Autopsy Round 4, 2025 - Saints upset Port in Adelaide!

I love the kid but like others at the club he is not giving himself the best chance to suceed. Its not about being conbative it about having the strength or body to hold your ground in marking or ruck contests. Everyone that defends our players in these discussions have obviously never been in a gym in a strength capacity. It doesnt take much for a young kid to put on serious muscle in one preseason if they are prepared to do the work.

Have a look at Keeler's physical development alongside a kid like Caminiti and thats simply doing the work in the gym. Dodson increased his size noticeably over the preseason. Max King compared to his identical twin Ben is another who lacks the body strength. Hunter Clark has been allowed to roll along without any serious physical development and IMO it has cost him injury and career wise.

Given the hours the kids do at the club, obviously they are expected to do work outside the club. Its human nature that some kids apply themselves and others dont. At the end of the the day I just want the best for every player at our club and if they are letting themselves down by not developing as well as others it should be called out.
I can assure ive spent time in the gym, both for regular training and football specific however both of us are talking as novices.

There is zero point comparing him to Camma, body composition, football playing style, personality and training load. Neither of us would have a clue whats been asked of either of them by the training staff either. Just because Camma has better definition i dont know what either of them lift or run so judging purely on aesthetics is false. When i say combative i mean physically, Camma is going to be a physical, wrestle first type of player because he doesnt have Keelers natural athleticism.

Clark is a weird one, hes mostly had collision injuries, you want him to do nose lifts?

Youre essentially saying that because Keeler isnt built like Boyd hes not working hard enough. Its a pretty silly take.

I can assure ive spent time in the gym, both for regular training and football specific however both of us are talking as novices.

There is zero point comparing him to Camma, body composition, football playing style, personality and training load. Neither of us would have a clue whats been asked of either of them by the training staff either. Just because Camma has better definition i dont know what either of them lift or run so judging purely on aesthetics is false. When i say combative i mean physically, Camma is going to be a physical, wrestle first type of player because he doesnt have Keelers natural athleticism.

Clark is a weird one, hes mostly had collision injuries, you want him to do nose lifts?

Youre essentially saying that because Keeler isnt built like Boyd hes not working hard enough. Its a pretty silly take.

Thats the type of response that continually occurs, Ive been in different gyms for 40 years and I have seen all types of training regimes. Some people go to the gym play on their phone throw a few weights around and think they have worked hard. Others do 45 to 90 minutes of intense training, eat properly and get the benefits. The only difference between Caminiti and Keeler would be work ethic in the gym, and you dont have to be a Sports Scientist to know that.

Thats the type of response that continually occurs. Some people go to the gym play on their phone throw a few weights around and think they have worked hard. Others do 45 to 90 minutes of intense training, eat properly and get the benefits. The only difference between Caminiti and Keeler would be work ethic in the gym, and you dont have to be a Sports Scientist to know that.

so...you're in the weights room are you? next tim youre there, take a picture of the players for us.....

How's Higgins work rate by the way? His pressure around the ball and up the ground has been fantastic this year. He's always been good for a goal but it's his work without the ball that is taking him to another level so far.

The guy doesn't get enough credit for how hard and dilligent he must be in his training and preparation.
He is absolutely jacked and fast and agile and has a great tank.

None of that happens by accident.

so...you're in the weights room are you? next tim youre there, take a picture of the players for us.....

Thats the issue 16 hours a week at the club - its what they are not doing in their down time!

The thing that Collard has on top of his pressure is he's absolute silk. So skillful. Wonderful to see him coming of age as a footballer.

If we can find a way to get Butler and Henry and of course King we could have one of the most potent forward lines in the comp.

This is a line that has been as much of an issue as the midfield in my opinion so it's really pleasing to see.
Especially as the delivery into the forwards appears to have improved enormously. Something we’ve been wanting for years.
I’ll guarantee King cannot wait to get back out there after years of having it dumped on his head.

GWS will be a big ask.

Norwood a postage stamp so reckon Boyd will come in for Keeler on his old home ground and at least provide a big body (unfortunately Keeler just couldn’t provide any real contest yesterday).

Marshall wasn’t particularly influential yesterday so for this game it might make sense for him to have a ruck buddy and rest forward. RTB noted yesterday we are undersized so I can’t see us going any smaller.
Wasn't Boyd a redleg? Would know the ground like the back of his hand.

Thats the type of response that continually occurs, Ive been in different gyms for 40 years and I have seen all types of training regimes. Some people go to the gym play on their phone throw a few weights around and think they have worked hard. Others do 45 to 90 minutes of intense training, eat properly and get the benefits. The only difference between Caminiti and Keeler would be work ethic in the gym, and you dont have to be a Sports Scientist to know that.
ooooookay mate.

You know their work ethic purely from seeing them in a footy jumper.

Cool.

How about body type?

I think Keeler can be a player but he's just not competing for in 1v1s at the moment it's glaringly obvious. This week Boyd will be back in for him & back at his old stomping ground Norwood oval. Not to mention we are the 'home' side this week.

Out: Keeler
In: Big bad Harry Boyd.
No no NO.

Boyd is far too slow to be a forward at AFL level.

I’m not bringing in boyd to just create a contest.

I’d rather persist with Keeler for the role if that’s the case.

Because when he does touch the thing there are traits that belong at the level. He moves well. He just can’t go physically.

As opposed to Boyd who is a 1 man wrecking ball and all power no finesse.

Ultimately. I just want a fit and firing Max back in.
One man wrecking ball who provides a contest - I'd say that's exactly what we need in smaller fwd line where the likes of Owens, Higgins, Hall, Collard are expected to provide many of the goals.

(And can also actually ruck when called on to do it)

In the end I don't care who fills in while King is unavailable - just as long as its someone who can do the job. Keeler, Heath, Boyd or even Cordy

And I don't care if they look like a giraffe, a one man wrecking ball or an athletic freak - they can't afford to be a passenger.

All you protein shake warriors are just jealous of Harley's don't argues.

ON-HarleyReid-WebBanner-767x895.jpg

One man wrecking ball who provides a contest - I'd say that's exactly what we need in smaller fwd line where the likes of Owens, Higgins, Hall, Collard are expected to provide many of the goals.

(And can also actually ruck when called on to do it)

In the end I don't care who fills in while King is unavailable - just as long as its someone who can do the job. Keeler, Heath, Boyd or even Cordy

And I don't care if they look like a giraffe, a one man wrecking or an athletic freak - they can't afford to be a passenger.
You do understand that playing forward is more than just the idea that they will provide a contest.

There is a craft here - especially coming up against an elite side this week with Taylor Himmelberg Buckley.

You have to engage your direct defender this week and keep them accountable by being a threat.

Boyd isn’t a forward 50 threat. Neither is Heath. If King doesn’t come up, we are literally looking at Keeler for a 4th game or we going Henry/Butler and trying to make it a scrap.

Autopsy Round 4, 2025 - Saints upset Port in Adelaide!