List Mgmt. Brady Rawlings | Head of Football Talent (Recruitment, LM & TPP)

Brady should be “stood aside” from active duties until the end of the year if he can’t be sacked.

But it also shows how delusional he is that he hasn’t resigned yet either.

Toxic relationship

Brady should be “stood aside” from active duties until the end of the year if he can’t be sacked.

But it also shows how delusional he is that he hasn’t resigned yet either.

Toxic relationship
He is a deluded fool who can’t be told. An idiot who thinks he knows it all. But all you need to do is look at our position on the ladder over the last 6 years to know if he has a clue. :stern look

Rawlings Top Blunders:

8. The CCJ Trade

7. The obsession with undersized footballers: Will Phill, R Stevens, C Harvey, Hansen Jr, B Drury, J Konstanty, Spicer, Mahony, Banch, McKercher, Fisher, Daniel, Wardlaw......I mean seriously, WTAF is going on?

6. 2020 Draft - taking Spicer ahead of McCreery. They were both at the same club & he rated Spicer ahead of McCreery????

5. Selecting Banch in the MSD when we already have 7 very smalls on the list. How he thought Banch could make it at AFL level is a mystery.

4. Drafting Jack Mahony - a small, slow, inside mid. Again, we already had a stack of his type. and THEN extended his contract after it was as clear as day Crafty was not AFL standard. Extending Hansen Jrs contract is right up there as well.

3. Jacob Edwards in the MSD ahead of Jai Newcombe.

2. Using pick 4 on Z Duursma - Again, we have a list full of half forward flankers. Leaving Dan Curtin on the table, and even Nik Watson will go down as major f**k ups.

1. Trading pick 25 for C Daniel & then following that with the Whitlock trade. Laughable.

Please feel free to add. Those are just off the top of my head.
Stephenson and Atu

Rawlings Top Blunders:

8. The CCJ Trade

7. The obsession with undersized footballers: Will Phill, R Stevens, C Harvey, Hansen Jr, B Drury, J Konstanty, Spicer, Mahony, Banch, McKercher, Fisher, Daniel, Wardlaw......I mean seriously, WTAF is going on?

6. 2020 Draft - taking Spicer ahead of McCreery. They were both at the same club & he rated Spicer ahead of McCreery????

5. Selecting Banch in the MSD when we already have 7 very smalls on the list. How he thought Banch could make it at AFL level is a mystery.

4. Drafting Jack Mahony - a small, slow, inside mid. Again, we already had a stack of his type. and THEN extended his contract after it was as clear as day Crafty was not AFL standard. Extending Hansen Jrs contract is right up there as well.

3. Jacob Edwards in the MSD ahead of Jai Newcombe.

2. Using pick 4 on Z Duursma - Again, we have a list full of half forward flankers. Leaving Dan Curtin on the table, and even Nik Watson will go down as major f**k ups.

1. Trading pick 25 for C Daniel & then following that with the Whitlock trade. Laughable.

Please feel free to add. Those are just off the top of my head.

Could have taken Wanganeen-M at 11.

Instead we took Sook

Love how everyone is talking like we would have taken NAS at 1

We should have done our due diligence on the little milk field campaigner, bid on both daicos and Darcy and taken Callaghan and walked away from the draft like this

mr bean GIF

Stephenson and Atu
I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again. Bright Spark prior to coming to Hardon St did not rate our list. So at the first opportunity at the end of 2020 he cut deep. Say what yah want about the guys moved on but was it the year to cut deep? Remember it was the first year of Covid. There was very little exposed form at Under 18s level. Recruiters couldn’t travel to watch prospects in other states in the flesh. But the Imbecile cut deep anyways. And he brought in Atu and Stephenson via trade as mentioned. Both no longer at the club. The underwhelming Corr via free agency. Menadue who was at Bunnings. Lachie Young who has since been delisted. Patrick Walker, Lazzaro and Spicer who have also since been moved on. Phillips who can’t get a regular Senior Gig and is in the last year of his contract. And Ford who is also in the last year of his contract and hasn’t played a senior game this year. And finally Tom Powell who has been OK but very inconsistent. The above is sickening. This is our club and this idiot had played a major role in ****ing it. :stern look

Could have taken Wanganeen-M at 11.

Instead we took Sook
There’s a lot of coulda and shoulda when revisiting drafts, but absolutely no one was suggesting NWM was an option at pick one. You can pin a lot of mistakes on Brady but not that one.

So due to the club's poor on-field results since 2020, the AFL announced draft concessions for North Melbourne. Yes I Giantrooed the above sentence. :stern look

It was Rawling who pushed for 2nd and 3rd round picks we received from AFL House. What a negotiator. And who did he have his eyes set on? Yes Logue and Tucker. It’s another illustration that this guy is a buffoon. :stern look

There’s a lot of could and shoulda when revisiting drafts, but absolutely no one was suggesting NWM was an option at pick one. You can pin a lot of mistakes on Brady but not that one.
We were just very lucky Snoz did his due diligence since we had the #1 pick. I heard the interviews with Ice Bath were thorough, deeply investigative and included photos of Jason in his jarmies...

That’s another conversation and that oversight involves a lot more people than just Brady. By all means point the finger where appropriate but he gets blamed for far more mistakes than he’s directly responsible for.

There's always people saying that he's not responsible for X though, to the point it feels like he's not responsible for anything.

Pre 2022 and it's all Luffy and Co's fault, because they were the list managers and he was merely their boss. Now he's list manager, and the list manager isn't responsible for the list anymore, it's Clarkson.

Gulden was a Swans academy player. They would've matched the bid. Crazy he went 32 in hindsight though.
I would've taken Callaghan if not JHF. There is still the go home factor with NWM as it was with JHF.
Personally for me no real issue with the FOS or Colby picks as we've not had those types of mids.
But Curtin over Colby is an interesting one to think about, as Dan may end up a midfielder long term.
In hindsight, trading the Zane pick for Dees 6 (Curtin) and F1 (Tauru) would've been fortunate for us if we did it.
We didn't pull the trigger when we probably should've and pulled the trigger (Daniel/F1) when we shouldn't have.

There’s a lot of could and shoulda when revisiting drafts, but absolutely no one was suggesting NWM was an option at pick one. You can pin a lot of mistakes on Brady but not that one.
Yep at least suggest Callaghan. That's at least realistic. Same go home risk with NWM imo.

Its taken both of them till this year to really come good. Callaghan was showing it halfway thru last year I spose.

We'd still be hearing people say "Why didn't we take JHF/Rachelle/Mac Andrew/Jye Amiss?"

Not reasonably no. But I say we should have done an *, and lobbied the AFL to change the F/S rules to get Nas for free.

A point that has not been raised is If these players had of been drafted to North would they be the player they are today ?
Who are the development coaches and are they any good ?
I think maybe the club not only has to look at Rawlings ( I really dont rate him ) But also the development coaches as well
Too many of the kids seem to get to a certain level and plateau

Good luck this week against the saints

A point that has not been raised is If these players had of been drafted to North would they be the player they are today ?
Who are the development coaches and are they any good ?
I think maybe the club not only has to look at Rawlings ( I really dont rate him ) But also the development coaches as well
Too many of the kids seem to get to a certain level and plateau

Good luck this week against the saints

Yep, our recruiting and trading for the last 10 years has been shit house and deserves criticism, but I've never understood the viewpoint that with better drafting in hindsight would have fixed our problems.

Gavin Brown who had a long stint and was unimpressive left at the end of 2023, Michael Barlow hasn't moved the needle much IMO.

The whole system in the footy department is stuffed though.

List Mgmt. Brady Rawlings | Head of Football Talent (Recruitment, LM & TPP)