Recommitted Zach Merrett [UFA 2027] - Wanted a trade to Hawthorn, but it didn't get done

Bombers fans are gonna be hurting 🫣

Could be known as early as next week
To be honest

Could be what is needed it hurts to see him go but its good display of the pathetic administration we have had prior to the new administration an absolute failure to build around him

Hopefully he gets the flowers he deserves playing with a good team

to be fair to you, 8, 26 and F1 is probably much more on the money than just 8 + F1.

I don't think we even bother answering the phone at 8 + F1. So i dont even think it will be entertained. if that's what it amounts too. The pick dilution is gross this year.
that doesn't seem much difference, if you already have many picks in this weak draft, what good is 26 going to be?

To be honest

Could be what is needed it hurts to see him go but its good display of the pathetic administration we have had prior to the new administration an absolute failure to build around him

Hopefully he gets the flowers he deserves playing with a good team
See him win a flag with Hawks what kind of an Essendon surporter are you lols

We're actually not interested in trading Merrett though. If he wants to request for a trade, we don't have to trade him.

This idea that he gave us 12 years of no success and that we somehow have to accept anything a rival club offers us is bogus.

He is our captain and best player by a mile. If a club approaches, then it's up to them to satisfy us.

You're kinda talking yourself into a scenario that doesn't really exist. There is no world where Essendon just pick an arbitrary price and someone will pay it. Merrett isn't Alexander Isak.

You don't have to trade him, that's fine. I don't have a horse in the race. If he goes to a contender it doesn't really impact my team, and if he stays where he is it doesn't really impact my team. The reality is if he stays where he is, Essendon probably aren't going to be any better than an 8-12 win side the next two years. If he goes somewhere else it will be to a side already better than that (who will get better) and if Essendon get back 2 or 3 picks in a trade are very unlikely to draft someone as good. That's footy. You might get another Caddy, you might get another Francis.

The decision is whether or not you let him go should he want to move on and make the best of it. The fact he's your captain and your best player doesn't really mean much to anyone else. Our captain is on the FA block because of the way the compo system is set up. No one is comfortable with that situation but it is what it is. The only reason the Merrett convo comes up each year is the Bombers are consistently ordinary. Hawthorn let Isaac Smith go and he played 70 games for Geelong and won a flag and a Norm Smith. He won 46 games in 3 years, they won 22. And now they are fine. Part and parcel of list turnover.

As good as Merrett is, would you really prefer to have him on your list from 2026 over Caddy, Kako, Durham or Martin?

You will have to see i suppose but i disagree reckon these heaps of players in this pool that could easily pressure our senior players and take their spots

Our draft watchers are saying there are a couple of gems but its then very good (but not great) all the way out to 20 - so clubs should be able to fill the spots they have.

Every year the belief seems to be the draft is either awesome or terrible and never anything in between. Yet it mostly is something in between.

Our draft watchers are saying there are a couple of gems but its then very good (but not great) all the way out to 20 - so clubs should be able to fill the spots they have.

Every year the belief seems to be the draft is either awesome or terrible and never anything in between. Yet it mostly is something in between.
Exactly the case i think lots of people get wrapped up to much in it to realize that

You're kinda talking yourself into a scenario that doesn't really exist. There is no world where Essendon just pick an arbitrary price and someone will pay it. Merrett isn't Alexander Isak.

You don't have to trade him, that's fine. I don't have a horse in the race. If he goes to a contender it doesn't really impact my team, and if he stays where he is it doesn't really impact my team. The reality is if he stays where he is, Essendon probably aren't going to be any better than an 8-12 win side the next two years. If he goes somewhere else it will be to a side already better than that (who will get better) and if Essendon get back 2 or 3 picks in a trade are very unlikely to draft someone as good. That's footy. You might get another Caddy, you might get another Francis.

The decision is whether or not you let him go should he want to move on and make the best of it. The fact he's your captain and your best player doesn't really mean much to anyone else. Our captain is on the FA block because of the way the compo system is set up. No one is comfortable with that situation but it is what it is. The only reason the Merrett convo comes up each year is the Bombers are consistently ordinary. Hawthorn let Isaac Smith go and he played 70 games for Geelong and won a flag and a Norm Smith. He won 46 games in 3 years, they won 22. And now they are fine. Part and parcel of list turnover.

As good as Merrett is, would you really prefer to have him on your list from 2026 over Caddy, Kako, Durham or Martin?
First of all, Merrett is more Sidebottom and Pendlebury in terms of longevity from all evidence we have, hence the interest from rival clubs.

Second of all, if Draper receives band 1 compensation, then we already have 3 top 10 picks in a pretty average and compromised draft on top of having two early seconds and two academy players, one of which is on the cusp of a first rounder.

If Merrett leaves, he leaves, but it doesn't make sense for us to just accept yet another first round pick this year as part of that deal. If we received two future firsts, then maybe. Or a future first and a good young player. We of all teams should be the most wary of over investing in a single draft (2020). It ended up blowing back on us very hard. If this draft ends up being a bust, then we'd have wasted 4 first rounders.

If Merrett wants to leave, we can trade him next year as he doesn't come out of contract until the end of 2027. We can identify young established talent as part of the trade so what's the rush when we hold the cards?

This is very much a list decision and not just a sentimental attachment to Merrett. We don't have to rush because Hawthorn want him now. Make our heads turn or we'll make the decision on what's best for us.

Also, I mention captain because we have very little if any leaders on our list. That'll be a significant blow to our leadership stocks so we need to tread carefully.

First of all, Merrett is more Sidebottom and Pendlebury in terms of longevity from all evidence we have, hence the interest from rival clubs.

Second of all, if Draper receives band 1 compensation, then we already have 3 top 10 picks in a pretty average and compromised draft on top of having two early seconds and two academy players, one of which is on the cusp of a first rounder.

If Merrett leaves, he leaves, but it doesn't make sense for us to just accept yet another first round pick this year as part of that deal. If we received two future firsts, then maybe. Or a future first and a good young player. We of all teams should be the most wary of over investing in a single draft (2020). It ended up blowing back on us very hard. If this draft ends up being a bust, then we'd have wasted 4 first rounders.

If Merrett wants to leave, we can trade him next year as he doesn't come out of contract until the end of 2027. We can identify young established talent as part of the trade so what's the rush when we hold the cards?

This is very much a list decision and not just a sentimental attachment to Merrett. We don't have to rush because Hawthorn want him now.

What do you think you are getting for Merrett in two years?

Isaac Smith as a 32 year old UFA netted pick 46.

Essendon probably won't get an offer they like this year, but I would be surprised if a better offer comes later.

I didn't say in two years. I said next year while he is under contract.
Indecision about rebuilding...

Either you do it, or you dont.

Back in 2004, The hawks traded out all our decent Players, Hay, Rawlings Thompson for Picks... We committed to the rebuild, and were not half arsed. In return we got a couple of handy ones back, and won a flag 4 years later.

You need to be bold, and have a clear direction about what you wanna do as a club, but I can tell you.. Zach Merrett Playing 18-22 games next year as your #1 mid just takes opportunity away from someone else that needs to step up.

Again, think Tom Mitchell and Jager O'Meara making way for Jai Newcome and Will Day. Very Similar vibe to where you guys are

Indecision about rebuilding...

Either you do it, or you dont.

Back in 2004, The hawks traded out all our decent Players, Hay, Rawlings Thompson for Picks... We committed to the rebuild, and were not half arsed. In return we got a couple of handy ones back, and won a flag 4 years later.

You need to be bold, and have a clear direction about what you wanna do as a club, but I can tell you.. Zach Merrett Playing 18-22 games next year as your #1 mid just takes opportunity away from someone else that needs to step up.

Again, think Tom Mitchell and Jager O'Meara making way for Jai Newcome and Will Day. Very Similar vibe to where you guys are
If you read my post, you'd know that I wasn't completely against trading Merrett in every circumstance. I'm just wary of over investing in a weak and compromised draft given we may already have 3 top 10 picks (if Draper gets us band 1 compensation) + two early seconds and two academy players.

It's highly highly unlikely we pick up 4 guns so I'd rather wait until next year where we can either use Merrett as leverage to trade in a young established player we target or select from the draft.

A rebuild is done over multiple years. Not rushed in a single year because a rival club wants it done immediately.

Sorry haven't been following in draft that closely, who are the academy players that are likely to be bid on before pick 8?

Just trying to figure out if some of the comments are exaggerated, I know of Uwland who else?

WC, Richmond and Essendon hold the top 5 picks maybe top 6, then Saints, Suns and Hawks. The suns will need to trade that pick otherwise it's getting absorbed by the Uwland bid.
Allen Compo

Uwland
Paterson
Annanle
H.Dean

Definitely before

This is very much a list decision and not just a sentimental attachment to Merrett. We don't have to rush because Hawthorn want him now. Make our heads turn or we'll make the decision on what's best for us.

Also, I mention captain because we have very little if any leaders on our list. That'll be a significant blow to our leadership stocks so we need to tread carefully.

You would definitely want a player. Cant see us giving up any of our best 25 though.

Or, have some trade targets your draft picks can be used on.

Because he isn’t going to be around when Essendon are next contending, he’s one of the few older players you have with currency and because keeping him when he doesn’t want to be there isn’t ideal either.
This.

Essendon are either rebuilding in which case you absolutely take two first rounders for a 30yo.

Or Essendon need Merrett for their next tilt in which case you are completely deluded.

I didn't say in two years. I said next year while he is under contract.

Same question then.

Hawthorn, Geelong, Collingwood etc. are year to year operators. If Hawthorn go after Petracca, they won't go after Merrett next year. St Kilda will throw money at anyone but if they say no they move on and throw it at the next guy.

AFL players that are 30+ just don't get traded for a lot.

I don't mean to ask a Kingy question...but who are the senior leaders at Essendon if he goes?