Preview Round 8 v Hawthorn MCG Sunday May 4th 3.20pm

Samson Ryan: Foot, 1-2 weeks

“We got some scans on Samson Ryan. He is still dealing with a plantar fascia complaint,” Serpell said.

“So hopefully we have him down for one to two weeks from now."

Mykelti Lefau: ACL, 3-5 weeks

“Thankfully, Mykelti has got through a lot of training last week and he is in even better shape now so he will be down for three to five weeks at this point in time,” Serpell said.

Tylar Young: ACL, 4-6 weeks

"Similar to Mykelti, Tylar is progressing really well," Serpell said.

"He has started training this week without a non-contact hat on, so he will have full training the next few weeks, and hopefully he can get a body of work in, and we are confident that he can return to play."

Harry Armstrong: Hamstring, 9-11 weeks

“Harry is out there doing a bit of running now," Serpell said.

“He is enjoying it, and we are getting some good work into him.

“There is an opportunity here to also work on some other football skills, which is awesome. So, he is still 10 weeks away but progressing quite well.”

Dion Prestia: Achilles, TBC

“Dion is progressing similar to last week,” Serpell said.

“No real update on where he is at, but as I said last week, we will have some information out when we can on him.”

Taj Hotton and Josh Gibcus: ACLs, TBC

“Taj and Josh are going in leaps and bounds as well,” Serpell said.

“Taj is progressing well, and hopefully we will have a timeframe on him in the next week or two.

“Josh is progressing as well but again, hopefully in the next week or two, we will have some timeframes on him, so we will see them on the training track doing more footy drills as the weeks progress.”
The news on gibcus makes me happy.

Well then put him on the wing, because he is not doing much as a mid. A wingman is vastly different to playing centre square midfield, very little contested stuff where skills in tight spaces are needed.

I wasn't against having a look at MacIntosh through the midfield at the start of the season. I saw him bash and crash a half in the VFL last year, and thought why not because he was pretty good. But that is a fraction of what a midfielder does. After 7 weeks he is doing nothing much as a mid, the experiment is enough, experience or not.

We have plenty of experience in the midfield, we are playing no young players through there apart from the odd cameo from Lalor. No new mids have gone through the middle in a year of transition. If McAuliffe was a skinny young kid or a round the edges type of mid then maybe then I could see some sense in it. But he is a bull and has a lot of assets we are in need of.

Take a bit of a gamble and back a young kid over an older player who no matter what sort of great clubman and a good player that he has been, is just holding back the inevitable.
You're still completely missing the point then, mate. McIntosh isn't there for his midfield ability. We're not picking him and putting him in because we think he's our best centre option

Taking a gamble had absolutely nothing to do it.

How so?
Gibbo is still listed as TBc

Or you being sarcastic?

TBH …I’m worried about the lad….reckon he will struggle…hope im way off the mark

They’re expecting to have a timeframe on both Hotton and Gibcus in the next couple of weeks, first time that has been said. Caesar also said they completed quite a bit of training. The biggest positive is Gibcus looks like he will actually return.

You're still completely missing the point then, mate. McIntosh isn't there for his midfield ability. We're not picking him and putting him in because we think he's our best centre option

Taking a gamble had absolutely nothing to do it.
Well it is what you value then, getting games into new players or playing it safe. Given we have not given any game time to any young mids, other than cameos by Lalor as mentioned, then I think it is the wrong way to go. I would like to see Mansell or Campbell go through ther, as was muted in the preseason, but no, conservative we go.

So happy for our Cubs.
Walk into the G tomorrow flicking birds away with my Tigery tail.

Can we do the double?

It will definately be #freekickhawthorn tomorrow.

Don't even argue with me on that call.

Fight Tigers Fight!

Why. He's never played midfield in his life and all of a sudden he is a vital part of our midfield. The experience of Hopper and Taranto not enough. Add Ross and now Dow how have 50 odd plus games under their belts. We are not running any young players through there, and when we do they are done in short dosses like Lalor.

If McAulifee (I would add Smillie but probably needs another game or two in the VFL) were not build like brick shithouses then I might agree that MacIntosh's physicality might be needed. We have plenty of grunt and no pace around the midfield, ande almost no flair and kicking ability, we have plenty of space to add something different.

It's a bit like the Castagna role he ended up playing at half forward. Everyone saying how vital that defensive role was. Campbell comes along, and to a lesser extent Green and all of a sudden our forward line is buzzing and we actually kick goals pretty well when considering how rarely the ball goes down there some games.

Said it preseason, use MacIntosh as the sub, bring him in if a younger player is struggling, or we need a tagger or a utility, but it is defeatist to say he is an important ingredient when his output is what it has been lately.

Let’s just throw out all the experience we have and see how we develop

Got to be joking

Hyperbolic somewhat. So MacIntosh is the difference between mature and immature. Hopper, Taranto, Ross, Dow not enough experience in the middle. Are you an advocate of any new players running through the midfield? Smillie when he is ready?

McAuliffe was good again last night and is what our midfield need, a bit of polish and pace, something you can't accuse MacIntosh of. He was a leg break on the goal line off kicking 3 from the midfield last night, 25 disposals, 11 tackles.

Chol was doing tons of goal kicking practise,more than usual at training apparently.
#
baltas gonna bitch slap that campaigner

Found this old Greener's article.

Got to be joking
No one is suggesting we throw out all our experienced player. Vlastuin & Balta with Broad or Short down back, Lynch forward with Mansell & Ross and Hopper and Taranto in the mid are our experienced players. Macintosh & Short are back up and should not be first pick. I maybe a bit harsh on Broad and Short.