Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXVIII

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Last edited by a moderator:
wouldn’t look good for Wright to need to sack a coach mid season after the club had 4 years of intel to make a decision.

Agree you can’t cut everyone but I would have thought a new coach and coaching set up gives more flexibility, go in to 2026 with the focus being on youth and adapting to the new game plan and to sort out our cap.

We keep Voss, so what’s the expectation next year? It only makes sense to me if we think he’s the man long term and if we have decided our poor performances are list related.

I see this as a lose lose situation and we have just kicked the can down the road.

Wright doesn't strike me as the type to give a shit how it looks - he'll make the decisions he feels are right based on what he sees.

The obvious answer to this is that Wright thinks Voss is capable enough. If the assistant coaches all stay too, then that would indicate he thinks the full coaching group are good enough. If the LM team all stay....etc etc. The thing is, you need all these different groups working hand in hand - if the "issue" is disconnect, that doesn't necessarily require personnel change on a wholesale scale, but perhaps just one or two key changes (ie. CEO, Head of Football) to bring the disparate voices together.

If Voss is staying, I think it's pretty disingenuous for anyone to suggest there's some nefarious or convoluted administrative arm-twisting going on that's forced us to keep him. I think all that demomstrates is that those people have made up their mind from afar and are trying to retrofit the club's decisions into their preconceived narrative, rather than adjusting their narrative based on the evidence of what the club says/does.

The next few months, who stays and who goes, will tell the tale, and then next season will show whether we've made the right choices, or if we've backed in the wrong people.

Tell your mates on the board that each decision should be based on the current merits and are independent events.
The board ratified Wright's decision, what do you think Wright based his decision on other than the current situation? He's not beholden to anyone or anything to do with the past.

I don't think Voss has had the right assistants from beginning in all honestly.

A tradesman always blames his tools

Looking at our coaching panel
Power - here prior to Voss (2019) but subsequently promoted
Baker - joined prior to Voss (2020)
Kreuzer - joined prior to Voss (2020)
Hansen - joined under Voss (2021, subsequently promoted)
Hamill - joined under Voss (2021)
Greves - Joined under Voss (2022)
Clarke - (re)joined under Voss (2022)
Lonergan - Joined under Voss (2023)
Ebert - Joined under Voss (2023)
Russell - joined under Voss (2023)

Noting that there were 3 pre-existing/extended coaches and 7 new appointees over the past 4 years, how many of the coaches would get a pass mark/would you retain? Where is the accountability?

Jordan Russell can be the first assistant coach to GTFO

take a number waiting GIF

If they are unsure with Voss in 2026 they will need a fall back plan. It’s not good going for an interim in week 10 as there are no decent coaches available outside retired ones.

I foresee an experienced HOF that can step in if it doesn’t work. But I can also see the club 100% backing him in and starting again with 4-5 new targeted assistants that all have strengths for Voss weaknesses.

Game plan and innovative tactics - Hayden Skipworth
Development - Luke Power
Defence - Aaron Hamill
Midfield - Adrian Hickmott
Forward - Matthew Egan
Head of Football - Ashley Hansen
Ruck - Steven King
Why the **** would you get rid of Kreuzer?

Wright doesn't strike me as the type to give a shit how it looks - he'll make the decisions he feels are right based on what he sees.

The obvious answer to this is that Wright thinks Voss is capable enough. If the assistant coaches all stay too, then that would indicate he thinks the full coaching group are good enough. If the LM team all stay....etc etc. The thing is, you need all these different groups working hand in hand - if the "issue" is disconnect, that doesn't necessarily require personnel change on a wholesale scale, but perhaps just one or two key changes (ie. CEO, Head of Football) to bring the disparate voices together.

If Voss is staying, I think it's pretty disingenuous for anyone to suggest there's some nefarious or convoluted administrative arm-twisting going on that's forced us to keep him. I think all that demomstrates is that those people have made up their mind from afar and are trying to retrofit the club's decisions into their preconceived narrative, rather than adjusting their narrative based on the evidence of what the club says/does.

The next few months, who stays and who goes, will tell the tale, and then next season will show whether we've made the right choices, or if we've backed in the wrong people.

Very good summation of where I’m at as well. If there are large scale changes in the coaching ranks, footy admin and playing list, it will tell the story of where GW thinks the issues are stemming from.

I have reservations on the level of assistant coaches were able to bring in given our current situation, however we should at least see the changes all the way through before judgement.

A tradesman always blames his tools

Looking at our coaching panel
Power - here prior to Voss (2019) but subsequently promoted
Baker - joined prior to Voss (2020)
Kreuzer - joined prior to Voss (2020)
Hansen - joined under Voss (2021, subsequently promoted)
Hamill - joined under Voss (2021)
Greves - Joined under Voss (2022)
Clarke - (re)joined under Voss (2022)
Lonergan - Joined under Voss (2023)
Ebert - Joined under Voss (2023)
Russell - joined under Voss (2023)

Noting that there were 3 pre-existing/extended coaches and 7 new appointees over the past 4 years, how many of the coaches would get a pass mark/would you retain? Where is the accountability?
I don't disagree. I personally think Voss should've gone too.

If they are unsure with Voss in 2026 they will need a fall back plan. It’s not good going for an interim in week 10 as there are no decent coaches available outside retired ones.

I foresee an experienced HOF that can step in if it doesn’t work. But I can also see the club 100% backing him in and starting again with 4-5 new targeted assistants that all have strengths for Voss weaknesses.

Development - Luke Power
Defence - Aaron Hamill
Forward - Matthew Egan
Ruck - Steven King
Assume this is satire?

Development - Luke Power
Defence - Aaron Hamill
Forward - Matthew Egan
Ruck - Steven King

I got to Ashley Hansen as the Head of Football…what’s going on here

Imo I reckon voss has been told(by wright)to bring in more youth/speed try to start turning the style of footy we want to play ect or you’ll be gone.
There’s definitely been a shift somewhat in how where trying to play.
Another pre season into some of our kids will do wonders.
Get some senior body’s back fit.
Solid trade period, with adding more specific needs.
Implement an attacking/flare style game and play the right types of players required to implement it

I said this 4 weeks ago, looks like there is something going on internally that we don't know about. We can't keep letting these players get away with knifing coaches. Bring it on, hopefully we get fair dinkum and I will back Vossy and GW in.
I totally agree with the previous statement, and there is no doubt a certain amount of 'Tail wagging Dog', but TBH I think selection has been absolutely shit for a few years. Unsure if that's totally on Voss but like you said, there definitely favorites with him and it makes a mockery of next man up he preaches.

Austin and Agresta already given the all clear. The coaches are gone
I want an elite tactician. A modern midfield coach that can teach a roll up zone with layers. A forward coach that can teach players how to move and create space. A skills coach that can teach players to kick to the right areas and put the ball in front of a lead.

Another long year and 2026 down the gurgler again!!! We are just seriously waisting precious time!!! GW made his choice, we have to respect that his the SME..... I think it was Voss's amazing game day coaching that tipped it in his favour, and or the crazy good game plan of panic football, bomb it long and pray for the best!!! And the amazing skills he taught the players of hitting the target any which way they want!!! At the end of the day no matter who you bring in as assistants he makes the final descision, we seen how well that went this year.....

The board ratified Wright's decision, what do you think Wright based his decision on other than the current situation? He's not beholden to anyone or anything to do with the past.
I can live with this explanation, I can't with applying a heuristic that we've done the wrong thing in the past so this time we'll do the opposite