- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- West Coast
- Banned
There is no way our defense trains at AFL level.

I heard him say "that's why I'm sitting up here" F*#k knows what you were listening to.Negative was hearing in commentary that West Coast passed on Brisbane Lions tall forward Logan Morris who just kicked his 50th goal for the season. Simmo's reaction in the commentary box upon this news was 'oh did we?'. WTF is the problem with this club. So many bad decisions. It's relentless.
I’m not sure Hall adjusted to the pace of AFL. He’s not quick by foot or by hand or decision making. He also seems to get wrapped up very easily once he gets the ball - maybe lift the ball above your waist to avoid your arms being pinned?
But he’s played SFA so I’ll hold off on a stronger judgement for a year or so until he’s stronger and more experienced. But, I suspect his best will be a ‘role player’.
I heard him say "that's why I'm sitting up here" F*#k knows what you were listening to.
He did slide to 31 so we were not the only club to make a bad decision on LoganNegative was hearing in commentary that West Coast passed on Brisbane Lions tall forward Logan Morris who just kicked his 50th goal for the season. Simmo's reaction in the commentary box upon this news was 'oh did we?'. WTF is the problem with this club. So many bad decisions. It's relentless.
The real art/skill in AFL – seriously – is being able to master the Draft and all aspects of player trading and recruitment. Some clubs are far better at it than others. Geelong, Collingwood, Adelaide and Brisbane, and probably Hawthorn, do it well; Geelong best of all. These teams don't get much of a leg up (if any) from the AFL– they just happen to have worked out how the draft/trading game is played. WCE have not been good at it. The TK deal is a good example. We are getting better at it, I think, but we're starting from a low base.
Thing was, Adelaide never went:I don't think things are as dire as some are saying.
In 2020 Adelaide finished wooden spooners with their new coach.
In 2021 they moved up to 15th and 14th in 2022.
2023 they got a little mojo going learning the gameplan, young guys starting to jell and a couple of good recruits in Rankine and Dawson adding some x-factor and experience. They improved to 10th in 23 but last year had a few injuries and a bit of a down year to finish just above us in 15th.
Now, 5 years into their rebuild with a new coach, the young players are now in the 50-100 game bracket and their older players are playing good footy and they are a game clear on top of the ladder with 1 round to go.
I see us in a similar position to where they were in 2020 with our new coach bringing in his new ideas and gameplan. Baker and Graham were good recruits and we just need to nail another 2-3. But I think we are probably a year ahead with our young players as injuries has resulted in getting games into many of them who may not have had as much exposure as they have.
It's not all doom and gloom, it could actually be pretty exciting times ahead.
No, filling a role with experience in a tough gig. Kids just need to offer more - thats healthy.why did we recruit Matt Owies?, does anybody think there's a chance he might be paid out and delisted? I dont think he brings anything special to the club
They kept Schofield because he still had time left on his contract. I think it expires at the end of 2026. Looks like we are stuck with him for another year.I'm in the same boat as you, and i won't be renewing my membership here in Melbourne, it's the only thing that resonates with the club, as they love money, and turning up at 4.40pm on a cold Sunday arvo to watch 23 players put up half assed efforts, when i can watch from the comfort of my home, is an easy decision, and switch off when it eventually turns to shit. I will pick and choose when i go to games now, much like the players. I made the comment in the match day thread Pykey has really looked after his mates, you have the ultimate dinosaur involved with club in Tim Gepp still, plus walking from the coaches box you have Turnbull, Woosha, Schofield and Shuey, nothing about that set up screams fresh new ideas.The old boys club is alive and well.
I am happy to give the coach a break, but some of his game day decisions are baffling, in the early parts Hall was getting burnt when we turned it over, yet the next two center bounce Hall is in the middle whilst Hewitt & Graham sit at half forward.
When Simmo went a lot more should have gone with him, why on earth was Schofield kept, he has been part of the rabble.
probably with the intention he would be the guy to force Cripps into retirementwhy did we recruit Matt Owies?, does anybody think there's a chance he might be paid out and delisted? I dont think he brings anything special to the club
Biggest positive was helping The Dogs boost their percentage and that in turn could help keep Flogmantle out of the finals.So the doggies player isnt getting sighted for knocking the umpire over. VFL again at play
100% agree with this re our development staff. We seem to be the worst at development in the league. We make stupid decisions when it comes to changing players into things they’re not suited to, such as trying to turn Brander and Ainsworth into wings and now trying to turn guys who were selected as forwards such as Maric and Hutch into backs/wings. I have no faith in our development staff not completely screwing TMac up either once they get their hands on him. We have so many problems off field at the moment it’s gonna take a massive clean out to get us back on track.I think you are overlooking player development here. We are and have been the absolute pits at it. (Unfortunately my points are in addition to your well made points!)
The kids coming into the draft system are all vigorously screened for athletic potential at the very least and the scrutiny they undergo through their final years of development football is unrivalled these days. Our strike rate can't be as poor as it has been unless we are contributing to the failure of these kids making it.
We should be asking ourselves why MSD picks are such a clear cut above the kids we have been picking. I honestly believe it's because the Maric's and McCarthy's have been able to continue to develop under better systems than what we are turning out. Even Jai Culley managed to get a lifeline at Melbourne. When is the last time a WC developed player on the fringe has been able to stay in the league or has been actively pursued by another AFL side in a trade?
Even now look at the way the club has handled Bo, Gross, Grego and even Newton on the weekend. The coach came out and said they realised they made some mistakes with Bo an yet the MC made the exact same decisions all over again with other players coming in (or not in Grego's case). Why is Tom McCarthy literally our best player when he turned up at smoko?
We are desperate for a real clean sweep through the development coaching and WAFL ranks. We've seen dividends in the S&C space by facing the hard truths. I really hope we continue to make the difficult but necessary calls on staff to get this club back on track.
why did we recruit Matt Owies?, does anybody think there's a chance he might be paid out and delisted? I dont think he brings anything special to the club
They way he is playing, cripps might see Owies into retirment.probably with the intention he would be the guy to force Cripps into retirement
He did slide to 31 so we were not the only club to make a bad decision on Logan
While they also didn’t have wafl top ups playing either and two cat b players only playing ressies. Two of those year ls while the record is the record it isn’t a clear sign where the list was at.Thing was, Adelaide never went:
With a one win season thrown in for shits and giggles.
Warner and Reid will be our Rankine and Dawson imo.While they also didn’t have wafl top ups playing either and two cat b players only playing ressies. Two of those year ls while the record is the record it isn’t a clear sign where the list was at.
Crows adding Rankine and Dawson while at the bottom was huge.
We just haven’t locked in those sort of players to help the boost which also helps you to go sign the ANB, Peatling and Cummings of the world.
They missed some first round picks.
Was he given a big extension during a spoon year?They kept Schofield because he still had time left on his contract. I think it expires at the end of 2026
Yeah maybe.Warner and Reid will be our Rankine and Dawson imo.
2 years time.
The best thing to do with Cole is to delist him.Can Mini please drag the next idiot ( probably Cole ) who tries a short pass while standing still.
Lack of momentum is a killer