Review Freo on the board after downing dirty birds in Derby 60

• Thread starter Thread starter Tonga Bob

Johnson had Harley’s number definitely. Harley seemed more interested in sooking and starting fights though, needs to grow up and focus on his footy.

Keeping Kelly quiet isn’t hard anymore, he looks completely checked out, a shell of the player he was. Reminds me of Jaidyn Stephenson, it’s getting sad now.

Like I said, they were solid today but need to see more going forward. Right now Johnson’s ceiling is Jarrod Berry and Erasmus’ ceiling is Lachie Weller. Hoping they can become more.
To be fair, Jarrod Berry is a very good footballer, if Johnson becomes something similar I’d take it.

More concerns over Erasmus, bloke should’ve stuck to cricket I think.

To be fair, Jarrod Berry is a very good footballer, if Johnson becomes something similar I’d take it.

More concerns over Erasmus, bloke should’ve stuck to cricket I think.
Not sure what you were watching today, Erasmus was solid and took a step forward imo.

He wasn't dreadful, but he's a pick 10 that's slow and has poor disposal.. very limited. Looks like he works hard, but I don't think he's got much of a ceiling really.
I was coaching the opposition and we came up against him and Cooper Connolly batting together for Scarborough, bloke was just as good as Coops - I still reckon he may have picked the wrong sport.

He wasn't dreadful, but he's a pick 10 that's slow and has poor disposal.. very limited. Looks like he works hard, but I don't think he's got much of a ceiling really.
I was coaching the opposition and we came up against him and Cooper Connolly batting together for Scarborough, bloke was just as good as Coops - I still reckon he may have picked the wrong sport.
The best way to describe Erasmus is analogue in a digital world. Everything is a bit slow and clunky. I think he could be a decent accumulator in days gone by but we don't have a spot for that in our team. Theres only so many touches to go around and between brayshaw and serong thats about 60 hopefully 90 with young. We aren't going to have 4 mids getting it that much.

MJ brings a bit more zip and a bigger body compared to Erasmus. I would like to see MJ play a few different roles, play him back play him forward as a 3rd tall. Would allow us to play an extra runner.

Need to find away to get 2 or 3 more players like Reid and Dudley.

I look forward to them kicking to Sturt later in the year

most players would go the tackle or the boundary line.

Special player tries that little soccer, truly outrageous tries the soccer and the tap back. You normally only see that thing from high flair indigenous small forwards like eddie betts or the wiz, now combine that with the handballing of diesel williams and boy o boy wowee

The best way to describe Erasmus is analogue in a digital world. Everything is a bit slow and clunky. I think he could be a decent accumulator in days gone by but we don't have a spot for that in our team. Theres only so many touches to go around and between brayshaw and serong thats about 60 hopefully 90 with young. We aren't going to have 4 mids getting it that much.

MJ brings a bit more zip and a bigger body compared to Erasmus. I would like to see MJ play a few different roles, play him back play him forward as a 3rd tall. Would allow us to play an extra runner.
I know they used MJ as a tagger on Reid yesterday, and JOM on Heeney last week, but I'd be tempted to give Ras a bit of a go as a proper tagger, old school Crowley style. I just think he's far too limited to be an attacking mid.

I suspect he likely goes out if all 3 of Young, JOM and Fyfe come in this week to be honest - we can't really have Fyfe, JOM and Ras in the same midfield, far too slow. It surprises me that of the two Ras was picked higher than MJ, just has less attributes.

I know they used MJ as a tagger on Reid yesterday, and JOM on Heeney last week, but I'd be tempted to give Ras a bit of a go as a proper tagger, old school Crowley style. I just think he's far too limited to be an attacking mid.

I suspect he likely goes out if all 3 of Young, JOM and Fyfe come in this week to be honest - we can't really have Fyfe, JOM and Ras in the same midfield, far too slow. It surprises me that of the two Ras was picked higher than MJ, just has less attributes.
I like taggers that can hurt you the other way. MJ can do that I feel, erasmus not so sure. JOM and MJ did such good jobs I presume JL would give them a crack again before trying Ras

Reid must be such an easy bloke to tag though, he's not that fit and easily wound up, you'd just niggle him enough. Was a non factor.
I am glad we are tagging again, I hated seeing us just let the opposition's best mid racking them up unchecked. I'd be putting a hard tag on Libba next week.

No I wouldn’t drop Johnno for him as Johnson is absolutely going to be vital as our 4th midfielder and we need to keep him developing as he ever so slowly is. The last three games have been his most consistently best games.

I would howver consider dropping JOM to give Ras a full 8 games or so as uouve suggested to properly asess him. I dont think we lose much by doing so and we know what we will get with the aging JOM.
they actually dont need to drop JOM, they just dont need to pick him now he didnt play yesterday.

It seemed like without JOM in, every ones roles was much more settled.

Voss gave Treacy the poke in the eye from overcelebrating O'Driscoll's opening goal (a high 5 in the eye) which sent him off the ground for a while in the first quarter with loss of vision. Treacy was talking about it on radio after the game but just saw vision of it for the 1st time on the mini-match highlights.
Really unforgivable this.

Loved Johnson on Reid yesterday. He’s got a bit of shit on the liver and he can also get the ball…

Maybe we’ve found our Cameron Ling type