Preview Round 7: Collingwood vs Essendon, Melbourne Cricket Ground, ANZAC Day, 3:20 PM AEST

Winner and medalist?

Was going to post about bringing some more youth in, but on reflection I reckon we're doing ok in that department. Some really successful transitions into the 1's lately, but would still like to see us throw something different at them.

I get this week but not sure what we have to gain by a set up of goldy, Wright.

Bit worried that of we remain 50/50 ish scott will revert to set ups that won't work long term.

It wouldn’t be an essendon preview thread if people weren’t calling for Setterfield to not be picked or dropped like he’s 34 years old and shit.

The guy has been brilliant the last two games and is only 27 years old. Whipping boy for no good reason.

It wouldn’t be an essendon preview thread if people weren’t calling for Setterfield to not be picked or dropped like he’s 34 years old and shit.

The guy has been brilliant the last two games and is only 27 years old. Whipping boy for no good reason.

You don’t drop him now, agreed. But I thought (and posted) that he’d play well against Melbourne and West Coast (midfields that are very one paced) and get found out against Collingwood. So we’ll see what happens.

Similar situation for Wright. He basically won us the game on the weekend. And we have no real other options. There is no world in which you drop him.
But - we all saw the Melbourne game last year. As soon as it was wet we knew he’d be ineffective - and he was worse than that. Wouldn’t be surprised if Scott secretly vowed after that to never play Wright in the wet again. With a bit of rain predicted for Friday, hard to see him contributing much.

Genuinely unsure if we’ve ever had more than one unforced change after a win in the Scott era. It’s an even comp so barely winning against wooden spoon contenders is acceptable.

Highly doubt we get two players dropped on top of Draper - even though that should happen.
Given we have won 3 in a row makes it hard to drop guys. I know they have not all been flash wins and there are players in the side who we would rather not have but not many guys get dropped out of winning sides. Maybe the odd one here or there.

Not expecting Goldy to chase a battle hardened Darcy Cameron around the ground all day but if he can give us first use from stoppage I'd take that, and im pretty sure that's his main strength anyway, world record tap holder...

With that being said I wouldn't mind some scenario where Goldy takes the bounce then drops deep while a more agile specimen with big tank follows Cameron around the ground to compete like a Jones

Not expecting Goldy to chase a battle hardened Darcy Cameron around the ground all day but if he can give us first use from stoppage I'd take that, and im pretty sure that's his main strength anyway, world record tap holder...

With that being said I wouldn't mind some scenario where Goldy takes the bounce then drops deep while a more agile specimen with big tank follows Cameron around the ground to compete like a Jones

Watching Thursday night with a few Collingwood mates, they highlighted and I could see that Cameron basically plays as a spare across defense once not competing in centre bounces.

The stomp on the foot he did to start it is pretty gribby
I get every one hates him...not sure he's done to much to be hated other than be a seriously good player, but that action gets you calling him a prick is way way over the top.
Watch the taggers push him around constantly off the ball and that reaction is all that Daicos does and that gets you angry.
Don't mean to be rude but gee if that action gets your anger up then Lachie Neale was spot on what he said about what people are writing on social media, way worse stuff happens mate to get really angry about

I get every one hates him...not sure he's done to much to be hated other than be a seriously good player, but that action gets you calling him a prick is way way over the top.
Watch the taggers push him around constantly off the ball and that reaction is all that Daicos does and that gets you angry.
Don't mean to be rude but gee if that action gets your anger up then Lachie Neale was spot on what he said about what people are writing on social media, way worse stuff happens mate to get really angry about
Anyone who hates Daicos is simply jealous that he's not on their team. I hate Daicos.

Pushing around off the ball? Is that it? That's pretty standard tagger/defender behaviour dude. Stomping on someone's foot is very different.

And not everyone hates Daicos. He's an excellent player. Also Lachie Neale was talking about dickheads climbing into players DM's and abusing them, if you can't tell the difference between an anonymous forum which he likely doesn't know exists and that then you're looking at things in the wrong context. Nobody with half a brain condones the first.

Pushing around off the ball? Is that it? That's pretty standard tagger/defender behaviour dude. Stomping on someone's foot is very different.

And not everyone hates Daicos. He's an excellent player. Also Lachie Neale was talking about dickheads climbing into players DM's and abusing them, if you can't tell the difference between an anonymous forum which he likely doesn't know exists and that then you're looking at things in the wrong context. Nobody with half a brain condones the first.
Yes, pushing happens. I see heaps of punches at him too.
If he put a heap of force on stomping on Berry's foot I'd agree, not sure Daicos's action constitutes a stomp.
My point was that some use any forum available where they can hide behind anonymity to put some pretty horrible stuff out there. I hope it's a small percentage and most of us can have a decent chat

Some people just have an aire of unlikablity, it dosent have to be rational... Sam Mitchell has it, Daicos has it... Djokovic has it. Before you say it's just because they are great, Bont dosent have it, Cripps neither, either did Fed or Nadal - it's nothing to do with your ability it's how you carry yourself and play.

Yes get what you're saying. Bont probably due to playing for the Bulldogs who nobody really hates, Cripps is a odd one in that he left the ground arm out and knocked s guy out yet is liked or respected but Daicos stepping on a guys foot and he's a prick to some. It is as you say not needing to be rational.
Any way I've enjoyed the chats with you guys, you seem to play us well so am thinking c I old be a close game on Friday

Given we have won 3 in a row makes it hard to drop guys. I know they have not all been flash wins and there are players in the side who we would rather not have but not many guys get dropped out of winning sides. Maybe the odd one here or there.
I disagree. I’ve heard that we shouldn’t judge this team by wins and losses, but when the team plays badly, nobody gets dropped as long as we limp to a win.

It is just what happens. It is rare for sides that are winning to drop players unless a star is returning.

In- Goldstein, Langford, Tsatsas
Out- Duursma, Draper

B- Prior McKay McGrath
HB- Ridley Reid Redman
C- Martin Setterfield Roberts
HF- Perkins Caddy Gresham
F- Langford Wright Kako
FOLL- Goldstein Shiel Merrett
I/C- Jones, El-Hawali, Menzie, Hobbs
Sub- Tsatsas

In- Goldstein, Langford, Tsatsas