Toast Round 13 = Melbourne 71-72 Collingwood

Maybe it’s the 70s and 80s era in me but I can’t believe a few of our bigger boys didn’t cause him some real pain. A number of our players should have had had words in his ear making him dance at shadows.
I thought we were very poor in flying the flag in this regard.
Missing Maynard, he would have had a say.

Nick Daicos was getting targetted after 3 AFL games by 200+ seasoned players before the ball was bounced to start games in 2022.
Tell me which other player in the last 10-15 years has had this much attention every week since his debut. He is constantly held at every stoppage. Sometimes he gets the frees but most times the umpires ignore it.

If this was any other player, every neutral supporter will be calling this out on footy talk back shows.
absolutely agree. but today was just off the charts.
if the umpires paid a free or two earlier, the problem is solved.

Maybe it’s the 70s and 80s era in me but I can’t believe a few of our bigger boys didn’t cause him some real pain. A number of our players should have had had words in his ear making him dance at shadows.
I thought we were very poor in flying the flag in this regard.
thats why you get Hosky on early not a mistake to make him a sub as it proved to be a late masterstroke but he's started to take angry pills as he's entered his late 20s/early 30s and i love it

My father utilised the mute button. He knew enough about football not to need the commentary.
Yes.....I haven't watched a live Collingwood game with volume since 2008....I started watching games without volume so I wouldn't wake my new born daughter up, haven't turned back.....I tried watching the radio without volume but not as enjoyable!

Darcy Cameron had the most Jekyll and Hyde game I’ve seen from him

Incredible around the ground.

Demolished like he was a VFL reserves player in the ruck contests. He even struggled in ruck contests that weren’t against Gawn. Bizarre.

But then we had a lot of players down today.

Sign of a good side I guess.

Nick Daicos was getting targetted after 3 AFL games by 200+ seasoned players before the ball was bounced to start games in 2022. They would run up to him off the ball and start punching into him. The stupid AFL and their toliet trainned media people like "Luke Hodge, John Ralph etc" don't mind that, because apparently kids wouldn't copy that behavoir in the junior ranks. It sends a great message of how the game shouldn't be played.

Tell me which other player in the last 10-15 years has had this much attention every week since his debut. He is constantly held at every stoppage. Sometimes he gets the frees but most times the umpires ignore it.

If this was any other player, every neutral supporter will be calling this out on footy talk back shows.
That’s why he will be one of the greatest players to have played the game!

absolutely agree. but today was just off the charts.
if the umpires paid a free or two earlier, the problem is solved.
Fox asked Goodwin if the umpires changed their approach to off the ball holding after half time. He had a low key sook about it, saying that he did notice it, and hoped any player would be treated the same.

Darcy Moore frustrates the hell out of me because one he clunks one or 2 intercept marks you think great he's turning the corner and is going to be his old self soon then he becomes this panicky spoil-happy mess that costs goals i'm sure he's as dissapointed as we are with his form but its just borderline unacceptable from your skipper now

Nick Daicos was getting targetted after 3 AFL games by 200+ seasoned players before the ball was bounced to start games in 2022. They would run up to him off the ball and start punching into him. The stupid AFL and their toliet trainned media people like "Luke Hodge, John Ralph etc" don't mind that, because apparently kids wouldn't copy that behavoir in the junior ranks. It sends a great message of how the game shouldn't be played.

Ginni got absolutely murdered every week in 2022

The good:

• The win, the 4 points.
  • The occassion. We’re a classy participant.
  • All round team effort. Difficult to single out individual contributors. Everybody called Darcy, Billy, Jeremy, Steele, Scott, Isaac, Ned and Beau were solid. Even those called Will played useful cameos.
  • The taste of John Ralph’s delicious salty tears
  • Hayes is coming along OK, he’ll be better for the run. But he shows why the coaches don’t load up on inexperienced players if they can avoid it.

The Bad:

- The commentary was especially awful.

The ugly:

- Steven May is a tool of the highest order. Compare May’s reaction to Gawn, with our team’s reaction to Crispy after he missed the set shot at the end of the Geelong game. That’s why our team are winners and Melbourne are not.

Any win is satisfying especially when you looked gorn with 10 mins to go and your best player is well below his best.

Seriously we were always due a down week, and somehow we still got the 4 points so I'm pretty happy.

Kudo's to the old brigade of Pendles, Sidey and Howe. J Daicos was best afield for me.
Pendles has had a sneaky great year imo overshadowed by the amazing unlikely career-best form of Sidey and probably Howe to a lesser but no less greater extent

Darcy Moore frustrates the hell out of me because one he clunks one or 2 intercept marks you think great he's turning the corner and is going to be his old self soon then he becomes this panicky spoil-happy mess that costs goals i'm sure he's as dissapointed as we are with his form but its just borderline unacceptable from your skipper now

He shouldn't play deep defender EVER, thats why Murph was so important for Darce. Darce panics when he can't attack the ball.

Reckon the injury set him back massively

Was in All-Australian form prior to hurting his shoulder

Toast Round 13 = Melbourne 71-72 Collingwood