Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXVIII

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Last edited by a moderator:
It’s not unprecedented.

GW was in charge at the Hawks when they moved on some very big names .
Shades of Blight at the Crows in 1996 when his first order of business was to push McGuinness, McDermott and Jarman out the door, pretty much the equivalent of Cripps, Curnow and Jsos.
Crows went back to back in 97 and 98.

So much unnecessary panic
Just doing what needs to be done.
Change isn’t always easy, but sometimes (as is the case now) it’s necessary.
Players are either in or in the way.
No more halfheartedness
I don’t care about this ‘it’s been 30 years’ bs. That’s irrelevant to the people at the club now.
Again, it’s what we wanted.

Not to throw too much shade, but it’s worth being cautious of a few so-called revered ITKs on here.

I get the feeling some posters are being led up the garden path.
My comment was mostly tongue in cheek and not intended to make commentary on any of the previous rumours.
Having said that, I personally believe that when the rumours of him having played his last game at the club came out, it was most likely fairly accurate, but things can change.
I also don't think that coming back to train with the VFL squad necessarily means that he is on a path to being integrated back into the seniors. In fact, I think it probably points more to him still being shown the door. I mean why train with the VFL squad and not the AFL squad?

I hope I'm wrong and that he can get himself right and that any potential rumoured rift between him and another player is wrong or mended and that he can play again, as I think he has a lot of talent and makes a difference to the side.

No guarentees anywhere, but you don’t just do nothing. You get proactive. The alternative is what?
North, Essendon have been rebuilding for a while and are still near the bottom. We have yet to bottom out. Next year looks like a bottom 4 finish. Kids will take time even if you nail the pick over the next few drafts.

I wonder if he’s identified elements of the playing group as problematic (in addition to other issues such as coaching) and is subtlety driving some towards the exits
If this is the case, it means he will sack the Football Manager, Recruitment Manager and List Manager at the end of season.

We will go into trade week with GW acting as all 3 positions in addition to being CEO.

Or with 3 guys hand picked by the incoming CEO from clubs not in finals contention.

Maybe we will end up with North Melbourne's Football Manager, West Coast List Manager and Essendons Recruitment Manager.....

3-4 years at most imo.

The change starts now. Cripps clearly sees us as not a chance in hell to win a premiership so why not head home with his young family. It makes perfect sense.

We have a lot of the pieces already, we really need to now bring in some quality youth and refresh this list.

Kids with footy IQ, speed and skill as well as some smart trades for players aged 21-24.

If we can bring in 5 awesome kids this year via the draft, Walker next year along with 3 or 4 more in 2026, the list will take care of itself.

A good coach is key also
The change has already started 2-3 years ago, we’ve been pretty much using the draft exclusively since we used pick 6 on Cerra.
Maybe we were forced to because players didn’t really “take well under to keep the group together” or our continual flakiness and distrust as a competitive, consistent football team has been there for all to see except for 2 completely seperate periods where it actually clicked over a 5 year period.
I’m confident if a Curnow or Cripps goes well use it to trade for players but everything else to do with collateral gained from TDK/JSOS will be targeted at the draft.

if Cripps wants out, which will destroy the club imo, then I would offer two 1sts and Cripps for Reid and 2nd rd
I really don't like the Harley talk. Sure, he’s got heaps of talent and could potentially be the best player in the league in a few years, but the money is insane and his head is already bigger than Lance Whitnall. I wouldn't at all be surprised if he gets so far ahead of himself that he doesn't fulfil his potential.

The change has already started 2-3 years ago, we’ve been pretty much using the draft exclusively since we used pick 6 on Cerra.
Maybe we were forced to because players didn’t really “take well under to keep the group together” or our continual flakiness and distrust as a competitive, consistent football team has been there for all to see except for 2 completely seperate periods where it actually clicked over a 5 year period.
I’m confident if a Curnow or Cripps goes well use it to trade for players but everything else to do with collateral gained from TDK/JSOS will be targeted at the draft.
And that’s why I don’t buy into 5-10 year rebuild. Many pieces are already there

North, Essendon have been rebuilding for a while and are still near the bottom. We have yet to bottom out. Next year looks like a bottom 4 finish. Kids will take time even if you nail the pick over the next few drafts
You’d be surprised what a difference the necessary changes can (and will) make
So many of the pieces are already there.
Essendon culturally hasn’t moved on from Sheedy

You’d be surprised what a difference the necessary changes can (and will) make
So many of the pieces are already there.
Essendon culturally hasn’t moved on from Sheedy
And culturally we have? We aren't much better. You're making alot of assumptions that we will get it right even though we haven't for 30 years.

The fact they chose someone else is obvious.

Suggesting someone was so unimpressive was in their top 4 picks is the strange thing.

The only conclusion we can draw is that your "mail" comes directly from Graeme Wright.
Okay mate; have a nice day

I really don't like the Harley talk. Sure, he’s got heaps of talent and could potentially be the best player in the league in a few years, but the money is insane and his head is already bigger than Lance Whitnall. I wouldn't at all be surprised if he gets so far ahead of himself that he doesn't fulfil his potential.
At least his head won’t be as big as Watsons then….

The HOF injury as bad as it was somehow made worse now with this JSOS news. Means we now might have to seek out a key defender in the off-season which was not really an area of need before this. Just disgusting luck again
Not too big of a concern, there will be a few available as free agents or delisted free agents

Was list manager from 2011 to 2017 too. Where he shipped off Hodge, Lewis, Mitchell, Birchall and Isaac Smith.
Hodge announced his retirement in July 2017. Then Brisbane wanted him to help their kids.
Jordan Lewis - https://www.afl.com.au/news/77629/hawks-deny-mitchell-trade-was-to-help-pay-jaeger
Sam Mitchell - https://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-10-12/sam-mitchell-flags-possible-west-coast-move/7924714
Birchall - played 8 games between 2017 and 2019. Went to Brisbane for a couple of more injury interrupted seasons. Then retired.
Isaac Smith - went to Geelong as a Free Agent at end of 2020.

Now what?