AFL player investigated for drug dealing

What do you actually want to do about it? What do you want to see done?
Would you like to see this country turn into a police state and everyone who took drugs, arrested and chucked in the slammer?

What f**kin' world are you living in, mate?

Last night, I was listening to SEN and I laughed my arse off as Shibeci and his mate contemplated this "massive" problem of not only drugs in football, but drugs in society. They sounded genuinely frightened and helpless. Like it was Dawn Of The Dead or Invasion Of The Body Snatchers.

This is the only positive out of this whole hysteria of "illicit drugs in football"

It means that people who haven't got a f**kin' clue are opening their eyes and realizing that drugs are about and people will take them. Not just druggie scumbags, but healthy fit people, Brownlow Medallists and AFL Hall Of Famers.

You cannot eliminate this so-called "drug problem"
Drugs are everywhere.

Hopefully with all this natter, more people will realise how futile prohibition is.

The day they make all drugs legal and available over the counter, is they day our society can start moving forwards. People free to make their own choices and enjoy themselves. People able to seek medical help rather than be marginalised or criminalised.

Imagine how much safer the world would be if we legalised all drugs, not just a handful of socially-acceptable drugs, but if we removed the whole criminality surrounding harder drugs. Our police force would have nothing left to do.

It's unfortunate that the wowsers think all kids will start shooting up heroin if it was legal. Everyone knows it's a road to ruin. It doesn't matter if it's legal or illegal, the same number of people are going to go down that path.

Well done for a hairy Wookie.. Its a argument I have always been interested in.

But tell me this, has this been trialled anywhere in the world with success?

Alcohol abuse is a bigger problem than drugs and thats legal. Would the problem be worse if it was not legal? Ask Al Capone huh?

I think this is a bit more than a rumour.

A source close to the AFL star said the investigated player's affinity with drugs "went to another level'' when he started dealing.
"He would brag about making $10,000 a week from it,'' the source said. "He's had scales and cutting equipment just lying around his house. His teammates would just come over and pick it up.''
The player would openly use and deal illicit substances during the Spring Racing Carnival, the source said.
"At the spring carny . . . it was rife, just out of control. Two or three times a day, every day ... he'd have it in his pocket and just do it then and there.''...

DO YOU NOT READ OTHER PEOPLE'S POSTS?

This 'source' is the one that Christine Nixon called 'not credible ' and 'unreliable' . That usually means that they think it's rubbish.
Ask yourself this? Have the HUN ever done this selective reporting before ( by omitting her statement) ?
In the second half of the story they basically gave free reign to the Channel 7 director. Have the HUN ever backed a fellow journalist in an argument and have the HUN and Ch7 had a close relationship for decades?

This is just getting worse, hope this latest story is not true.

Out of curiosity, why?

Why do you hope it isn't true?

Does the average footy fan gives a rat's coit about the 'image of the game'?

Has 'Baghdad Vlad' conned everyone on the importance of the game's image?

Why would anyone care about this - as a football fan?

I know what you're saying! We're still copping it! :thumbsu:
The most disappointing aspect of all of this as far as I'm concerned is that the club was given no chance to properly deal with the situation, but instead, have been forced into "damage control".

They were prevented from knowing about the postive test results (in accordance with the AFL & AFLPA's confidentiality agreement)

Had they been made aware, they would've acted appropriately.

Nor is there any evidence that this is an on-going problem for the club.
According to the rumours, this "drug culture" was limited to handful of players and for all we know, it has been nipped in the bud. Supposing half of these stories are true, then it's a given the club would've heard the whispers and taken the appropriate action.

Maybe some people think sackings and public floggings are in order, but I can't see what that would achieve. It's a bit like in parliament, when the opposition can smell blood and demand the sacking of a government minister, except we aren't talking about mature people running the country, we are talking about young footballers who have stuffed up.

People said that Collingwood should sack Didak. They didn't.
People said that West Coast should sack Cousins. They didn't.
People said that Carlton should sack Fevola. They didn't.
People said that Fremantle should sack Farmer. They didn't.
People said that St Kilda should sack Milne and Montagna. They didn't.
I could go on and on.

In the end, it's probably a good thing that clubs stand by their players.

So what?

Not trying to be insensitive, but thats your experience and, I gotta say, its not the norm.

No worries, you're free to believe what you want about drugs, and to push the message to your kids that they're OK and there's no price to pay. But don't cry or shift the blame to the dealers when things go pear-shaped.

Christ I wish you morons would stop raising this issue.

The boys were cleared when sexual abuse was a national story and with the police under unprecedented public scrutiny on this issue. In fact I'd go as far to say there was a public witch hunt at the time on professional footballers and sexual abuse charges.

They were completely cleared of all charges in that environment.

Stop trying to deflect from the issue by doing exactly what you are complaining about.

As for the issue of clubs being informed. Why should they? Clubs have shown in the past given the opportunity they'll put success ahead of dealing with player indiscretions. Look no further than West Coast. By their own admission they were aware of the problem last year and basically did nothing about it. I have a sneaking suspicion too there are clubs that have traded players knowing full well they had an existing problem.

The AFL are the people that should be dealing with this issue and they should be dealing with it by handing out suspensions. This whole player rehab is a farce and it's about time we made players face up to their responsibilities.

The boys were cleared when sexual abuse was a national story and with the police under unprecedented public scrutiny on this issue. In fact I'd go as far to say there was a public witch hunt at the time on professional footballers and sexual abuse charges.

Stop trying to deflect from the issue by doing exactly what you are complaining about.

As for the issue of clubs being informed. Why should they? Clubs have shown in the past given the opportunity they'll put success ahead of dealing with player indiscretions. Look no further than West Coast. By their own admission they were aware of the problem last year and basically did nothing about it. I have a sneaking suspicion too there are clubs that have traded players knowing full well they had an existing problem.

The AFL are the people that should be dealing with this issue and they should be dealing with it by handing out suspensions. This whole player rehab is a farce and it's about time we made players face up to their responsibilities.

Just be glad he didnt bring up the P train. :thumbsu:

It's 100% relevent to this thread because the 2 st kilda players were investigated without being charged, just like the player referred to in the OP.

Well done for a hairy Wookie.. Its a argument I have always been interested in.

But tell me this, has this been trialled anywhere in the world with success?

Alcohol abuse is a bigger problem than drugs and thats legal. Would the problem be worse if it was not legal? Ask Al Capone huh?

We have methadone programs for heroin addicts.
Although not ideal, at least they help in some small way.
People are able to get their lives under control.

Turn your question around. Ask yourself if there is anywhere in the world where prohibition has worked.
Most of these drugs have been illegal for decades. Goverments have tried to stamp it out. The mighty US of A has waged a global war on drug distribution. To what effect? People still get their hands on 'em, no matter what they try. In China, they execute addicts, shoot them in the back of the head, or hang them. But it doesn't stop them. People still choose to use. So what's the net effect of prohibition?

All I can see is that corrupt officials and gangsters get themselves very, very rich.
And people like you and me get out houses broken into and lose our TV sets.

Look at Police Force, our Drug Squads... Are people's memories that short?
Only a few years ago, half of the Victorian Drug Squad were out of control.
They locked up a few of the bad apples, but what about the rest of them?
Yeah... Let's move on. Let's name and shame our footballers instead.

The most disappointing aspect of all of this as far as I'm concerned is that the club was given no chance to properly deal with the situation, but instead, have been forced into "damage control".

They were prevented from knowing about the postive test results (in accordance with the AFL & AFLPA's confidentiality agreement)

Had they been made aware, they would've acted appropriately.

Nor is there any evidence that this is an on-going problem for the club.
According to the rumours, this "drug culture" was limited to handful of players and for all we know, it has been nipped in the bud. Supposing half of these stories are true, then it's a given the club would've heard the whispers and taken the appropriate action.

Maybe some people think sackings and public floggings are in order, but I can't see what that would achieve. It's a bit like in parliament, when the opposition can smell blood and demand the sacking of a government minister, except we aren't talking about mature people running the country, we are talking about young footballers who have stuffed up.

People said that Collingwood should sack Didak. They didn't.
People said that West Coast should sack Cousins. They didn't.
People said that Carlton should sack Fevola. They didn't.
People said that Fremantle should sack Farmer. They didn't.
I could go on and on.

In the end, it's probably a good thing that clubs stand by their players.

If the stuff is true, werent they undergoing counselling and rehab ? They were doing the best they could given their (admittedly self-inflicted') circumstances.

Its a bit like fibbing to the tribunal, then admitting it later, only to be fined for doing the 'right thing'.

They are not in breach of the code - the only point in naming them is to remove stigma from team-mates, anthough thet would not be lifted in 'some' peoples eyes !

Meanwhile Hawk fans can enjoy the 'side-effects' in the finals this year !!

It's 100% relevent to this thread because the 2 st kilda players were investigated without being charged, just like the player referred to in the OP.

Has the player in the OP been named? :confused:

Here's an idea: How about Channel 7 subject every single one of their employees to a drugs test?

I don't want my kids watching no druggie actors on Home And Away.
Those young actors are role models.

Independent drugs tests for all the high-level management and all their on-screen talent

Name them and shame them!

F**kin' w***ers....

Not true, they got rid of Michael Gardiner.

And what are you suggesting Michael got up to Timmid? How is that relevant to the issue of drugs?

You have no right to be naming or implicating him with the drugs issue. If this is allowed why not list the players in the most recent case?

Here's an idea: How about Channel 7 subject every single one of their employees to a drugs test?

I don't want my kids watching no druggie actors on Home And Away.
Those young actors are role models.

Independent drugs tests for all the high-level management and all their on-screen talent

Name them and shame them!

F**kin' w***ers....

Chewy I think you need to take a Bex and have a lie down. :)

This is getting to you.

I love all of the "where there's smoke there's fire blab" when the Age article states:

"What happened was it was looked at, we determined that the information was not credible nor reliable, so we did not pursue that investigation any further," Ms Nixon said.

Not credible or reliable.

AFL player investigated for drug dealing