Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXIX

The increase and bidding is real. There will be a lot more players that want out of long term contracts.

Hence the situation with Charles.
That might be true but doesn't mean Saints had to offer TDK hundreds of thousands more than the next best offer.

Or...Charlie's manager is trying to make staying at the club untenable so that we accede to his request for a trade.
I don't think it's journalists keeping the story going. Think it's Charlie not talking directly to the club and having his manager ring whoever is on air next to reply to/ undermine whatever the public stance of the club is.

Seems like he might be trying to burn the bridge and force the trade - without obviously burning the bridge himself and maintaining some 'deniability'
Probably both accurate, but the media are desperate for things to talk about so will run with whatever the manager wants them to.

He's literally copy pasting the same crap he did with Trac last season, look at how that turned out.

I don't disagree, but that's onlyone side of the coin, the other is you know what sort of an operator you are getting compared to a more unknown. You also know you can form good working relationships
Yeah. Im still unfortunately dooming because - as a guy who's coached some successful teams and who's consulted with pro teams and nearly made it as a player - I just can't get behind Voss anymore. At all. Spoken to people in the industry at Geelong, the Bulldogs, Brisbane and Sydney and.... Yeah..... Just. Can't...

Probably both accurate, but the media are desperate for things to talk about so will run with whatever the manager wants them to.

He's literally copy pasting the same crap he did with Trac last season, look at how that turned out.
It's a terrible strategy but idiots rule the roost in sports

How does that relate to Pies/Dogs offering him a similar contract to Carlton. We are literally in a situation like this:

Carlton (JSOS current club): ~650K-700K/year
Collingwood (chaser): ~650K-700K/year
Western Bulldogs (chaser): ~650K-700K/year
St Kilda (chaser): ~800K-900K/year

How can you look at that and see 3/4 clubs offer the same and not see the Saints are a clear outlier. Especially when you consider JSOS would not be the first player this season to receive a clear "overs" offer to get them across (see TDK)

I think * offered him similar as well... so it's actually 4/5 clubs to strengthen your point...

Caro saying that GW is only just learning of how deep the issues between Voss and Charlie are.
IF that's true that's amateur hour. Wouldn't you sit down with every single player individually and get their thoughts and feelings towards Voss, his gameplan, strengths and weaknesses etc. I refuse to believe he wouldn't have known the blow back from keeping Voss- surely he was all over this and factored it in to the decision to keep him. But wowee if true.. all you can do is shake your head.
Caro is clowning for his agent

Guarantees a continual stream of leaks

Haven’t read the latest so don’t know if this has been discussed, but the Charlie not wanting to play for Vossy…. How the eff would Caro know???
Probably because having been in the footy media for 40 odd years, she'd speak to more footy people (players, coaches, club administrators eyc) in a week, than 95% of us here do in a year.

It’s maybe not the whole story, but this definitely seems to be a part of what’s happening.

Charlie’s on good money, but he’s just seen a team mate walk across town and double his wage. I presume that Charlie got an uplift in his wage with the CBA rises, but he’s gone from one of the games biggest contracts to being just an above average one in a couple of years. His current contract is the big one, he won’t get monster offers in 4 years.

Couple that with some injury frustrations, the clubs average performance, and some lifestyle considerations, he’s become open to a move.

I reckon so. You would imagine that his contract would’ve been re-negotiated but he did sign it a year before the CBA.

Yeah. Im still unfortunately dooming because - as a guy who's coached some successful teams and who's consulted with pro teams and nearly made it as a player - I just can't get behind Voss anymore. At all. Spoken to people in the industry at Geelong, the Bulldogs, Brisbane and Sydney and.... Yeah..... Just. Can't...
The young pups seem to love him as do Cripps, Weiters, Harry and others.

If there's a few sooky primadonnas who can't bare to be around him for another 12 months then good riddance I say. I doubt he survives next year, but I think the club is probably using 2026 as an opportunity to see if they can rebound or not.

If we don't, Voss goes and we get a long hard look at who's out there and available to take over.

If we do, Voss stays and we have a bucket load of cash and young talent to springboard the start for the next coach.

Very similar to what happened at the Pies at the end of Bucks tenure.

Of course he would be. He’d simply say to the players management team - “Fine, Charlie’s “not happy” you get that….if he wants to go to Sydney that’s fine. Don’t call anyone on my team unless you’ve locked away Gulden and a first. He’s contracted, you brokered the deal on his behalf, you want to change that, you’ve got some work to do.”
“See ya”

Give him a little more to work with…Get Butters or Gulden and you can have your wish (extra 1st is overkill).

If not don’t waste everyone’s time involved.

Or...Charlie's manager is trying to make staying at the club untenable so that we accede to his request for a trade.
Carlton should be saying to his manager that he'd better start negotiating the godfather of all godfather deals for his client just to get us to listen, or Chuck better start riding his bike down to Princes Park for pre-season training in a few months.

Any club north of the border - with the exception of the Lions - should be offering the world to get him to their club, and the AFL would be salivating with the prospect of having him at a club where they're trying to grow the game.

You could only imagine the marketing with Charlie on board at a GCS or Sydney....there'd be a whole generation of kids they'd be targeting like we've done over the years with "Charlie's Crew" and that stuff. It's not just a player they're getting, but everything that comes with it.

So Robbie, you better get the phones happening. And while your at it, also call the AFL and let them know we may be willing to let Charlie go to one of their love childs if they scrap the potential changes to the father/son rule. Win win.

Carlton should be saying to his manager that he'd better start negotiating the godfather of all godfather deals for his client just to get us to listen, or Chuck better start riding his bike down to Princes Park for pre-season training in a few months.

Any club north of the border - with the exception of the Lions - should be offering the world to get him to their club, and the AFL would be salivating with the prospect of having him at a club where they're trying to grow the game.

You could only imagine the marketing with Charlie on board at a GCS or Sydney....there'd be a whole generation of kids they'd be targeting like we've done over the years with "Charlie's Crew" and that stuff. It's not just a player they're getting, but everything that comes with it.

So Robbie, you better get the phones happening. And while your at it, also call the AFL and let them know we may be willing to let Charlie go to one of their love childs if they scrap the potential changes to the father/son rule. Win win.
I'm petty, so id just be telling his manager he's no longer welcome at the club for meetings and that he can send someone else from the company on his behalf.

Flogs deserve to be treated as such.

I know you're kidding, but I'd actually like to know, when has a superstar player ever jumped ship along with a coach/favoured assistant/head of football?

I can't recall it ever happening...

Good question. Don't know the answer, but it is a good question.
Brent Crosswell followed Barassi from Carlton to North to Melbourne, just a few years ago🤪