Autopsy Round 4, 2025 - Saints upset Port in Adelaide!

I think the tighter the windy tag the better. He hasn’t yet shown the ball winning ability without the tag.

Absolutely no shame being a tagger first and ball winner second. Cameron Ling made a very good career like that.
I hate when i agree with you.

His high speed stuff would be right up there. Hes defs a burst player but right now he has a real Kozi Pickett vibe. Would be terrifying for backlines when we have the ball and even scarier when they do.

His little nudge out to take that mark facing backwards from the ball shows real innate game sense. Just an incredible ability to time himself hitting the ball.

His high speed stuff would be right up there. Hes defs a burst player but right now he has a real Kozi Pickett vibe. Would be terrifying for backlines when we have the ball and even scarier when they do.
Friday night they were flashing Pickett highlights and obviously the night he buried us a few years ago as a kid made the screen.

Point is, I can’t wait for the physical transformation that Collard will go through. Like Kosi did.

When you can apply the speed to a seasoned AFL players body. That’s when the real exciting stuff will happen and you can use lance out of the midfield. Or high forward or even and we haven’t seen it yet…. Deep full forward like Charlie Cameron.

🤤

The Port side focussed on trying to rough him up and I think that let us get on top early. He looked a bit rattled but they were so focussed on not letting him hold them back that they forgot to watch the ball. It won't get him any votes but he was a contributor.
I reckon if you asked him hed say that he would gladly sacrifice his game for a win every single week.

As it is hes generally quite good at getting off his opponent when we get the footy. He needs a starting point though, its not a bad thing.

Pou will be our attacking mid, Garcia (Macrae and Steele) the in and under/defensive mid and Windy the one on one run with.

His little nudge out to take that mark facing backwards from the ball shows real innate game sense. Just an incredible ability to time himself hitting the ball.
Hes gonna make some very good defenders look very very silly

Yep, plenty of the "positive" posters got shitty whenever anyone suggested that we should be aiming for finals. Most of the board seemed to suggest that bottom 4 seemed about par.
Long time reader, occasional poster. What board where you reading when you thought "most of the board seemed to suggest that bottom 4 seemed about par"?

Ross on Travaglia

“We have been working out where he plays. We had him wing and u18s he was half back. We find he is instinctive and aggressive and He hunts the ball. The wide stuff where he holds the line challenges him. We think he will play onball and half back”
where are you getting this from? have you hacked his phone again?

I reckon if you asked him hed say that he would gladly sacrifice his game for a win every single week.

As it is hes generally quite good at getting off his opponent when we get the footy. He needs a starting point though, its not a bad thing.

Pou will be our attacking mid, Garcia (Macrae and Steele) the in and under/defensive mid and Windy the one on one run with.
Every great side has a selfless mid or 2 that anchors the midfield.

Powell did it for us in those early seasons of 03-05.

Clint Jones and to an extent Ray from 08-10.

Just took the danger men and let the better types get to work

Long time reader, occasional poster. What board where you reading when you thought "most of the board seemed to suggest that bottom 4 seemed about par"?
There was a lot of posters of which gringo was one who were upset post that port practice match - who thought the ass had fallen out before a proper game.

There was a few including BrutThough who pleaded for calm and to understand that we had a lot of injuries.

I was in camp 2, but post Adelaide with the injury list growing. I was very much getting annoyed.

Sometimes games are the making of lists and teams. I guess that Geelong game really changed things and it’s really started to roll.

I said 4-6 by round 10 would need to be the bare minimum for us to then go on a run for finals. Surely now we should be aiming for no worse then 6-4 and giving ourselves a big chance.

I love the kid but like others at the club he is not giving himself the best chance to suceed. Its not about being conbative it about having the strength or body to hold your ground in marking or ruck contests. Everyone that defends our players in these discussions have obviously never been in a gym in a strength capacity. It doesnt take much for a young kid to put on serious muscle in one preseason if they are prepared to do the work.

Have a look at Keeler's physical development alongside a kid like Caminiti and thats simply doing the work in the gym. Dodson increased his size noticeably over the preseason. Max King compared to his identical twin Ben is another who lacks the body strength. Hunter Clark has been allowed to roll along without any serious physical development and IMO it has cost him injury and career wise.

Given the hours the kids do at the club, obviously they are expected to do work outside the club. Its human nature that some kids apply themselves and others dont. At the end of the the day I just want the best for every player at our club and if they are letting themselves down by not developing as well as others it should be called out.
You want to look at his draft footage and see how far he's already built himself in 2 years. As long as he keeps track he's fine.

There was a lot of posters of which gringo was one who were upset post that port practice match - who thought the ass had fallen out before a proper game.

There was a few including BrutThough who pleaded for calm and to understand that we had a lot of injuries.

I was in camp 2, but post Adelaide with the injury list growing. I was very much getting annoyed.

Sometimes games are the making of lists and teams. I guess that Geelong game really changed things and it’s really started to roll.

I said 4-6 by round 10 would need to be the bare minimum for us to then go on a run for finals. Surely now we should be aiming for no worse then 6-4 and giving ourselves a big chance.
I reckon when i looked at our draw i thought we might have 3 wins by round 10 (Richmond, Dogs, Eagles).

That was based on our injuries, round 1 form and oppo expectations.

As it stands only GWS and Brisbane look like losses with very little chance of a win.

Dogs, Freo, Carlton and Eagles all look very winnable. GC (here) and Melbourne before the bye.

I reckon when i looked at our draw i thought we might have 3 wins by round 10 (Richmond, Dogs, Eagles).

That was based on our injuries, round 1 form and oppo expectations.

As it stands only GWS and Brisbane look like losses with very little chance of a win.

Dogs, Freo, Carlton and Eagles all look very winnable. GC (here) and Melbourne before the bye.
Yeah I’d have included Carlton to the wins column. That would have been my 4.

Really we just need to split the next 4.

That demons game is in Alice springs which makes it tougher.

Ultimately once we get past the Brisbane game, I reckon we are 50-50 from there. Only games that scare me are Geelong at the Cattery and the Giants at their place.

The big smother was Hastie. Although Byrnes may have had another one

It's a good feeling to know you aren't going crazy.

3rd Quarter, 2:42 left, Port have just kicked the last 3 goals of the game, 5 out of the last 6 and within 11 points. The ball was in Port's forward pocket and momentum entirely with Port.

Here's the commentary of quite possibly the match winning/saving smother.

"Lord, tries to do the team thing... disrupted. Wilkie. Saints under extreme pressure in defence..."

Pressure Factor in the proceeding 10 minutes was 248-180 in Ports favour.

3rd Quarter, 1:48 left, Higgins kicks a goal completely against the run of play.

It's easy to say it was match saving, but we should he screaming about this from the rooftops. It's super hard to expect a sub to adjust to such a high pressure match. It's just one of many moments, but let's give this kid some love!

20250407_143215.jpg

Quiz question boys and girls.

What Saints player after a game says on national TV that he wasn't listening to his fierce, demanding coach at 3/4 time in a game that required 100% focus?

Would you have correctly predicted it would be him if asked this question before the game?

Perhaps Saints TV could do a 5 minute interview with Higgo each week? He's hilarious, a fair dinkum space cadet!!

Yeah I’d have included Carlton to the wins column. That would have been my 4.

Really we just need to split the next 4.

That demons game is in Alice springs which makes it tougher.

Ultimately once we get past the Brisbane game, I reckon we are 50-50 from there. Only games that scare me are Geelong at the Cattery and the Giants at their place.
After round 1 i though the Blues loss was just an anomoly, first game, kids fired up.

They still have the top end talent but they are a ****ing mess.

In any event weve started really well. most would have said Richmond was our only win to this point.

After round 1 i though the Blues loss was just an anomoly, first game, kids fired up.

They still have the top end talent but they are a ****ing mess.

In any event weve started really well. most would have said Richmond was our only win to this point.
Just pointing out…

We still have to play.

Demons x 2
North
West coast

And the following at Marvel
Dogs x 2
Suns
Freo
Lions
Hawks
Swans
Pies

Win all the first bracket. Split the next.

Finals.

Just pointing out…

We still have to play.

Demons x 2
North
West coast

Dogs x 2
Suns
Freo
Lions
Hawks
Swans
Pies

Finals.
Genuinely thought there was zero chance we'd be able to halve our wins and losses in our first 6 games this year, especially after our injuries.

Now, that's the very worst case scenario for us a fortnight from now. King, Henry, Pou, Steele, Howard, Butler and possibly a kid or two to come in in the very near future.

Genuinely thought there was zero chance we'd be able to halve our wins and losses in our first 6 games this year, especially after our injuries.

Now, that's the very worst case scenario for us a fortnight from now. King, Henry, Pou, Steele, Howard, Butler and possibly a kid or two to come in in the very near future.
Not sure anyone had us beat Geelong and the Power (in Adelaide!).

Have to go on with it now.

Just pointing out…

We still have to play.

Demons x 2
North
West coast

Dogs x 2
Suns
Freo
Lions
Hawks
Swans
Pies

Finals.
We are in a good spot and share the optimism that has infected the forum.

But chances are good we will drop one game from that first group. We're still young and there will come a bout of inconsistency.

In 2023 we lost to Hawthorn and the Gold Coast. It's OK, it's what 5th-8th teams do in a competitive league.

But I also think there is a good chance we go 5-3 in the second group. Dogs gettable, all those games at Docklands. Might even 6-2.

The brand we play is very effective when done well. It's why we've kicked at least 6 goals in 4 of our last 12 quarters without a sight of Max King or Dan Butler.

Autopsy Round 4, 2025 - Saints upset Port in Adelaide!