100 Year Limp Celebrations

When my wife's family dropped around today, the empty cheer squad was the first thing her father mentioned. Was there some reference on TV?

I don't know where that story came from because the designated cheer squad bay was chockers. Hardly any empty seats. Th social club bay to the immediate left was only about 20% occupied.
I was at the ground and it looked very empty from level 2

What an anti climax last night was.

1. Thursday night, against a low drawing club, not even school holidays.

2. Limited function for 500 people and “micro” celebrations in separate rooms.

3. Back to Thursday night, no chance to prepare or relax to get there early … school, work etc. Does not create any atmosphere as most people are rushed or couldn’t be arsed.

4. Meant there was no opportunity for decent pre game function either … a breakfast etc.

5. No separate large function to celebrate 100 years, 100 years FFS, just parading a few people around.

6. Sound system at the ground for North games means you couldn’t hear half of what was being said anyway.

7. Promotion sorely lacking, had ample opportunity to lock this in well before the floating draw so it could be circled on the calendar.

8. Having all of these North greats in town, what an opportunity playing a Saturday night to have them at training Thursday, at the Captains run, and really having them engage with the group. Instead rush job, in and out and players with days off now because of the AFLPA.

9. All so it could be on free to air and we could embarrassingly have 25k show up and deliver no atmosphere.

I actually feel deflated after attending last night, they’ve botched this monumentally and it can’t be undone.

How many of us would have gone to a sit down Palladium function to celebrate 100 years of this footy club.

You’d have packed the joint out, a Sat arvo game with the function afterwards.

Stories shared. History passed down. Relationships built.

Instead a facade of connection. We are losing the heartbeat of this club.

Look at the power of the WA trip and the involvement of the past players over the course of a week.

It means everything and with our fractured past after the Carey debacle we need it more than any club.
Can’t disagree with much of that.

I dare say the clowns in charge would beg to differ though.

We have become an embarrassment under the current regime.

But hey, the girls won by 10 goals today. That would erase any sour taste in Sonja and Jen’s mouth following Thursdays debacle.

Yes you are right but who’s going to change things at North????? Not Ponting Not Brayshaw there in Camp Sonia.
This is the reason why our club is in this position and the only thing that has this club being still a club is the AWFL.
Plus speaking the an official last night it could get worse especially after the pay increase on all categories of the membership next year with 2 extra Vic games as this club will need the $$$ as there will be no Tasmanian $$$.
Are the 2 extra Vic games actually locked in yet? l think that North will sell the other 2 home games and play them up in the NT...

View attachment 2358908

Just a few observations from this legendary photo...
  • Shannon Grant and Wayne Schwass next to each other. Traded for each other, a rare win-win situation. Both premiership players. Both club greats. Full circle moment.
  • Schimma and Pagan. Both forever linked by 1993, where one door closes, another opens. Both club legends and celebrated.
  • Carey and Wells. The Carey trade brought pick #2 in 2002 draft, which ultimately became Daniel Wells.
  • Carey and Garner next to each other. How lucky are we as a club to have both men's GOAT as well as the women's GOAT.
The prematch stuff was awesome. Pagan's prematch address is the stuff of legend.-
Pagan speech was epic. Would have gone down as a greatest ever if we had’ve managed the win.

The jumpers were ****ing elite even if the night itself was a bit meh

For all home games we should have the dim stadium lights and the blue and white though, that was awesome
The blue shorts is what stood out for me. Basing this on no statistics but I feel we rarely wear blue shorts any more. We should be much tougher immovable on our home strip.

Are the 2 extra Vic games actually locked in yet? l think that North will sell the other 2 home games and play them up in the NT...
If we play on 7 games in Victoria next year as an example we will be playing 4 games in WA 2 at optus against West Coast and Dockers 2 at Bunbury against the 2 SA sides or 1 NSW team and a Vic team..
But I dare say they will go with 9 games in Victoria with membership to go up in price across all categories to cover the loss of Tasmanian government and lost sponsorship $$$$ from not playing down there.

Hot mess. No one here is saying it was a resounding success. And that is indicative of the mediocrity we have come to expect.

Yeh a pretty telling sign. Based on the fact it wasn't the worst the that could have conceivably happened, it's given a reluctant tick. Much like the treatment get players after most every game.

I was just happy to see McCartney and Sav there because they have kids who might come into contention for father/son. There's been murmurings they'll go elsewhere (Collingwood/GWS) but hopefully things like last night help remind those families what's so special about North.
More likely to have the opposite effect I would think.

What is the Kekovich issue? Sounds like he a self important flog, but I am basing this off nothing 🙃

You get comments from Keithy and Schimma. Would appear, particularly from Schimma (Sam being Sam), that yes, he is a self important flog.

But, I guess he's our self important flog.

When my wife's family dropped around today, the empty cheer squad was the first thing her father mentioned. Was there some reference on TV?

I don't know where that story came from because the designated cheer squad bay was chockers. Hardly any empty seats. Th social club bay to the immediate left was only about 20% occupied.

Not sure I've ever discussed cheer squad sizes with anyone.

Hot mess. No one here is saying it was a resounding success. And that is indicative of the mediocrity we have come to expect.
Haha.

Pagan speech was epic. Would have gone down as a greatest ever if we had’ve managed the win.
The beauty of that speech is that it has the potential to far outlive the outcome of that specific game - it may not have been enough to get the boys over the line, but if it catalyses something far more enduring, where the words just stick in the minds of these young men to achieve greater things, then it could be legit the greatest speech ever. Pagan's specificity around that Hawthorn debacle to the group is amazing - a specific anchor point where the bottom was felt. Now if the group can ascend from there to great things - I think we can point to Pagan's speech as the symbolic catalyst.

Not sure I've ever discussed cheer squad sizes with anyone.
Most likely a lot of the members of the NMFC are either level 3 members or 3 game members not reserved seat members and that has been like this for some time.
Plus I want to know the real amount of members that the NMFC have in all areas so what is this club hiding have we really got 55k members?

Most likely a lot of the members of the NMFC are either level 3 members or 3 game members not reserved seat members and that has been like this for some time.
Plus I want to know the real amount of members that the NMFC have in all areas so what is this club hiding have we really got 55k members?
Why do you all hate the club so much?

Just got home from the 100 Year Celebrations. That was one hell of a blender. I'm cooked. A few of us older boys hit Crown Casino & it's so easy to lose track of time in there I tell ya. Needless to say, I'm a little lighter in the back pocket, but that's ok, I just had a significant pay increase last week. I met all my KPI's last year & so now I've just got the feet up. Today I've got a few of my 56 mates coming over to watch The Rampaging Roos Doco on VHS. One of them is mates with Sth African cricket legend Dean Elgar - AKA The Rhythm - I haven't met him yet but he seems like a top bloke.

It was pointed out to me that if you guys win this week & other results go our way, we could be 14th after this round. That's a real feather in the cap to the club, Signor Rawlings & Prof Clarko.
#NorthStrong

Why do you all hate the club so much?
Look mate this club has been not only an Australian Football Joke but an Australian Sporting Joke for the last 5 years.
I have seen this club fall apart thru stupid decision making from all areas from Board Level to the performances on the field.
Yet we have people at this club shove the BS spin down the supporters throats with the attitude All is well it’s f:cking not as we have been surpassed in all areas of this sport.
I sat thru that embarrassing 100th Anniversary game with 25K where as a club we were railroaded in a 13 minute show which was way to short .
The planning for this game should have started last year by getting members involved with this celebration.
The supporters that stick fat by this club would have helped out just like when we did by raising $$$$ for future building works .
If the club had done this we could have had dinners for all involved people and more time for match day celebrations.
To say I hate this club yes I do in many ways I do as people who have been put in charge continue to do a 💩 job with the knowledge their are protected and won’t be sacked which makes me angry as a supporter.
I don’t know or care what others think of me but I’m sick and tired of people at the NMFC who take the attitude we are a successful club on and of the field.
Wake up time to get back the Shinboner Spirit and get rid of the Woke Empire garbage from our club.
A real club would make the ruthless changes but for some reason we frightened to do so.

We only have five paying L2 seat members. I know this because I buy all five of them.

Look mate this club has been not only an Australian Football Joke but an Australian Sporting Joke for the last 5 years.
I have seen this club fall apart thru stupid decision making from all areas from Board Level to the performances on the field.
Yet we have people at this club shove the BS spin down the supporters throats with the attitude All is well it’s f:cking not as we have been surpassed in all areas of this sport.
I sat thru that embarrassing 100th Anniversary game with 25K where as a club we were railroaded in a 13 minute show which was way to short .
The planning for this game should have started last year by getting members involved with this celebration.
The supporters that stick fat by this club would have helped out just like when we did by raising $$$$ for future building works .
If the club had done this we could have had dinners for all involved people and more time for match day celebrations.
To say I hate this club yes I do in many ways I do as people who have been put in charge continue to do a 💩 job with the knowledge their are protected and won’t be sacked which makes me angry as a supporter.
I don’t know or care what others think of me but I’m sick and tired of people at the NMFC who take the attitude we are a successful club on and of the field.
Wake up time to get back the Shinboner Spirit and get rid of the Woke Empire garbage from our club.
A real club would make the ruthless changes but for some reason we frightened to do so.
I hear ya Mr north man. And I feel your pain loud & clear.

100 Year Limp Celebrations