List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

It was absolutely horrible to watch. Ross needs to **** that shit off. The year is done, let them play some pretty football. Let us dream about 2026.

As far as watch ability goes relative to our ladder we've not been that bad. Teams around our level have been worse.

I'm not one to defend Lyon all the time but he was very clear in his press conference that we were not bold enough with the ball last week and he wasn't really happy with our overall style recently.

Interesting take on that game from The Mongrel Punt on Twitter.

View attachment 2393619

Are we really even a dour team? Our defence this year has been shocking. Our attack ranks about 10th points for. Much better than our defence.

Clearly we don't play a great brand of footy but some of that could be down to our overall level being pretty bad not the game style necessarily.

Anyone suggesting the game plan is bad, doesn’t watch.

We move the ball fast, and deliberate. The issue is getting the ball in the hands of a forward.

If we can do that, our score will get higher, and the Morons that base their footy knowledge on the stats in the paper Monday morning will stop talking about how awful st kildas gameplan is

That match was a horrible watch and slow movement meant that there was never any space ahead of us. You bring the ball up quickly to give the defence less time to set up.

What is a scenario where it is justified he doesnt rock up to a 30 year premiership reunion though?

Honestly, would have to be something pretty heinous in my opinion.

By all reports he had a falling out with a CEO that isn't even there anymore. Move on ffs.

Sure, I don't know him but that is a red flag for me. Showing signs of extreme stubborness.
Always two sides to a dispute, seems harsh to just pin it on SoS imo, Has Carlton made a genuine attempt to repair the situation? I'm out of the loop to say, but maybe they haven't, maybe SoS is genuinely hurt that his professionalism, integrity and character were questioned not just by the CEO but by the entire board (because the decision to sack a club legend isn't made by one person)

ultimately, I just think it's a bit hysterical that the assumption is that it's SoS's fault and by extension he's going to do a shit job for us

As far as watch ability goes relative to our ladder we've not been that bad. Teams around our level have been worse.

I'm not one to defend Lyon all the time but he was very clear in his press conference that we were not bold enough with the ball last week and he wasn't really happy with our overall style recently.

Are we really even a dour team? Our defence this year has been shocking. Our attack ranks about 10th points for. Much better than our defence.

Clearly we don't play a great brand of footy but some of that could be down to our overall level being pretty bad not the game style necessarily.

We certainly aren’t always but we look flat and disinterested lately. No energy apart from one quarter against Melbourne. The last few rounds should be building hype and hope against soft opposition. Especially considering that most fans feel anxiety and are losing hope.

Always two sides to a dispute, seems harsh to just pin it on SoS imo, Has Carlton made a genuine attempt to repair the situation? I'm out of the loop to say, but maybe they haven't, maybe SoS is genuinely hurt that his professionalism, integrity and character were questioned not just by the CEO but by the entire board (because the decision to sack a club legend isn't made by one person)

ultimately, I just think it's a bit hysterical that the assumption is that it's SoS's fault and by extension he's going to do a shit job for us

He’s not doing a good job at the moment. It’s like expecting your new girlfriend to sit around listening to you whinge about your ex. He needs to move on or go back.

Apologies for not living on BigFooty 24/7 and not registering my reaction earlier to news that emerged yesterday.

Apologies also for foreshadowing this situation, and being a little disappointed when the inevitable happened.
Apology accepted

That match was a horrible watch and slow movement meant that there was never any space ahead of us. You bring the ball up quickly to give the defence less time to set up.
Yep.
No space ahead of us.
It’s what happens when the oppo team flood from the get go.

On a completely different tangent with a Ross question tonight..

"Why at every press conference do you mention the courage of Jack Higgins to be playing AFL? What message are you trying to send?"

Then I want him off the long run from the Shane Warne end about a player that had a brain tumour removed not being given one ounce of protection from the f*ing incompetent umpiring department. His head is open season and it's a disgrace.

Yet another on the weekend in the 3rd quarter where he was paid a free kick for a clear mark that he took and not paying a 50m penalty.

It has stuck out to me over the past month that Ross has been calling it out for the good part of the season. No wonder Jack calls him his GOAT coach.

I reckon he’s a bit better than we realise. 4th highest possession player at the club this year I think it was. He’s 22 and has absolute top shelf potential. Like getting a pre developed kid in cheap who could tag tomorrow and still become a star. Bedford was a recycled player too. In a good side Windy could run wings and star with others feeding him. He’s got very quick hands and sets up heaps of plays. Watch highlight reels and lots of his deft touches set up our scores.
**** sake gringo.

NOT WHAT I SAID IS IT. Don’t make me pull the “as I said” card

Feels very of the moment to link Windy to GWS.

Smacks of the Callaghan and Rowell stuff but in reverse to me.

Callaghan, Green, Bedford, Coniglio, Kelly… windys good but is he a walk up with that midfield?
He wouldn’t get a game with GWS.

And their cap is maxed out.

Glad you’re on board Bottster, hard to keep up with you tbh

We’ll win him back to the dark side. You rainbow brigade get so few opportunities. I let you have tonight, we’ll just wait until we lose on Friday night or Nas says he’s moving to Port for $500k less than we offer to pull him back in and save our energy.

We certainly aren’t always but we look flat and disinterested lately. No energy apart from one quarter against Melbourne. The last few rounds should be building hype and hope against soft opposition. Especially considering that most fans feel anxiety and are losing hope.

Agree with this totally. It was slightly expected after spending multiple weeks fighting hard but losing against good teams.

I don't think our coaching team are setting us up intentionally to be a dour defensive team though. It's certainly not reflected in our defensive record this year.

Yep.
No space ahead of us.
It’s what happens when the oppo team flood from the get go.

But you can’t stop moving so that they have every player inside 50 by the time you bring it inside 50. That is just exacerbating it.

What do we think Ross will say on footy classified tonight? Was he meant to be on or has he jumped on to address the rumors?

im not of the opinion that the club should get the "best deal" when negotiating contracts, especially with their heart and soul players. If we could have signed Wilkie on 300k would you do that? It's bad from an ethics and business standpoint. Pay your players what is right and you won't have to deal with the repercussions. Underpaying players might look good on the books but eventually it will cause dissent amongst the ranks and hurt the club more than it's worth
Where did I say under pay players .

Not what I was saying , making the point that both player and manger were happy with the offer and obviously considered it fair at the time of agreeing to it .

If not don’t sign it .

Our true lord and saviour has spoken

**** I hope he’s not just some random janitor at Moorabin making shit up for likes. We need some good news.