Training Pre season training

Alright.

What have you done with Gringo and is he okay?

Been saying it for ages. The footy department is funded how I’ve been asking, the recruitment staff are top shelf. List management and fitness staff are a bit of a watch but still above what we had. I can’t fault that stuff and I credit Lyon with designing that architecture.

It doesn’t guarantee success but at least we aren’t running with our shoe laces tangled.

Lyon with a coaching team looks a good set up too. As a head coach he has some faults but with a few extra voices and him delegating better it all looks good.

When he locks up the field and the brand is unwatchable I’ll probably still melt though.

Been saying it for ages. The footy department is funded how I’ve been asking, the recruitment staff are top shelf. List management and fitness staff are a bit of a watch but still above what we had. I can’t fault that stuff and I credit Lyon with designing that architecture.

It doesn’t guarantee success but at least we aren’t running with our shoe laces tangled.

Lyon with a coaching team looks a good set up too. As a head coach he has some faults but with a few extra voices and him delegating better it all looks good.

When he locks up the field and the brand is unwatchable I’ll probably still melt though.
But the base of the house has been built and that is the main thing.

Although injuries have made us cactus for being attacking.

Lyon as a footy director is a great fit. Hopefully we can build a coaching team behind him that is elite. Even if he doesn’t make finals this year the path we are on is so far ahead of what we had. It’s the first time that our set up has been absolutely top level.
How long does Basset still have, and can they extend the term if need be?
A very important piece of the jigsaw.

I still reckon that the club feels that Enright is the man who will coach us next.

Played with the cats, coached as a development and then assistant coach, now with us as an assistant and now is pretty much 2IC to Lyon.

Maybe he loves the coaching element but doesn’t love the limelight. It doesn’t have to look like every other side, it just has to work for us.

How long does Basset still have, and can they extend the term if need be?
A very important piece of the jigsaw.

He seems to understand that you have to invest in certain areas to give yourself a seat at the table. It’s amazing how few of our administrators have understood the basics.

If he wasn’t a public figure it wouldn’t even be worth a mention. If every person that had drunk too much on a night out was judged against coward punchers or violent thugs there wouldn’t be many able to pass judgment
I'm not judging him or saying he should be judged I'm just saying players need to be careful because a fun night can turn bad pretty easily and whether you agree with it or not they have to uphold a certain set of values or face bans. Look at the GWS guys that got banned.

I just don’t see the need for it for 2 reasons.

1. It takes any pressure off the coach in 2025.

Did he need pressure? No.

But if we are bottom 3-4 and we have missed out on the free agents because we stunk the place out - it would have been a welcome backstory to 2026 with Ross OOC at the seasons end.

2.we could have made the same decision at the conclusion of the season and avoided any negative media if 1. Was to occur.
I think they locked it down to remove all the early 2026 media speculation similar to the current Western Bulldogs.

Makes me think that many in the inner sanctum think the this year is looking bottom four...

Might have missed some from previous, but threadmarks now updated for those playing along to view around those instances for play by play things as they occur.

Just as I had to also delete some things; please be aware that anything trending to illegal activities, even if in a joking instance, gets removed. This includes naming drug paraphernalia without any sort of context where you can view and see it as illicit use inference.

All well and good to have overlap conversations on things, and public things like the Cats previous problems or murmurs at the Pies and Dons and co, but wisen up people as next time those stating things will get points for voiding site terms.

I just don’t see the need for it for 2 reasons.

1. It takes any pressure off the coach in 2025.

Did he need pressure? No.

But if we are bottom 3-4 and we have missed out on the free agents because we stunk the place out - it would have been a welcome backstory to 2026 with Ross OOC at the seasons end.

2.we could have made the same decision at the conclusion of the season and avoided any negative media if 1. Was to occur.

It kinda doesn't, as you can pay out contracts it'd just be bad business in the end, so pressures still there to perform.

It does give a sense of security to continue with plans and knowing that you're not beholden to a rapidly approaching deadline. Doing it later would give securities sure, more on the club side, but why do later what you can do today if you have set plans in place and you know it's going to take multiple years to come to fruition? Makes no sense to delay really.

And real talk; if Media want to pot shot us, we could cure cancer and they'll still pot shot us. You don't base business decisions off possible public blowback when you generally already know you have a somewhat hostile media towards you to begin with. That'd be bad business all round and far too reactionary for further negative media cycle.

He’s had many failed and promiscuous relationships, horrific body and health, he’s “Boring”…

ps don’t get in a tizz please, I’m extracting the urine. And if so - take it to the random thread where we can get politics banned again like that time Joffa sooked it up deluxe and had the whole thing shut down 😎
Can we get back to the topic PRE SEASON TRAINING pleeese

Might have missed some from previous, but threadmarks now updated for those playing along to view around those instances for play by play things as they occur.

Just as I had to also delete some things; please be aware that anything trending to illegal activities, even if in a joking instance, gets removed. This includes naming drug paraphernalia without any sort of context where you can view and see it as illicit use inference.

All well and good to have overlap conversations on things, and public things like the Cats previous problems or murmurs at the Pies and Dons and co, but wisen up people as next time those stating things will get points for voiding site terms.

It kinda doesn't, as you can pay out contracts it'd just be bad business in the end, so pressures still there to perform.

It does give a sense of security to continue with plans and knowing that you're not beholden to a rapidly approaching deadline. Doing it later would give securities sure, more on the club side, but why do later what you can do today if you have set plans in place and you know it's going to take multiple years to come to fruition? Makes no sense to delay really.

And real talk; if Media want to pot shot us, we could cure cancer and they'll still pot shot us. You don't base business decisions off possible public blowback when you generally already know you have a somewhat hostile media towards you to begin with. That'd be bad business all round and far too reactionary for further negative media cycle.
Firstly, just to make clear. I’ve been an obvious Lyon nut hugger since his return. I stand by it being the right call. I don’t want him sacked. I think he is the right man for the job.

But, he still had another season of his deal and we have evidently undergone a rebuild without completely bottoming out. A bad season this year should have him under pressure. It should have everyone involved on notice.

The extension today just doesn’t look good in my eyes. A bad season should have us under the microscope and a coach on an extended deal before a balls bounced takes the heat off poor performance - because Ross won’t be sacked before the end of that deal. That’s a fact. We can talk otherwise and reference Ratten if we felt the need to. But it just won’t happen.

Narrative will be very important in our actions. You’re seeing it now with this so called war chest. All of a sudden Marcus bloody Windhager was brought up on gettable as someone who should hold fire and see how much $$$ he can extract during contract talks 😂.

Examples that look better: Announce the extension around draft time if we finish bottom 4. That sells that we are all in on the rebuild with Ross.

An extension post a finals campaign. Simple sell. All in.

An extension in December after a nothing year and a review of the coaching group and playing list that shows we believe we have the right man. We are serious about success.

Signing an extension today and then hypothetically we stink this season - just seems like another poor, misguided decision. Yes, also every chance we have a great year play finals and it looks like a masterstroke. But the position the club finds itself in with Bassat and Ross being very outspoken just doesn’t need this type of focus if in all likelihood - we are season over by the mid season point and it’s largely because of injuries.

Perception. Image. Narrative. It’s important for us and where we are on our journey to be a contender - that this is something we own.

I think we missed a trick and hopefully this gives you an understanding as to what I’m thinking about it all.

Firstly, just to make clear. I’ve been an obvious Lyon nut hugger since his return. I stand by it being the right call. I don’t want him sacked. I think he is the right man for the job.

But, he still had another season of his deal and we have evidently undergone a rebuild without completely bottoming out. A bad season this year should have him under pressure. It should have everyone involved on notice.

The extension today just doesn’t look good in my eyes. A bad season should have us under the microscope and a coach on an extended deal before a balls bounced takes the heat off poor performance - because Ross won’t be sacked before the end of that deal. That’s a fact. We can talk otherwise and reference Ratten if we felt the need to. But it just won’t happen.

Narrative will be very important in our actions. You’re seeing it now with this so called war chest. All of a sudden Marcus bloody Windhager was brought up on gettable as someone who should hold fire and see how much $$$ he can extract during contract talks 😂.

Examples that look better: Announce the extension around draft time if we finish bottom 4. That sells that we are all in on the rebuild with Ross.

An extension post a finals campaign. Simple sell. All in.

An extension in December after a nothing year and a review of the coaching group and playing list that shows we believe we have the right man. We are serious about success.

Signing an extension today and then hypothetically we stink this season - just seems like another poor, misguided decision. Yes, also every chance we have a great year play finals and it looks like a masterstroke. But the position the club finds itself in with Bassat and Ross being very outspoken just doesn’t need this type of focus if in all likelihood - we are season over by the mid season point and it’s largely because of injuries.

Perception. Image. Narrative. It’s important for us and where we are on our journey to be a contender - that this is something we own.

I think we missed a trick and hopefully this gives you an understanding as to what I’m thinking about it all.
I think you're overthinking this! It's just a quiet little 1 year extension, that pushes back the end of his contract. It will gain no media interest, and means that later this year, if we happening to be struggling a little, for whatever reason, the media hacks will look at how long to run on his contract and pass over the "is Ross under the pump" narrative that they live to push whenever a coach has anything under about 18 months left on a contract.......

The man said he’d find curing world famine then bought Twitter with the money and turned it into a right wing haven.

The left turning on him was understandable given he stopped pretending he was a leftist when it was gonna be profitable.
lol his starlink has done more for impoverished communities then most governments.

TSLA pushed other car makers to go down EV route and space x pushed nasa back into space exploration.

I think you're overthinking this! It's just a quiet little 1 year extension, that pushes back the end of his contract. It will gain no media interest, and means that later this year, if we happening to be struggling a little, for whatever reason, the media hacks will look at how long to run on his contract and pass over the "is Ross under the pump" narrative that they live to push whenever a coach has anything under about 18 months left on a contract.......
There is nothing to over think.

I don’t think the timing of such an extension is a good decision.

A poor season and no one is going to forget we signed the boss up for another 12 months. It feeds into the irrelevant club narrative.

A young bloke having a night out before the season starts in what is their last break for a while is hardly note worthy. Nothing to see here. Let’s move one.

Travaglia’s kicking was a concern when we drafted him. Let just send him to the midfield at Sandy to ply his trade. Its hard to be an above average wing/halfback with an average kick. If he becomes the standard of player we drafted him for it will be in the midfield.

If Marshall is training forward it sounds like Boyd is in and Keeler will miss out. Can’t see us going with Marshall, Caminiti and Keeler forward even if Owens is out.

My preference is to play Keeler over Caminiti just because I want to see him get a string of games.

Training Pre season training