List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

This is the thing with trading Marshall and something the AFL surely needs to look at - if a player agrees to frontloading a contract they really shouldn't be able to get out of it later to go and sign a more lucrative one. It's a loophole in the system, and another that is designed to screw over the worse clubs, as they are the ones who are likely to be frontloading contracts in the first place.

If contracted players are traded, they should be traded WITH their contracts upheld (like the NBA) and it actually becomes a part of the whole trade valuation. You could still have a buyout clause or something similar.

If Marshall was frontloaded and is being paid unders now it would increase value as an asset greatly, which means we'd still see the benefit to frontloading him (just not the one we envisioned).
There is no issue.

Front loading a contract, you have a player secured for a long time. If the club wants to move that player on, they get more trade value from the team friendly contract.

If another team come in and say, we'll pick sign you and give you market rate from year 1, great, that's their call,.but they need to make sure the club with the player is happy to trade.

I don't think the AFL need to look at anything.

Have heard Dan butler could be headed to the suns, take it with a grain of salt but the bloke who told me was bang on about the Flanders info so
Oh yeah, always said he was out best player. Walter and a 1st might get it done.

Either that or they can have him as a desisted free agent, but knowing Gold Coast i reckon they'd prefer the first option.

This is the thing with trading Marshall and something the AFL surely needs to look at - if a player agrees to frontloading a contract they really shouldn't be able to get out of it later to go and sign a more lucrative one. It's a loophole in the system, and another that is designed to screw over the worse clubs, as they are the ones who are likely to be frontloading contracts in the first place.

If contracted players are traded, they should be traded WITH their contracts upheld (like the NBA) and it actually becomes a part of the whole trade valuation. You could still have a buyout clause or something similar.

If Marshall was frontloaded and is being paid unders now it would increase value as an asset greatly, which means we'd still see the benefit to frontloading him (just not the one we envisioned).
If he’s contracted he can only be traded if the club agrees to it.

The afl doesn’t need to do anything about this at all. If we don’t feel the deal is worth doing the trade, don’t trade him.

I think Hall is so good forward that I'd prefer to keep him there. He was rated as one of the absolute best players in the comp for a good six or seven week period playing half forward - hard to get better impact than that. Similar to Sinclair in that he can play midfield and do it well, but I think we're robbing peter by playing him there when he's desperately needed in the front half.

Wouldn't mind seeing Pou on a wing a bit if he can't break into the midfield, just don't want to see him rotting at full forward.
Hall great in the forward line, trouble with that is, you'll be watching him constantly hit King on the lead from the midfield next year.
Can't believe that fans dont want him more permanently in the midfield, he was so effective there.
Butler & Ryan can take the half- forward roles

I would be going after Ted Clohesy. just turned 21 but in a long queue behind Close, Miers, Stengle, Mannagh etc. played a ripper game against us earlier in the year after coming on as sub. out of contract and would fill a need as a high pressure high tackling small fwd. Ryan and Higgins aren't that, Butler looks almost done and Collard remains speculative. also racks up big VFL numbers running through the midfield so has other strings to his bow

I've had an eye on him for a while. He had an incredible year in the VFL last year and backed it up this year. Looks like another Max Hall potential type.

No throw-ins = no rucks??

:cool:

I was against it, but apparently the change isn’t as big as you’d think. I can’t remember the exact stat, but it’s almost insignificant.

It might be something like 4 less throw in’s per game.

I still don’t think it’s necessary, and I wish they’d remove the insufficient intent free kick.

Will still be plenty of throw ins

Pretty sure that the point is to abolish the throw-in in favour of a soccer style boundary line resulting in the other team being given possession. It should make the game a lot quicker with less time for setting up structures and less time taken getting the rucks set up etc.

The ball will still get thrown up for stoppages after tackles etc.

I was against it, but apparently the change isn’t as big as you’d think. I can’t remember the exact stat, but it’s almost insignificant.

I still don’t think it’s necessary, and I wish they’d remove the insufficient intent free kick.
I think this rule would take care of it. It was a ridiculous rule anyway.

If you are tackled over the line between the arcs .. its still a ball up or throw in?

Good point. Not actually sure. How does it work in the women's footy?

The insufficient intent rule is ok, just that the umpires get it wrong too often
More training needed for those lads & lasses.

Introducing this rule in tandem with removing the insufficient intent free kick within the arcs would make a lot of sense.

Bang on.

The AFL estimated there would be three more free kicks a game because of the rule change.

It might mean players' instinct is to keep the ball in play more too, I guess.

Melbourne can go either way. Their forward line is still a mess and they are so reliant on Gawn. But their board is expecting improvement so if they bring in an experienced guy like Buckley, they will be instant pressure to perform.

Tassie gives him 5 years easy money with no expectation.

I reckon he's a pretty competitive guy and Tassie realistically isn't going to be competitive for 6 plus years. I reckon Tassie should get Ken Hinkley. He's meant to be loved by the players and a really good teacher apparently.