Toast Round 13 = Melbourne 71-72 Collingwood

We regressed to 2023 form today. Games either side of a bye are always a risk, and this one being an event game, doubly so.

McStay returning with 2 goals, including the clutch contested mark and goal was big.

Our better forward 50 entries won it for us, but we were far worse than last week. Part of that was Melbourne being much better than the Hawks, playing with intensity. Part of it was having the tall target to go to in McStay. It's a double edged sword, when the target is there the percentage play is to kick to them, when not there you have to find the best option instead, but that's more diffficult, especially if pressure is high as it was this week and not last. It's why I'm leaning towards not playing Cox in our best team. He provides an obvious target but it's a trap given that he rarely marks and is often out marked. We either play a good tall target in McStay or play small for mine. This is for our best side. Cox or Steene are options if we want to go with a sub optimal side for whatever reason, resting, management of Cameron etc.
premiership winning form? i'll take it

Gawn: Clears the ball from defensive 50

Steven May:
1749460151605.jpeg

Frustrating game to watch.
There were a few times I thought we were going to break the game open, but we couldn't get that next goal.
Thought DC battled well against Gawn, who had a great game.
Josh is having a ripping season, probably leading the Copeland.
Sidey, Pendles and Howie had great games.
Like most, I got sick of us kicking it to Gawn, May and Lever. It looked like the plan was to bring the ball to ground where Bobby, Jamie etc could go to work, but they just kept marking it.
Surely it's time the club made an official complaint about the treatment of Nick. I don't mind him being tagged, that's fair enough, but it's now completely out of hand. Greg Williams would have put Langdon to sleep.
And if anyone was still in any doubt that May is the biggest flog in the AFL, today proved it once and for all. what a crap team mate.
anyway, 11-2 at the bye, how sweet it is.
Go Pies

Encapsulates the difference in culture between us and them - there is no way a Coll player egregiously berates a team mate.
I was lucky enough to only ever play maybe 2-3 games with a teammate that did this. No better way to fracture the playing group, makes you immediately want to punch the bloke.

Ed Langdon had 4 disposals, and 40 holds.

11-2 ✅
Played like dog shit and won ✅
Maynard, JDG and Schultz still to return ✅
Week break for the sore bodies ✅
Tears of Melbourne supporters and Steven May ✅

Enjoy the bye week everyone.

Gawn goes alright? I’d happily have him on our list.

Petracca is a decent player. But not a leader. And no way justifies what he’d be getting paid.

‘Oliver” and “leader” don’t belong in the same sentence.
When there is pressure and the game needs leaders to stand up, Gawn, Petracca and Oliver miss goals, or turn it over.

It was no surprise Gawn kicked it directly to us when they needed him to hit a target to have a chance. Happens far too often with these guys. Constantly turning it over.

Clearly following the custom of giving it to the best player in the winning team …

… Great win. Josh played well. But Gawn clearly stiff, but he’ll get the 10 coaches votes.

May disagrees with you.

Melbourne are playing
We won ugly that’s for sure.

Jaicos was superb as was Sidey. Howe is having a great year.

Gotta say Darcy Moore is in really poor form. Has had 2 poor games in a row.

Glad we won and wiped the smile off the most punchable head in football- Bailey Fritz

Final word on Langdon. The constant holding and impeding of Naicos - jumping into his back when on the ground… flipping disgusting you flog. Can’t wait for Maynard to sort you out

Go pies

Nah, that's Goodwin's instructions. He's a scumbag type of coach. The same coach you see in sports movies instructing his bullies to injure the other guys. Gawn is the level headed leader in that team, without him they would be much worse.

Surely it's time the club made an official complaint about the treatment of Nick. I don't think mind him being tagged, that's fair enough, but it's now completely out of hand. Greg Williams would have put Langdon to sleep.
And if anyone was still in any doubt that May is the biggest flog in the AFL, today proved it once and for all. what a crap team mate.
anyway, 11-2 at the bye, how sweet it is.
Go Pies
Nick Daicos was getting targetted after 3 AFL games by 200+ seasoned players before the ball was bounced to start games in 2022. They would run up to him off the ball and start punching into him. The stupid AFL and their toliet trainned media people like "Luke Hodge, John Ralph etc" don't mind that, because apparently kids wouldn't copy that behavoir in the junior ranks. It sends a great message of how the game shouldn't be played.

Tell me which other player in the last 10-15 years has had this much attention every week since his debut. He is constantly held at every stoppage. Sometimes he gets the frees but most times the umpires ignore it.

If this was any other player, every neutral supporter will be calling this out on footy talk back shows.

Toast Round 13 = Melbourne 71-72 Collingwood