual **** is Geelong considered a top 8 team ahead of Carlton and the Bulldogs?2 SA clubs, 2 NSW clubs. 1 Qld Club, Geelong and two Melbourne clubs. The AFL will need to redo the fixture ASAP.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
How the actual **** is Geelong considered a top 8 team ahead of Carlton and the Bulldogs?2 SA clubs, 2 NSW clubs. 1 Qld Club, Geelong and two Melbourne clubs. The AFL will need to redo the fixture ASAP.
It's based on data, for majority of the 2023 season the Cats had amazing % they just had a butt-tonne of injuries throughout the season and then late in the year sent guys for surgery early so tanked those games and played the really young fellas.How the actual **** is Geelong considered a top 8 team ahead of Carlton and the Bulldogs?
Great review and well spotted. Yes I did feel a sense of familiarity about it all, but not to the extent you've pointed out.Bit late to the party, but has anyone else noticed our 2023 and 2024 fixtures are almost identical?
Both years we play double up match ups against Collingwood, Melbourne, Adelaide, St Kilda & Gold Coast. The only difference is in 2024 we traded a double up against Freo for a double up against GWS.
Overall there are only 3 real changes (i.e. playing someone different or playing a team in a different state) and then there are three incredibly minor venue changes.
Replaced Freo at the Gabba with GWS
Moved Carlton from Marvel to Gabba
Moved WCE from Gabba to Optus
Moved North from Mt Barker to Norwood
Moved Hawks from MCG to Marvel
Moved Collingwood from Marvel to MCG
That's it.
Doesn't feel all that 'random' to me, all this talk about how much planning goes into the fixture. I feel like they just borrowed their own homework and changed a few things hoping no one would notice. But I did.
Now do that for every club... I can guarantee they don't start with a set fixture for the Lions and work their way backwards from that.Bit late to the party, but has anyone else noticed our 2023 and 2024 fixtures are almost identical?
Both years we play double up match ups against Collingwood, Melbourne, Adelaide, St Kilda & Gold Coast. The only difference is in 2024 we traded a double up against Freo for a double up against GWS.
Overall there are only 3 real changes (i.e. playing someone different or playing a team in a different state) and then there are three incredibly minor venue changes.
That's it.
Doesn't feel all that 'random' to me, all this talk about how much planning goes into the fixture. I feel like they just borrowed their own homework and changed a few things hoping no one would notice. But I did.
Add in the fact we are playing GWS in ACT and Port Adelaide and Adelaide in South Australia againBit late to the party, but has anyone else noticed our 2023 and 2024 fixtures are almost identical?
That's it.

Agree with most except Freo/WC don't get an extra home game to make up for gather round.On a day where Fremantle are complaining about the amount of travel they have to do, we are not far behind.
I've probably mentioned this more than anyone else but I still think it's very unfair that we have away games against Port, Adelaide, West Coast and Fremantle plus the Gather Round making it 5 trips to SA/WA. No club in the history of the AFL has had to travel to SA/WA this many times in a season. I've had a quick look through the draw and I might be wrong but no other club has that many trips west.
3 of those trips are done but we still have away games vs. Port and WC to come.
Giving Freo/WC an extra home game to make up for the Gather Round would mean you'd have to do the same for NSW/QLD teams - the point that the GR is a free home game for SA based teams though is still a fair one.
Fair enough i did not know that.West Coast and Freo have their own dressing rooms at Optus; they don’t alternate.
Speaking of Friday night games, the AFL may soon be thinking it was a pretty shit idea dumping us to Sundays off our start of year form.Given who plays who in round 24, I reckon the Lions v Bombers game will almost certainly be the Friday night game at the Gabba particularly with the connotations that will likely flow from the game.
Speaking of Friday night games, the AFL may soon be thinking it was a pretty shit idea dumping us to Sundays off our start of year form.
We play a pretty attractive brand of footy when we are up and running.
Sunday 1:10 pm Brisbane vs Sydney at the Gabba is a big loss considering the FTA games are Essendon vs Adelaide, Geelong vs Dogs and Freo vs Melbourne.
I get as far as the 3rd paragraph before I crack the sh!ts.Trust the Guardian to give a good analysis
https://www.theguardian.com/sport/b...ootball-fixture-inequities-quirks-few-favours
Maybe one day it will dawn on the AFL that without the clubs with reasonably low supporter bases you can't have clubs with mammoth supporter bases. They have to play somebody.I get as far as the 3rd paragraph before I crack the sh!ts.
“The two KPIs of the fixture are broadcast viewership and attendance”
Fair dinkum, they should be "equity" and "fairness", not to mention "transparency".
Every season, at the end of week 17 (which I believe is now week 18), the average NFL fan sitting on their couch at home immediately knows exactly who their team will be playing next year. And I think they even know where as well. The "when" is obviously determined later but genuinely you can barely get more transparent than that.
That's a benchmark we can only dream of here while we are still mired in this desperate quest for "viewership and attendance" instead. It's backwater bush league stuff.